We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience not to be missed!”
Review of Treetops Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Treetops Lodge
Reviewed 11 December 2007

We stayed at Treetops on the first night of our Rhino Safari booked with Kuoni. We had stopped off for lunch at Outspan and checked in our main luggage as you can only take an overnight bag to Treetops. Transfer from Outspan takes about 30 minutes by bus which can get a little cramped when full.

When we arrived at Treetops we were offered a Game drive on a first come first served basis, as this was our first day we were eager to see as much as possible so I was first in the queue. Thinking back I don't think it was worth the extra money as we didn't really see that much and I think we would have been better off staying behind to get the whole Treetops experience.

My wife was a little concerned about what the rooms would be like at Treetops and the fact that it had communal bathrooms but although the room was small it was very cosy and all but added to the experience. Once in the room the first thing I did was open the window as wide as I could to see what had gathered at the salt licks. There was a bull Elephant not 20 feet from me!

Dinner is an experience too, served on long benches with companions who are travelling on the same safari or tour group. The food was good and again the benches just added to the whole experience.

The only disappointing thing about Treetops was that on the night that we stayed there wasn't a wealth of activity around the salt licks that night. We saw a lot of Elephants, a good few Buffalo, warthogs, waterbucks and antelopes. The buzzer never went off the whole night but don't let this put you off, reading the visitors book we were very unlucky, people on previous nights had spotted Rhino, Lions and even a Leopard!

The next morning we got a bit of extra sleep as our Kuoni party had our breakfast at Treetops before travelling back to Outspan.

Treetops is an experience not to be missed, not only for the animals but for it's historcal significance.

We will be back, some day!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gizza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Treetops Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2007

Staying at Treetops is a unique experience - and I've now been twice. I'd go every weekend if it wasn't so far away. There is nowhere like it for getting up close and personal - with both wildlife and fellow guests! The accommodation is literally built around trees and is almost completely made of wood. The tiny 2-bed rooms smell deliciously of cedarwood and there are tree trunks up through the lounges. The viewing facilities, both indoor and outside, are exceptional and there is a graded bell system for warning you of wildlife appearances during the night. Dinner - hot and delicious - is taken 'assembly' style with a neat sliding service rack in the centre of the tables and there was also afternoon tea. You go to Outspan for breakfast. They put food out for the birds which you can watch from a couple of feet away. Delightful.

* There are loads of steep stairs so this probably isn't at all suitable for the infirm or disabled.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank dottie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Treetops was an amzing experience because the animals come right up to the hotel.

The other reviews are right the rooms are small with twin beds in and no electric points and also there are shared bathrooms, but there are plenty of viewing platorms and plenty of space in the bar so we weren't in the room much anyway. It does get cold up there though so pack your jumper!!!!

I woke up in the night and so went to see what was about and even at 1.30am you could still see the animals, it was fantastic.

We found it to be a little basic compared to the other lodges but it was made up for by the fact that the place was clean and that it is not every day you get to see elephants, black rhino, buffalo and warthogs up cose!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Joanne35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

This place has some seriously mixed reviews most of which I can see where the people are coming from. Its true that the place is a little basic and that you have to climb up some steepish stairs to get in. The shared bathrooms were not really an issue but they and the lodge only seem to get cleaned once everybody has checked out, the staff bus was coming as we were going. But none of this should worry you as theres plenty of warning.

Check in is at Outspan Country Club and is a little confusing. Long story short, they show you to the lounge and give you labels for your luggage as its only an overnight bag to Treetops due to the space issue. At this time you also register with Treetops and they assign you a room, remember it. Luggage is then stored for you here, a few shillings helped things along. Then lunch is served buffet style and pleasant on the veranda after which you have time to wait till the pick up time. There are two ways to go ones the bus and the other is a game drive at extra cost. This was well worth it as the land is so different after Samburu, its lush and green and where its all grown up the animals are close when spotted.

On arrival they check everyones present call out names and room numbers and give you the key, they also explain the rules such as no smoking other than on the roof, its made of wood after all.

The rooms are small and the beds OK with plently of bedding and it did get colder. Most peope just wear the bedding on the viewing platforms. I got about 2 hours sleep here as theres the constant anticipation that something may happen. It is just a room to sleep in, granted it had an Elephant looking in the window but thats what you come for. We were on the bottom level so everytime something thudded by you looked out the window hence the lack of sleep.

The shared facilities did not pose a problem, our corridor had 4 -5 rooms on it and just had one bathroom and shower, but you just wait politely.

They tend to group nationalities together for dinner so you can talk and the waiter just has to use one language. The tables are bench seating with a little railway thing going up the middle which the food etc is pushed back and forth along. The food was good and they sent out more if you wanted.

The bar was something else with an amazing view over the watering holes. The Elephants and other animals did not go till 2am. Fantastic watching them with a cold beer. The drinks we had were well priced we expected it to be dearer but we were only drinking wine and beer instead of imported gin. There is limited seating and it depends on the group you are with, just muck in with others and enjoy it. The seating is not a problem as so many people wonder off to the various viewing positions which are everywhere theres even a ground level hide where you find yourself whispering to people you have never met before about the wildlife. In fact, theres a feeling of comradeship about the whole thing as everybody is here for the same thing and enjoying it.

We spotted Elephants, Water Buffallo, Assorted Game, maybe a Hyena but it was distant and dark. The best bit was a Black Rhino that came down to the otherside of the watering hole, one of the Elephants chased it off before it could come closer which was a shame as they are rarely spotted.

In closing this is a superb game viewing platform with food, drink and a bed, bear that in mind and you'll enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thesecreteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We had a fantastic time at Treetops. We stayed only for one night - and would not recommend staying any longer. The structure is simply amazing, the game viewing wonderful (provided, of course, that you travel to Kenya at the right time of year) and the history of the place (esp in relation to Queen Elizabeth) very moving. The food was also very nice indeed. The bar area was pleasant and relaxing, if a little expensive!

I have looked at some of the negative comments on this page and think that, overall, some people may not have approached Treetops in the right frame of mind. It is a very unusual and historical hotel. In the process, some things are different from a modern hotel. Room and passageways are not large. And bathrooms are shared. But it's a nearly century old treehouse for goodness sake!

The highlights of Treetops - game-viewing, history and architectural uniqueness - make it well worthwhile. Anyone expecting a modern 4 or 5 star hotel will find the place deficient. But, as I've suggested, I think that expectation is misplaced.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank OJ_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Like everybody else we stayed at Treetops for one night.

Check in for Treetops is actually at Outspan Hotel - about a 30 minute drive away. The check-in process itself was quite long and confusing, with a lot of waiting around for a bus to take you up to the hotel. Your luggage is handled through the process by a series of porters at a) Outspan b) getting on to the bus and c) Treetops - so make sure you bring enough small notes to tip each and every one of them or you risk having your bags rolled though the mud as happened to a number of the people on the same coach as us!

Be warned - if you travel to Treetops in August it is bitterly cold and very very muddy. The day we travelled it was freezing fog with visability down to about 20 metres. The heating in the hotel is non-existent and drafty - when you mention this to the staff the response is simply to walk around with your bed blankets wrapped around you. PACK WARM CLOTHES!

Also be warned - there are no private facilties in Treetops. There is one flushing toliet for about 20 people in a corridor and one shower for about 10 people in a corridor. The toilets are pretty dirty as well - when we were there somebody had been ill during the night therefore by morning time the Gents was in about a half an inch of mucky water.

There needs to be more warning about the lack of facilities generally, as if you are prepared for it in advance it's not an issue, but compared to every other lodge you stay in its a real shock to the system and all the adverts claim its "Kenya's Number One Luxury Wildlife Experience!"

"Luxury" it ain't - it's BASIC, BASIC BASIC!

Another complaint is the lack of seating for guests in the viewing/bar areas. Like I say, when we were there it was simply too cold to watch the animals from outside (freezing fog) therefore viewing was restricted to the bar area windows. However, there was only enough seating for about 35 people (with well over 100 staying in the hotel that night). The bar staff did nothing to stop people simply taking seats but then leaving for 2 hours for dinner and "reserving" their seats with the bed blankets they were wearing "sun bed" style . It meant there was nowhere for everybody to sit and the rooms are simply too basic and small to have two people in them for any length of time doing anything other than sleep.

Also be warned - charge your cameras up before you get there - there is only one plug socket per corridor (none in the rooms) and this is shared between about 20 people.

The meal was a pretty basic three course set menu served to a massive long table - mine was fine but others on our table complained there's was stone cold.

You certainly see animals at Treetops - but to be honest no more than you would see on a Game Drive in any other Kenyan reserve/national park - and in significantly less comfort! In the morning you are then bussed back to Outspan for your breakfast as there are no facilties at Treetops for this. Breakfast at Outspan has a real collective sense of being back in civilisation!

Treetops is certainly an experience, just go into it with the knowledge that it is very very basic for the price being paid and you won't be disapointed. I have stayed in £2 per night hostels in Asia with more facilties than Treetops. It is truly living off its reputation, which seems to stem from the fact that Queen Elizabeth went up there a Princess and came down a Queen. Sadly that was in 1953 and nothing I would suggest has really chnaged there since - I bet she didn't have to share a loo:-)

The experience was summed up quite well by a man about 4 rows behind me in the bus as we were leaving Treetops and looking back at the building. He said he half expected a lightning bolt to strike out across the sky in the background "Castle Grey Skull" style!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Stickerstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank treetops22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdare National Park
3.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
307 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
465 reviews
5.1 mi away
Outspan Hotel
Outspan Hotel
#4 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 5 in Nyeri
60 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Ark Lodge
The Ark Lodge
#2 of 15 in Nyeri
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge

Address: Aberdare National Park, Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aberdare National Park
Price Range: £186 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treetops Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Aberdare National Park, this world-renowned rustic Treehouse is over 80 years old and was recently fully refurbished. This game viewing lodge was originally built in 1932 and is famous as the place where the then-Princess Elizabeth ascended to the British Throne. The father King George VI died on 5th Feb 1952 the night she spent at Treetops while on honeymoon.Treetops lies in the path of an ancient Elephant migratory route between the Aberdare Ranges and Mt Kenya National park, and is strategically sited right in front of a natural watering hole and salt lick.With large windows fitted in all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge guests can drink in the sight of Elephants, Buffalos, Rhinos and more from all areas including the view deck on top floor of the building. Die-hard animal lovers needn't worry about missed sightings, even into the early hours of the morning. An optional buzzer in the rooms alerts the guests when a spectacle is unfolding at the waterhole. Game drives and a lecture about Treetops are also available to the guests.This lodge-on-stilts is accessed through a gradual ramp to the top floor and a Tree grows right through the building. There are 36 en-suite guest rooms that include 3 spacious suites and 33 twin rooms that can be converted into double rooms. A disabled friendly room is located on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Treetops Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Aberdare National Park
Treetops Lodge Kenya/Aberdare National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing