We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Desert Camp

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Captain's Desert Camp
Ranked #31 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Aqaba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Complete place for wadi rum visit , tasty food they served BBQ and it's so tasty next night I had Zarb and mmmmmmmmm I loved it
I made the jeep tour through them my driver was great guy went for 4hours
Toilets are public but a lite of them and clean
Tents where hot from inside but what to expect in the desert but they have a blower of electric fan with cold air at the main dinning tent
I was this place better in real than photos

Room Tip: Know it's a camp not a hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    80
    18
    19
    19
See reviews for
63
67
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The camp is with a bedouin style and with different tents I used a one with a private toilet and had real comfort we enjoyed the time music . Fire place with tea and coffee all was a great experience so I decided to extend for another night the manager told me that they welcome us but we have to know that next day we have many guests and almost full and the group is with kids camp so I met them and knew that the organizers said they always chooses this place since 10 years and no questions why they are the best in wadi rum just tell them what you like most they have it and cares about your satisfaction

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rafael-ematta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Really very bad experience staying at Captain's Desert Camp. Dirty rooms, poor facilities and pathetic food. Totally waste of money. The facility is not the same as I noticed in the pictures posted on their website.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adnan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

In the week that I stayed in Aqaba, the Captain's Camp in Wadi Rum was hands down a time that I will never forget. This was my first time to Wadi rum and the camp. The Captain's camp maintains authenticity with the textiles, food preparations and overall ambiance. We had a private tour of Wadi Rum. The views were breathtaking. One of the Bedouins, showed me how those living in the desert get water. After climbing rocks and getting my shoes muddy, I saw first hand how Bedouins get drinking water. It was well worth it. My friend and I rolled down the sandy dune without a care in the world, while our guides were willing to capture the moments on camera. If you are the type of person to complain about getting dirty, then maybe going to the desert is the best destination for you. As the sun was going down, our guide Mahmoud made tea the Bedouin way. He made his own fire and poured us a cup of delicious sweet tea as the sun was setting. We had the freedom to climb rocks, see lizards and take a moment to step up and realize what serenity is. As the sun was setting, we made our way back to the camp. While we were waiting for dinner, we smoked Arguileh while watching traditional music and dancers perform for entertainment. When it was time for dinner, all the guests were invited to see the reveal of the cook lamb and chicken. At the camp, the Bedouin's cooked the meat underground . The presentation and the variety of food was just amazing! Every thing you could imagine, was there. The toilets and camps are basic. If you are expecting a five star Marriott experience, then you shouldn't be going to the desert in general. If you want an authentic experience, go to the captain's camp.

Room Tip: bring tennis shoes for the desert and be open for surprises and new experiences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaylynHlavaty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

we had the chance to be back this year and for sure made sure to have our night in wadi rum at captain camp
still has the charm and food and service even better
we tried their new tents with private toilet it very comfortable
music and staff are very nice

Room Tip: if you like to stay away from other people it's nice to try the private or eco camp it is very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abood R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

When we arrived the camp, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They helped us carry our bags to our tent and gave us a nice cup of mint tea whilst we wait for the tent to be ready. The tent was simple, with two single beds and a table. The facilities for the toilets and showers are shared, however we got lucky and had an upgrade to a bigger tent with two double beds, a private toilet/shower and a 'sofa'.

The atmosphere was great and because it was not so busy, it was very quiet with a few guests, allowing you to truly soak up the desert. The views are absolutely amazing and I highly recommend doing a camel ride or a jeep tour across the desert. Bring loads of water and sun lotion!!! The desert air is very dry and although it was April, it was hot!

The dinner buffet was fantastic and everyone was so nice and friendly. They offered us tea after dinner and set up a little campfire so you can relax and watch the many stars. The breakfast is not the standard one you could expect and was pretty basic but it was nice.

Overall, a great experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manta888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Don't expect 5 star camping here, you are sleeping in a desert in a tent, it was cold (in late March) so be prepared with some warm clothes just in case.

The tents are basic, a comfortable bed with 1 light and a power outlet (more than I expected in the desert). Toilets and showers are in a shared block - because you are in the desert you will not be able to flush the toilet paper, just toss it in the little bins provided. Something we are not used to but as they say ..... when in Rome..... The camp itself is very interesting and well presented and the location, well what can I say- Wadi Rum is just exceptional. The locals working in the camp were very friendly and very helpful.

Our dinner was fantastic, a huge variety of salads and warm food with flat breads made to order. I am a vegetarian and I had a large variety of salads to choose from, also two vego hot dish. We sat around a large fire and listened to the music and watched the traditional dancing. If you stepped away from the camp a little you could see the stars, very spectacular - no city lights to hinder the view.

We did the camel ride for the sunset views, our camels appeared to be in very good health (I always notice such things) and our head camel driver was such a character. Also did the jeep tour, what a great way to spend the morning, touring around Wadi Rum. Of course we were taken to the obligatory bedouin gift shop in the desert, given tea but there was no pressure to buy. We were given information about Bedouin history which was very interesting.

We loved this placed and would certainly return, could have easily stayed another night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greatimes4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
11.3 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 114 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#4 of 114 in Wadi Rum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#1 of 114 in Wadi Rum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
1.5 mi away
Rahayeb Desert Camp
Rahayeb Desert Camp
#22 of 114 in Wadi Rum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bait Ali
Bait Ali
#36 of 114 in Wadi Rum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Desert Camp

Property: Captain's Desert Camp
Address: Ad-Disi, Wadi Rum 00962, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Desert Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains Desert Camps Offers more than an option for a pleasant, luxurious & comfortable stay in Wadi Rum. The magical desert of Wadi Rum is a true wonder of nature. You can choose from staying at the main captains camp located In Disi or at one of our echo camps inside the protected area of Wadi Rum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Captain's Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Desert Camp Hotel Wadi Rum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing