We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little eco-luxury in the desert of Wadi Rum”
Review of Bait Ali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bait Ali
Ranked #31 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were late at choosing a camping spot in the desert and so opted to stay at Beit Ali Lodge. Lucky us. We stayed in a tent, but without bugs and extreme heat. Our dinner was delicious and in 37 degree heat, the pool provide a wonderful respite. Sunset views from the rocky ledge above the hotel are wonderful and many of the guest climb up together. I was sorry not to meet the British owner/ manager Susan as she was away in Amman. Next time. We highly recommend this eco-lodge and hope to return. Staff and service in general were also excellent. 10 / 10 !!

Room Tip: choose a tent in weather that isn't too hot. A little less expensive and VERY comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Bait Ali is for people who want to be in the desert but not in the desert. It is set up for tour groups and large parties. The rooms are tasteful and the whole resort is well designed (beware rooms are smoking so I could smell stale smoke) but it isn't for those who want the intimate peaceful desert experience. We had spent three days in a bedouin camp so we booked here for one night as we thought we'd need a night of comfort but I wouldn't bother with that as the camps in wadi rum are fine. The staff at Bait Ali are very helpful and speak perfect English.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bait Ali was highly recommended by our Jordanian friends...and perhaps that is where the confusion lies!
What is best for a Jordanian and what is best for an Australian is often very different!
So the positives? It is very clean, the bathrooms in the deluxe tents (which aren't tents but just have a tent roof!) are great with a fantastic hot water shower, it has electricity, lots of music and is very spacious.
But for me.....being very close to the main road (outside the reserve), more of a resort than a desert camp, (with a pool), with very little Bedouin-like atmosphere (and more obviously a business) were detractions.
The food was OK, the staff were friendly, the bedlinen was clean.
However, I yearned for a smaller camp with loads of atmosphere. I wanted to feel I was in the desert and could just lie back and look at the stars....and enjoy the quiet.
We found a fantastic guide outside the camp (number available on request) who took us on a fabulous 2 hour trip for much less than Bait Ali was charging. Just before sunset we sat in the desert and our guide brewed tea on a little fire; we sat surrounded by these amazing mountain ranges and enjoyed the fantastic colors...and the peace. This was the high point for me!
So..my partner who is Palestinian absolutely loved this place and will recommend to all. I would suggest for those more similar to myself to find somewhere else. Hence the confused review!

Room Tip: The tents are very basic and not nearly as nice as others I have seen. If the priority is a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate-Amman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband is very picky about where he stays so staying in a desert camp was not going to happen for us. We then opted for the upmarket Bait Ali Eco Camp for two nights. We stayed in the VIP chalet and it was more than adequate for the three of us. The views from the rock formation behind the camp were amazing and it was spectacular watching the sunset from there. The food was incredibly good and the staff really went out of their way to prepare fresh omelettes in the morning. The swimming pool was great entertainment for our three year old although in early May is was a bit on the chilly side. There is a huge amphitheatre at the back of the chalets. Apparently they have entertainment there on Friday nights with lots of duf duf Arabic music so if you're not into that best not to stay there on a Friday night. Overall a great place to stay and ideal for families with young children.

Room Tip: VIP family room is a great choice. Our room was perfect for 2 adults and 1 child. A/C and fridge ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent one nigth
We chose to stay it in the cabinet (room) rather than a tent
It was lovely nigth
Very clean services with extra friendly team
The dinner was delicious as same as breakfast
Many thanks for the manager (the Irish lady) umm amir

Certainly , I will chose it for next summer , also I recommended it for several guests from outside jordan
Please keep it as this standard

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maenaddassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent one night in one of the "luxury chalet", which was lovely and clean. The bathroom was perfectly OK, but it was simply impossible to shower as the water was either boiling or freezing...Otherwise, we liked the place very much and the food was delicious. Loved the tour of the desert in a 4x4 too: an amazing place...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed 1 night in a chalet at the Bait Ali Camp. A very nice place to spend the night, teh people are very friendly and the restaurant is great. We didn't like to sleep in a tent in the desert and this turned out to be a perfect place. It was very quit when we were there, but all the staff were present to serve the dinner, and we had a lovely time. At breakfast the chef prepared fresh bread, what a treat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBoele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
10.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#1 of 122 in Wadi Rum
156 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Lovers Camp
Wadi Rum Lovers Camp
#34 of 122 in Wadi Rum
99 reviews
8.8 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#9 of 122 in Wadi Rum
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#2 of 122 in Wadi Rum
403 reviews
14.0 mi away
Discovery Bedu
Discovery Bedu
#13 of 122 in Wadi Rum
78 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sunrise Camp
Sunrise Camp
#35 of 122 in Wadi Rum
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bait Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bait Ali

Address: Wadi Rum, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bait Ali 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bait Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bait Ali Hotel Wadi Rum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing