We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience of the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain's Desert Camp
Ranked #43 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Reviewed 7 May 2014

When we arrived the camp, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They helped us carry our bags to our tent and gave us a nice cup of mint tea whilst we wait for the tent to be ready. The tent was simple, with two single beds and a table. The facilities for the toilets and showers are shared, however we got lucky and had an upgrade to a bigger tent with two double beds, a private toilet/shower and a 'sofa'.

The atmosphere was great and because it was not so busy, it was very quiet with a few guests, allowing you to truly soak up the desert. The views are absolutely amazing and I highly recommend doing a camel ride or a jeep tour across the desert. Bring loads of water and sun lotion!!! The desert air is very dry and although it was April, it was hot!

The dinner buffet was fantastic and everyone was so nice and friendly. They offered us tea after dinner and set up a little campfire so you can relax and watch the many stars. The breakfast is not the standard one you could expect and was pretty basic but it was nice.

Overall, a great experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manta888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Don't expect 5 star camping here, you are sleeping in a desert in a tent, it was cold (in late March) so be prepared with some warm clothes just in case.

The tents are basic, a comfortable bed with 1 light and a power outlet (more than I expected in the desert). Toilets and showers are in a shared block - because you are in the desert you will not be able to flush the toilet paper, just toss it in the little bins provided. Something we are not used to but as they say ..... when in Rome..... The camp itself is very interesting and well presented and the location, well what can I say- Wadi Rum is just exceptional. The locals working in the camp were very friendly and very helpful.

Our dinner was fantastic, a huge variety of salads and warm food with flat breads made to order. I am a vegetarian and I had a large variety of salads to choose from, also two vego hot dish. We sat around a large fire and listened to the music and watched the traditional dancing. If you stepped away from the camp a little you could see the stars, very spectacular - no city lights to hinder the view.

We did the camel ride for the sunset views, our camels appeared to be in very good health (I always notice such things) and our head camel driver was such a character. Also did the jeep tour, what a great way to spend the morning, touring around Wadi Rum. Of course we were taken to the obligatory bedouin gift shop in the desert, given tea but there was no pressure to buy. We were given information about Bedouin history which was very interesting.

We loved this placed and would certainly return, could have easily stayed another night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greatimes4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Captain's Desert Camp is just outside the borders of the Wadi Rum protected area. We knew this at the time of booking. Next time we will choose a camp inside the borders. The desert feeling is much more profound there. Apart from that, we were disappointed by the organization of the camp. We didn't expect any luxury, we are very experienced in holidays with our own tent. These tents are fine when it comes to size, but they are extremely dirty. I wonder if they are ever sweeped. Putting toilets and showers in one cabin, while toilet paper has to be thrown in garbage bins to prevent toilets from overflowing, leads to a very, very unpleasant shower experience. We were here for 2 nights and in the women block nothing was cleaned during that time. With an almost fully booked camp, this lead to poor hygiene. In the morning, entering the restaurant area, cups, empty soda cans, full ashtrays were still on the tables and one morning we even found a sleeping man on one of the couches. He had clearly spend the night there. I guess this camp is fun when travelling in a group (there were many bus-groups), but for a family, this is not what we are looking for. Next time we will choose a smaller and more intimate camp in the protected area.

Room Tip: If you feel you have to go here (which I wouldn't recommend), ask specifically for a private fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CcH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We travelled as a couple and will provide insights based on winter time travel season.

The service and hospitality of the people is unbeatable! The silence of the night does not make this place remote. Instead, during a full moon, one should sit outside the camp balcony or even lie down on the soft, cooling desert sand to admire what nature has to offer. Set against the backdrop of the rocks, the full moon reflects light onto the rocks and the backdrop is lovely and provides serenity for the travellers.

Inside the main camp, travellers can interact over the campfire, enjoy the bbq corn and have some hot drink. After, proceed to enjoy a good middle eastern meal prepared by the locals.

The camel ride and jeep ride in the day is amazing and provides a great exposure and the local guide will recommend to alight you at various interesting spots for photoshoot if you are on a jeep. Going there during winter may be cold, but it's an interesting experience to run around in the desert sand during the day!

The night is really cold in the room with minimal insulation. Dress full in thermal and down jacket for a good sleep. Bed blankets are thick but the room is still cold. Wear socks and shoes in the room. The carpets on the ground may be very sandy and cold. The room operates with minimal lighting due to conservation of electricity and the running tap water can be very cold during winter.

The staff in the camp is honest and reliable. The rooms are not based on the normal lock system as it's a camp. On the day trips out and night time, we were all very safe and secure. A wonderful experience at the Captain Desert Camp!

Spend enough time star gazing outdoor and you might be lucky to catch a shooting star! We did!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AidanEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just amazing. I've been there once and definitely will do it again. loved the whole atmosphere, tents, food. I strongly recommend to give it a try and experience the unforgettable visit there ! The dinner was really yummy. At night there was an oud player, after we finished dinner w had our tea staring at the stars there the whole thing was really awesome. Next day we went for a walk then put our blankets on and sit next to the fire waiting for the breakfast which was also good. I absolutely enjoyed every second there its simply a Jordanian atmosphere very relaxing and mind clearing area. The service also was great everybody was very helpful actually.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zayna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

very good food ,very good location , you will love it , an amazing romance night ,the staff were very friendly and the buffet was more than great .you will find all what is your mind about Bedouin life .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mowafaq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for just one night in a fantastic little cabin in April 2012. (can't select a date prior to May 2013).

The was a great buffet with very good food an in the night there was a nice fire with homebrew coffee cardamon and the obligatory Argilah (Sheesha ;)) What else do you want??!

The next morning we were going for a hot air balloon ride, but unfortunately the wind was too strong, so we decided to visit Aqaba and come back two days later. That morning the wind was so still, we travelled more vertical meters than horizontal... but it was well worth it!!

Definitely go there, you'll love it! (If you don't mind a little sand between your toes, cause if you do, don't go to Wadi um at all...)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thisafternoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
6.4 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#10 of 122 in Wadi Rum
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#2 of 122 in Wadi Rum
403 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#3 of 122 in Wadi Rum
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Jordan Tracks - Bedouin Camp
Jordan Tracks - Bedouin Camp
#18 of 122 in Wadi Rum
246 reviews
9.4 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
8.1 mi away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#1 of 122 in Wadi Rum
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Desert Camp

Address: Ad-Disi, Wadi Rum 00962, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: £56 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Desert Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains Desert Camps Offers more than an option for a pleasant, luxurious & comfortable stay in Wadi Rum. The magical desert of Wadi Rum is a true wonder of nature. You can choose from staying at the main captains camp located In Disi or at one of our echo camps inside the protected area of Wadi Rum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Captain's Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Desert Camp Hotel Wadi Rum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing