We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful guide”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wadi Rum Galaxy Camp
Ranked #73 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful guide”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a wonderful life experience that everyone should do! The galaxy camp team members are so nice and easy to make friends with. The beauty of the desert is unique and breathtaking. If you like, you can climb a rock to watch the sunset and/or sunrise. It was so fun to sit around a fire at night and drink yummy sweat tea. The view of the stars is amazing-no city lights and no city noise. The dinner and breakfast were so tasty. Don’t pass up this opportunity for an incredible experience! Coming back to the village in the morning by camel ride was a great way to finish off. Mosa and Salem were just terrific and could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I visited wadi rum for the first time after a friend recommended it to me and since i left i have been the one recommending it to everybody i meet! mosa, the tour guide greeted me and my friend at the visitor centre with a warm smile and genuine welcome and brought us to wadi rum village to his house for breakfast before setting off into the majestic desert. being a native Bedouin, he explained the history of the area, the culture of the Bedouins and what the recent sutge in tourism has meant for the local people. After an amazing 2 hour jeep tour, we did a camel tour which we loved! then he made a traditional Bedouin lunch for us as we sat around the campfire drinking copious amounts of tea and coffee!! After this we hiked up the 'Seven Pillars of Wisdom' mountain where we could see the most dramatic landscape i have ever witnessed. It was like being on Mars or something!! We finally went back to camp exhausted but excited for the next day. We lay out under the stars talking and you guessed it- drinking more tea! I would recommend this camp to anybody, not least because of Mosa, our fantastic friendly guide!! Money well spent!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitecourts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I loved every second of this tour, we went camel riding, on a jeep tour, camping under the stars and rock climbing. The village restaurant has very good food and more importantly - cold beer. Mosa, the guide was great and turned a good trip into the best trip! very knowledgeable guy who told us very interesting things about the desert and it's people that was not written in lonely planet! galaxy camp is a well run company which prioritizes it's guests. highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlapauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

i have been to the jungles of central america, the bustling cities of untied states, the markets in thailand, the beaches of italy but nothing compares to the desert of wadi rum! from the first minute until the very end i was inspired, encapsulated and lost in this place that i cannot imagine has changed in the last few thousand years! As always in any country i go to it is the people who make it memorable and this was certainly the case here. the Bedeoiun clan are so humble, gracious and are just the most beautiful people. they are so content with their simplistic way of life. no stress, no 12 hours a day in an office struggling to reach targets. only pick up their tent and all their belongings and move to another area in the desert where there is some grass for their animals. then they drink tea and more tea and more tea. everything here revolves around family. they are one huge family. it is truly inspiring. i didn't want to leave after just 3 days but i have no doubt i will be back here again. i must say a special thank you to my new friends who were my guides, Mosa and Salem. they made the trip so special!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Claudia231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

There is no light pollution here so it is difficult to find a better place to go star gazing than in the wadi rum desert! it looks as if you can see trillions of them it is truly jaw dropping! The scenery... how do i explain it! Lawrence of Arabia and transformers were both filmed here and even by watching those movies you still cannot understand it's magic and beauty until you actually set foot in it. I spent two weeks here and every time I went into the desert I was shaking my head in disbelief and in awe, even laughing to myself at times in wonder. Now to the Bedouin tribe.. the warmest, most genuine, most sincere people you will encounter. they live such a simple life, no materialistic values. Just family and friends always together. My guide's name was Mosa and he himself is a Bedouin. He was the main reason my journey was so incredible. He knows everything there is to know about Wadirum, the desert, the people, just everything. He was so kind to me and catered to me every need. I cannot thank him enough and I hope everybody that wants to come here will take my advice and take him as their guide!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juslew352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our guide, Mosa really did everything he possibly could to make this a once in a lifetime tour for us! he took me and my friends into the desert to the best mountains to go scrambling and to get the best views of this sublime landscape! he also brought us to his family's camp where they prepared 'mensaf' , a traditional Bedouin dish that was absolutely delicious!! We had a tent booked but we ended up sleeping outside it because we will never again have an opportunity to see the stars like we did that night. I would recommend this tour, and this tour guide to my closest friends and family because i know they would come back with a smile from ear to ear!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This trip to the magical wadi rum desert has been the best of our lives! My wife and I went here for our 1 year anniversary and I think we could be coming back here for many more This place has everything - beautiful weather, friendly natives, delicious food, great activities and the best place i have ever seen the stars! Wadi rum galaxy camp were very professional but also great fun and we had lots of banter with them! If anybody is thinking of going here, book with this group and ask for Mosa as your tour guide!! We had emailed him before we arrived and he always replied with a few hours and when we finally did arrive he had every single one of our requests managed for us. When we come back here again we know exactly who we will be booking with. Thank you for making our trip so memorable Mosa!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex421490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
0.0 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#5 of 117 in Wadi Rum
419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 117 in Wadi Rum
977 reviews
0.0 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#1 of 117 in Wadi Rum
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
#7 of 117 in Wadi Rum
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
0.0 mi away
Bedouin Family Camp
Bedouin Family Camp
#31 of 117 in Wadi Rum
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wadi Rum Galaxy Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wadi Rum Galaxy Camp

Property: Wadi Rum Galaxy Camp
Address: Wadi Rum, Wadi Rum 77110, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wadi Rum Galaxy Camp is located inside the Wadi Rum protected area, 18km from the Wadi Rum Visitor Center. The campsite is very peaceful and secluded, allowing you to relax and experience the tranquility of the desert. You will have the opportunity to wander through the surrounding desert, taking beautiful photos and gazing up at the stars in the night. With no artificial light, you will have a view of the night sky unlike any that you've ever seen. All the tents are fully furnished with the sleeping equipment you will need (mattresses, sheets, pillows, blankets, etc.), and we also have private showers and western toilets for your convenience. When dinner is ready, we all eat together and enjoy one of the traditional Bedouin dishes; either Mansaff which is the usual dish we offer to our visitors and guests at Bedouin weddings, or Zarb which is cooked under the sand. Fully satisfied, we will enjoy more tea around the campfire and talk until you retire to your private tents for a full night's rest. The meals are cooked by a Bedouin cook. A vegetarian diet is available upon request. We will do our best to meet your needs. Breakfast: continental & Arabic (Bedouin tea, coffee, Arab bread, jam, cheese, omelette, spices) Lunch: when the weather is warm, the lunch is variety of salads & fruits. When the weather is fresh, we serve a hot meal with salads Dinner: traditional Bedouin dishes, composed of chicken or lamb meat, rice, vegetables & fruits Drinks: mineral water & fruit juices For the same price we offer FOUR types of accommodation: -sleep in the desert camp -sleep in the desert under the stars -home stay with the family in Rum village -stay with the desert nomad family We speak English and Russian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wadi Rum Galaxy Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing