We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing start to our Kenya safari”
Review of Treetops Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treetops Lodge
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was our first stop on safari and we were not disappointed. Very comfortable room with en suite facilities. The view from our room could not have been any better. We could see the elephants making their way down to the watering hole. They were quite happy to loiter underneath our window and made their presence known with all the noise they made. i just lay in bed with a stupid grin on my face. I couldn't believe I was so close to these magnificent animals. Can it get any better than this?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyWoo1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

I loved this place and my wife loved it even more. Quite and friendly with great views and animal life all around. This was my second stay and it hasn't changed in 10 years. I would recommend this place to any one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SinTins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

After having read about the history of this hotel, which was originally a tree house that overlooked a watering hole in the Aberdaire safari park where Queen Elizabeth II stayed and learnt that she had become queen due to her father's demise, we had to stay here. We arrived here by our tour bus in the early evening before the sun went down and were allowed to disembark out side the hotel perimeter fence to take pictures of this iconic wood clad hotel. The original Treetops hotel had been burnt down during the Kenyan freedom struggle for independence from British colonials and the new hotel is much bigger but still retains the "tree house" character. As dusk fell we were asked to move into the hotel perimeter as it would be dangerous outside during the night due the animals coming to the watering hole. We went upstairs to our quaint, cosy rooms with little curtained windows and then up to the roof or the bar on the first floor where we could watch the animals at the watering hole. Enjoyed seeing the warthogs wallowing in the mud and strutting around with their tails up in the air. The roof top had seating and became colder as darkness fell and one definitely needed a sweater or even a blanket if one wanted to stay up there. We retired to the bar area that had large glass windows that also overlooked the watering hole though seating was limited and one needed to be there early with a beer. Dinner was served on long tables in the dining room where all guests sat quite close to chat about their safari experiences. Dinner was western and quite good and it was good passing the dishes along the tables as the servers had limited area to move up and down the dining room. After dinner we again sat at the bar watching animals come and go as though they were choreographed to timetable! Eventually we went to our bedrooms where we were told that there was as little bell which could turn on if we wanted to be informed of interesting animals visiting the hole by the hotel staff....one bell ring for a small animal, such as a hyena, two for a medium sized animal such as a rhino or three rings for a large predator or elephant. You could choose whether you wanted to get up to see the animals. We napped a bit but on the first bell ring we were up! As the night wore on the more interesting animals turned up with hyena loping around silently with their sinister grins. The enclosed ground floor viewing are had small windows to observe the animals more closely. A shy rhino stood a distance away from the lighted watering hole but the buffaloes liked the fresher water in troughs closer to the hotel as it had less natural salt than the watering hole. We hardly slept due to the excitement but eventually we collapsed just before dawn and no amount of bell rings would have woken us. The bathrooms and shower areas in the hotel are no ensuite facilities as the rooms are small. This was not inconvenient but if you need a shower before breakfast, it is best to be early. The only room that has ensuite facilities we were told is the Queen Elizabeth room which also has a balcony but is quite expensive. We would not have missed this charming hotel for anything and the animals did put on a great show.

Room Tip: It gets quite cool at night so have some warm clothes or a blanket if you want to remain on the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay at Treetops. I would like to clarify that the lodge was fully refurbished in 2012 and since then all rooms are en-suite. Kindly re-confirm period you stayed at the lodge because by August 2013 description given is contrary to actual state of Treetops.

Regards

E. Nguraru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Having 3 black rhinos just a few feet away from you is a great privilege. This was from inside one of the ground level bunkers which most people ignored as it is quite a climb down from the bedroom levels.
Sadly there is now no viewing platfrom over the back pool, as rooms have been built on the top deck, and the windows overlooking it need a good clean. However, it was wonderful to be the first to spot the rhinos coming down the back hill in the middle of the night.
There is a system of alarms in your room for alerting you to incoming animals but the watchman got taken to hospital and so the system went down. That didn't matter for us as we never got into bed and kept vigil for much of the night.

Arriving at the hotel is fun as you get dropped half a mile away and then walk across to it with Amos as your armed guard. The hotel gradually comes into view across the waterhole and you pass the site of the original Treetops in which Princess Elizabeth unknowingly became Queen Elizabeth II. If you are hoping for historiy-related souvenirs you won't find any, either here or at Outspan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriskyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We went to this hotel for the first day of our safari and it was lovely excellent position to view animals day and night at the watering holes. Rooms very clean excellent shower facilities and comfortable warm beds.The food and service could not fault staff obliging and welcoming. We went on an additional safari there which cost extra about 750 ks for two but we saw so much more with fantastic view of Mount Kenya, leopard ,rhino, elephants and lots of different monkeys. Thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robine974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you shared your experience with us on trip advisor and lucky to have spotted some of the rare game found in Aberdare National Park.

We look forward to hosting you next time your travels bring you back to Kenya.

Regards

E. Nguraru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had two nights here back in September. We arrived late and very lost driving independently from Nairobi. The staff were helpful over the phone and sent out a car to look for us and escort us back. When we arrived they had held supper for us, as it was gone 10pm. They had done this without asking. The food is good and we ate a lot this weekend! It isn't absolutely amazing but it's far far better than the standard food in Kenyan hotels. The hotel is completely unique and worth a visit even if you don't stay. We were given the Queen Elizabeth suite which was the closest room to the restaurant. The view of the front watering hole was amazing and we hardly moved all weekend as we could see elephants and other critters the armchair! The room was very spacious with a huge bed. The bathroom was fine, although we did have a problem in that we couldn't get cold water, so the shower was scolding, but they soon fixed it. The service was v good. I was cold in the day as i hadn't bought any socks and so they came with hot water bottles. We had a game drive for a couple of hours with a guide and that is really worth doing. A few years back Treetops was a little run down and behind the times, but in 2011 they emptied the whole building so everything is much improved. I'd thoroughly recommend it here. Excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for complimenting staff on efforts made to make your stay enjoyable. Your 2 nights stay gave you ample time to rest and enjoy the Treetops game viewing experience from the comfort of your room.

We are glad that you choose Treetops for your getaway weekend and look forward to hosting you and your friends soon.

Regards

E. Nguraru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel staff here were incredibly welcoming and helpful. They couldn't do enough for us and the food was delicious! Saw lots of animals from the hotel windows, but the cutest by far was a 2 week old baby elephant!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kscru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdare National Park
3.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
337 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
498 reviews
0 mi away
Maiyan
Maiyan
#2 of 8 in Nanyuki Town
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
5.4 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyeri
62 reviews
15.5 mi away
Jaqanaz Resort
Jaqanaz Resort
#3 of 6 in Nyeri
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge

Address: Aberdare National Park, Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aberdare National Park
Price Range: £162 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treetops Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Aberdare National Park, this world-renowned rustic Treehouse is over 80 years old and was recently fully refurbished. This game viewing lodge was originally built in 1932 and is famous as the place where the then-Princess Elizabeth ascended to the British Throne. The father King George VI died on 5th Feb 1952 the night she spent at Treetops while on honeymoon.Treetops lies in the path of an ancient Elephant migratory route between the Aberdare Ranges and Mt Kenya National park, and is strategically sited right in front of a natural watering hole and salt lick.With large windows fitted in all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge guests can drink in the sight of Elephants, Buffalos, Rhinos and more from all areas including the view deck on top floor of the building. Die-hard animal lovers needn't worry about missed sightings, even into the early hours of the morning. An optional buzzer in the rooms alerts the guests when a spectacle is unfolding at the waterhole. Game drives and a lecture about Treetops are also available to the guests.This lodge-on-stilts is accessed through a gradual ramp to the top floor and a Tree grows right through the building. There are 36 en-suite guest rooms that include 3 spacious suites and 33 twin rooms that can be converted into double rooms. A disabled friendly room is located on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Treetops Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Aberdare National Park
Treetops Lodge Kenya/Aberdare National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing