We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super place”
Review of Bait Ali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bait Ali
Ranked #32 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A super place”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed 1 night in a chalet at the Bait Ali Camp. A very nice place to spend the night, teh people are very friendly and the restaurant is great. We didn't like to sleep in a tent in the desert and this turned out to be a perfect place. It was very quit when we were there, but all the staff were present to serve the dinner, and we had a lovely time. At breakfast the chef prepared fresh bread, what a treat!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBoele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    86
    44
    26
    29
See reviews for
55
100
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed there for a week in the cabins which were luxury compared to staying in a tent!
They were clean and had hot water and electricity! The food was brilliant. If you are staying a while, they will not expect you to eat the buffet and they made us 'special meals' which were the most delicious meals I had had in a long time. You need to make sure you are hungry as the quantities were huge! The chef and staff treated us like 'kings' and it was hard to leave at the end!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My family stayed in good hotels in Jordan and this did impress, for friendly welcome, good accomodation and food. Bait Ali's eco credentials go deeper than a "green-wash" with solar water heating that will likely take a good while to pay back. Would return.

Room Tip: Be aware, its in a desert!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I'm very bad at writing a paragraph review so I'll just put down bullet points:

- The STAFF was amazing. Susie (owner), Hussein, Mina, and the rest of the crew were very nice and fun to talk to. They were very attentive and we never saw so much as an eye-roll, even though we asked tons of questions. The always offered to help with the planning of our day and had very good recommendations.

- The ACCOMMODATIONS were wonderful. We looked at several types (regular tent, deluxe tent, chalet) and we ended up staying in a deluxe tent which had the feel of a tent but also a nice interior and bathroom. This is a good choice for people who want the experience of a tent but also want to be comfortable.

- DINNER was amazing. We had eaten at two 5 five star hotels in Wadi Musa in the prior days and this meal topped them all. The chef was really nice and although he didn't speak much english, he was more than willing to answer my wife's questions on the preparations of the dishes.

- The available ACTIVITIES are more than enough to keep you busy during the day. They offer camel rides, ATVs, jeep tour arrangements or reccomendations, balloon rides, among others. It rained during our stay but that didn't prevent us from taking an amazing jeep tour.

- Finally, my perception is that some people in the more touristy places in Jordan such as Petra, Wadi Rum and Aqaba are very nice but in the end they only want your money. This place was the exception. The uncomplicated, relaxed and genuine personality of the owner quickly made us trust in her recommendations and we did not regret it.

I definitely recommend the place and, if I come back (Insha'Allah), I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose your room based on your budget and on the experience you want to have. Tents are more genuine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night during the second week of January 2014. We had already done a jeep desert tour earlier that day so this was a night stop on the way to our next destination. We had our evening meal around the campfire in the dining area and we found the food for dinner and breakfast to be plentiful and delicious. I suspect that if the temperature had been warmer, we would've gotten more use out of the amenities - the swimming pool, outdoor seating area. We did climb the mini rock mountain however which overlooks the property. We hoped to stay up long enough for the sunset but were too cold and went down early. My friend and I book a chalet because it was so chilly outside. The a/c unit however was placed up high in the room (as they are) which sadly meant that when we put the heat on, even at full blast, we were still quite cold at night as the heat obviously rose. The room however was clean. Overall, this hotel was okay but more amenities during the colder months to keep guests occupied in the later afternoon/evening would be nice!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesdnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night in mid January with my family including my two elderly parents who get cold easily and require a certain degree of luxury to be comfortable. This place was perfect and my only regret is we didn't stay longer.

Easy to get too, nice paved road almost to the door (minus last 200meters) but that's was nice since it added to the feel.

We had to arrive late so the specially served us vegetarian dishes (as requested) in front of a beautiful fire out in the middle if the dinning tent. Great food very hospitable.

Rooms (VIP & 1 three bed suite) well cleaned, well furnished, had a nice decor, warm!, and good hot water and bathrooms. The VIP had a fireplace which they started for us, only minor complaint the flue for the fireplace wasn't working ideally (I think the flue cap wasn't installed) so some smoke was coming into the room but we just opened a door and enjoyed. Great back patio and we went up a set of steps to the top of a rocky ridge from where guests can get a wonderful view of the stars.

Next day breakfast was again an amazing fresh omelettes and bread baked in front of you! Fresh orange juice.

Tour around wadi rum - let us take our own jeep or travel in their truck (made things more comfy for us taking our own car). Accommodated our time and not rushed at all really enjoyed the tour.

All in all a great place to stay with family and especially if you are travelling with anyone who needs some amenities (children, elderly, disabled, picky!). Friendly staff who have created a nice place because you get all the desert feel with all the comfort of a really nice hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ankitkapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayng here during the off season (late August) in an air-conditioned unit. At first we were disappointed that our friend had not booked us the authentic experience of a tent but in the morning other travelers who had stayed in the tent were not well rested.
The dinner was awesome!
Watching the sunset high up on a cliff overlooking the camp and the desert were priceless experiences.
When we return to Jordan, Bait Ali is a definite destination. We really felt relaxed and enjoyed the fact there were no TVs in the room/hut. A bed and a bathroom is all you need.

Room Tip: If it's hot, go with the extra expense of the room with an a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
8.8 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#5 of 117 in Wadi Rum
419 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
#7 of 117 in Wadi Rum
177 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 117 in Wadi Rum
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Captain's Desert Camp
Captain's Desert Camp
#34 of 117 in Wadi Rum
310 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rahayeb Desert Camp
Rahayeb Desert Camp
#21 of 117 in Wadi Rum
256 reviews
12.8 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bait Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bait Ali

Property: Bait Ali
Address: Wadi Rum, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Bait Ali 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bait Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bait Ali Hotel Wadi Rum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing