We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
183
96
31
22
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
96
31
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews desert camp camel ride shower and toilet tour group delicious food no alcohol clean tents lamb great experience hummus bedouin hospitality bedouin music visited wadi rum bedouin tent rock formations bedouin style rice
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Captain's Desert Camp is just outside the borders of the Wadi Rum protected area. We knew this at the time of booking. Next time we will choose a camp inside the borders. The desert feeling is much more profound there. Apart from that, we were disappointed by the organization of the camp. We didn't expect any luxury, we are very experienced in holidays with our own tent. These tents are fine when it comes to size, but they are extremely dirty. I wonder if they are ever sweeped. Putting toilets and showers in one cabin, while toilet paper has to be thrown in garbage bins to prevent toilets from overflowing, leads to a very, very unpleasant shower experience. We were here for 2 nights and in the women block nothing was cleaned during that time. With an almost fully booked camp, this lead to poor hygiene. In the morning, entering the restaurant area, cups, empty soda cans, full ashtrays were still on the tables and one morning we even found a sleeping man on one of the couches. He had clearly spend the night there. I guess this camp is fun when travelling in a group (there were many bus-groups), but for a family, this is not what we are looking for. Next time we will choose a smaller and more intimate camp in the protected area.

Room tip: If you feel you have to go here (which I wouldn't recommend), ask specifically for a private family tent in the main camp. They will try to sell you a tent pretending it's private while in fact it's in a big tent in which sleeping compartments are divided with fabric. We knew this at the time of booking and did book a private family tent and that was a wise decision.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CcH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We travelled as a couple and will provide insights based on winter time travel season.

The service and hospitality of the people is unbeatable! The silence of the night does not make this place remote. Instead, during a full moon, one should sit outside the camp balcony or even lie down on the soft, cooling desert sand to admire what nature has to offer. Set against the backdrop of the rocks, the full moon reflects light onto the rocks and the backdrop is lovely and provides serenity for the travellers.

Inside the main camp, travellers can interact over the campfire, enjoy the bbq corn and have some hot drink. After, proceed to enjoy a good middle eastern meal prepared by the locals.

The camel ride and jeep ride in the day is amazing and provides a great exposure and the local guide will recommend to alight you at various interesting spots for photoshoot if you are on a jeep. Going there during winter may be cold, but it's an interesting experience to run around in the desert sand during the day!

The night is really cold in the room with minimal insulation. Dress full in thermal and down jacket for a good sleep. Bed blankets are thick but the room is still cold. Wear socks and shoes in the room. The carpets on the ground may be very sandy and cold. The room operates with minimal lighting due to conservation of electricity and the running tap water can be very cold during winter.

The staff in the camp is honest and reliable. The rooms are not based on the normal lock system as it's a camp. On the day trips out and night time, we were all very safe and secure. A wonderful experience at the Captain Desert Camp!

Spend enough time star gazing outdoor and you might be lucky to catch a shooting star! We did!

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AidanEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just amazing. I've been there once and definitely will do it again. loved the whole atmosphere, tents, food. I strongly recommend to give it a try and experience the unforgettable visit there ! The dinner was really yummy. At night there was an oud player, after we finished dinner w had our tea staring at the stars there the whole thing was really awesome. Next day we went for a walk then put our blankets on and sit next to the fire waiting for the breakfast which was also good. I absolutely enjoyed every second there its simply a Jordanian atmosphere very relaxing and mind clearing area. The service also was great everybody was very helpful actually.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zayna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

very good food ,very good location , you will love it , an amazing romance night ,the staff were very friendly and the buffet was more than great .you will find all what is your mind about Bedouin life .

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mowafaq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for just one night in a fantastic little cabin in April 2012. (can't select a date prior to May 2013).

The was a great buffet with very good food an in the night there was a nice fire with homebrew coffee cardamon and the obligatory Argilah (Sheesha ;)) What else do you want??!

The next morning we were going for a hot air balloon ride, but unfortunately the wind was too strong, so we decided to visit Aqaba and come back two days later. That morning the wind was so still, we travelled more vertical meters than horizontal... but it was well worth it!!

Definitely go there, you'll love it! (If you don't mind a little sand between your toes, cause if you do, don't go to Wadi um at all...)

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thisafternoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews