We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Treetops Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treetops Lodge
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had two nights here back in September. We arrived late and very lost driving independently from Nairobi. The staff were helpful over the phone and sent out a car to look for us and escort us back. When we arrived they had held supper for us, as it was gone 10pm. They had done this without asking. The food is good and we ate a lot this weekend! It isn't absolutely amazing but it's far far better than the standard food in Kenyan hotels. The hotel is completely unique and worth a visit even if you don't stay. We were given the Queen Elizabeth suite which was the closest room to the restaurant. The view of the front watering hole was amazing and we hardly moved all weekend as we could see elephants and other critters the armchair! The room was very spacious with a huge bed. The bathroom was fine, although we did have a problem in that we couldn't get cold water, so the shower was scolding, but they soon fixed it. The service was v good. I was cold in the day as i hadn't bought any socks and so they came with hot water bottles. We had a game drive for a couple of hours with a guide and that is really worth doing. A few years back Treetops was a little run down and behind the times, but in 2011 they emptied the whole building so everything is much improved. I'd thoroughly recommend it here. Excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for complimenting staff on efforts made to make your stay enjoyable. Your 2 nights stay gave you ample time to rest and enjoy the Treetops game viewing experience from the comfort of your room.

We are glad that you choose Treetops for your getaway weekend and look forward to hosting you and your friends soon.

Regards

E. Nguraru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel staff here were incredibly welcoming and helpful. They couldn't do enough for us and the food was delicious! Saw lots of animals from the hotel windows, but the cutest by far was a 2 week old baby elephant!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kscru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The best ever... What an amazing hotel... Loved it... And animals were great.. We see so much... Staff very friendly ... Food was the best... The room was lovely... Look out the window to see and hear the animals... It was like a dream come true... Best holiday ever

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondedebbie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Treetops and look forward to hosting you again in not so distant future.

Regards

E. Nguraru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This Hotel was our first on Titans Safari Tour. (Excellent Company). We were first taken to Outspan Lodge for Lunch (Very Good) before being bussed to Treetops itself for our 1 night.The first sight of the Hotel leaves you with the thought of a massive wooden shed. But when you enter you realise you are in fact in a Hotel. The rooms are very compact but adequate. You can view the Water Hole and Salt Lick from your bedroom window. This means you can watch Elephant, Buffalo, and other animals arrive as the evening progresses. But the best part was the excellent Dinner, served from a Menu, at the Table. In the morning after a good Breakfast we were again bussed (1960s style) back to Outspan Lodge to rejoin our vehicles for the Safari.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jontanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Your experience shared on trip advisor is much appreciated. Indeed Treetops exterior can be deceptive as the inside is entirely new and modern. For a better ride to the lodge management is flexible on transfers and allows self drive to the lodge. Guest can use their safari vehicle to go to Treetops after check in at Outspan and return trip the following morning.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards

E. Nguraru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I think of hotels like Treetops as Cheers hotels - everybody knows their names. One therefore expects excellence on all accounts or a unique experience. Treetops provides the latter. Originally built in the 1930s then destroyed and re-built in the 1950s, the lodge is located on the west side of a watering hole where a salt-lick draws wildlife. One can observe wildlife in the comfort of the lodge day and night as the area is lighted. A night time bell system even tips guests off so that they know when to look out. The lodge has good interpretive staff who provide talks on African wildlife.

The lodge itself is poorly constructed and noises reverberate through the building. You will hear music from the bar and peoples' voices in the hallway and adjacent rooms. The plumbing has passed its best before date, but the beds are very comfortable. The staff are ok, but seem prone to minor errors, perhaps the effect of catering to guests 24/7. The food is ok, but not exceptional.

Consider a one-night stay here, just for the experience, but keep in mind that the building is in need or some serious restoration.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaskatoonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here first night of safari, was ok but little boring as can't get out and lodge quite small to walk around.

Viewing deck nice but cold come 5pm. The viewing hide was better and closer to animals and betting photos. Seen buffalo, elephants and waterhogs

Dinner was served which was nice as all other lodges were buffet style.

Rooms nice and clean, hot water bottle provided at night but not that cold!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOD1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

When planning our Safari this was one of the places we really wanted to stay at. What a disappointment. In fact in all the places we stayed this was the worse.
The check-in procedure at Outspan was a time waster. Fortunately we got our driver to pick us at the lodge next day so didn't have to go through it again.
The room was small but ok. Gratefully for the hot water bottle at night. Room was noisy but is to expected with that type of building.
Because of the size of the dining room we were asked if we would eat later so they could cater for the larger groups first. A late meal makes going to bed late which in turn rising early is not very relaxing - all too rushed. A bigger dining room is needed. Found the staff not very attentive but that often is the case when large groups are staying at the same time. Couples tend to be forgotten.
The waterhole wasn't great to look at - some hyenas, warthogs and buffalo.
Aberdare National Park was very interesting and is worth visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took time to share your Treetops experience with us on trip advisor.
On areas of concern, Outspan is the base hotel for Treetops where guests check in and then served lunch. Since transfer to Treetops is at 14.30 hours, this procedure allows Treetops guests to ready themselves for this scheduled transfer. However we now allow guests to self drive to the lodge giving them flexibility to leave at will as long as they enter the Aberdare National Park before 18.00hrs. We have also taken note of dinner service and will work on logistics to accommodate groups and individual guests with minimum delay.
Inconvenience experienced during your stay is regretted.

Regards

E. Nguraru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdare National Park
3.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
321 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
482 reviews
5.4 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 5 in Nyeri
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels
0.0 mi away
Cravers Grill Thika
Cravers Grill Thika
#1 of 6 in Thika
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge

Address: Aberdare National Park, Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aberdare National Park
Price Range: £178 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treetops Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Aberdare National Park, this world-renowned rustic Treehouse is over 80 years old and was recently fully refurbished. This game viewing lodge was originally built in 1932 and is famous as the place where the then-Princess Elizabeth ascended to the British Throne. The father King George VI died on 5th Feb 1952 the night she spent at Treetops while on honeymoon.Treetops lies in the path of an ancient Elephant migratory route between the Aberdare Ranges and Mt Kenya National park, and is strategically sited right in front of a natural watering hole and salt lick.With large windows fitted in all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge guests can drink in the sight of Elephants, Buffalos, Rhinos and more from all areas including the view deck on top floor of the building. Die-hard animal lovers needn't worry about missed sightings, even into the early hours of the morning. An optional buzzer in the rooms alerts the guests when a spectacle is unfolding at the waterhole. Game drives and a lecture about Treetops are also available to the guests.This lodge-on-stilts is accessed through a gradual ramp to the top floor and a Tree grows right through the building. There are 36 en-suite guest rooms that include 3 spacious suites and 33 twin rooms that can be converted into double rooms. A disabled friendly room is located on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Treetops Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Aberdare National Park
Treetops Lodge Kenya/Aberdare National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing