We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover”
Review of Outspan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Outspan Hotel
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Their rooms were nice and the building has great history, loved the furniture in the room. Real wood that one cannot find easily these days. Breakfast was great in the balcony, pity we were not able to see the mountain due to overhanging clouds. Dinner staff at the restaurant could use a bit of improvement. Otherwise, after a whole day drive, I was happy to get a good night's rest. The standard room was stuffy and opted for deluxe one

Room Tip: Insist on a deluxe room, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThuleN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed two nights at this hotel, which has certainly seen better days. rooms are tired and 1950s style, but a plus is that they will put a fire in the fireplace for you.

Major negative is the food - dinner is an ordeal best avoided. Had two truly awful dinners with tasteless overcooked food that was more than a little tired before it came out of the fridge/freezer.

Staff very likeable and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rswooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived feeling rather tired as the Best of Kenya Safari has a great deal of travelling. Outspan is steeped in history and being the last home of Baden Powell made it even more interesting. The gardens are wonderful very well kept with all kinds of shrubs and trees. I would have liked to have been shown around the hotel so that we could see some of the rooms. The grounds are outstanding and really set of the residence. The day we arrived we had a thunder storm and within minutes it was thundering and lightening but this could not dampen our day. We had a large party of Chinese who seem to take everywhere over. but I guess they are on holiday too. The service was excellent and I would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Oh dear. We stayed here one night only - never again! On the plus side, the room was nice with a lovely fire place. The building is also full of history with beautiful grounds
However, the cons are endless! Well..where to start. Supper was served by unsmiling and rude staff who weren't able to identify the food that was served. Service was slow and the staff very badly trained. The food itself was not good. Breakfast was a similar story - the staff were slow, disinterested and almost mocking of the customers. I waited 20 minutes for milk, before it arrived and was slammed down in front of the waiting customers. The bed was very uncomfortable and we woke in night when we tried to turn over! The shower didn't have any hot water and the bathroom was like something from the 1890s - and not in a good way! The toilet also didn't flush so we used the one in reception. Overall, by far the worst thing about this place is the staff. They need totally new people who are up to the job. Not asking much - just smile and look alive!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel, embedded in the history of the scouting movement prepared us for the days ahead. The gardens were immaculate , and the food was very good, a little British maybe. Our afternoon entertainment was a visit by a group of Masai warriors, who marched through the grounds. Although Baden Powells residence was viewable, it was only from the outside. We did make a call to the graveside of the boys hero, and the grave,s view of Mt Kenya. We were advised not to venture outside the grounds, but this was common with all the Kenyan hotels. Beggars were waiting to pounce, and by the look of the local housing, the need for begging was all too obvious.
Bar prices in the hotel were reasonable, and as with other Kenyan hotels the service was first class.

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank ke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Went for lunch while we were in nyeri, beautiful grounds and majestic building.
The buffet lunch was pretty good. I would recommend for a clean and fresh stop or lunch while in the area.
The staff was very friendly. The place was filled w Chinese tourists that brought either own tea and Jarred hot sauce.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank olenabklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I last visited the Outspan Hotel 30 years ago when living in Nairobi. I always enjoyed going there then because I was guaranteed good food and excellent service, plus breathtaking views of Mount Kenya. I also enjoyed the lovely garden where Baden Powell lived during his last years. I stopped off there this time, 30 years later, en route to Treetops. Although Treetops was excellent with good food, great animal sightings and attentive staff, the same could not be said of the Outspan. We had lunch there and the selection and quality of the food was poor. I could not eat the meat, it was too tough. We were served by miserable, unsmiling staff. We had to ask several times just to have a menu. What a shame for a lovely place. Outspan is not just any hotel, it is a very special, historic building. Standards have slipped badly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdare National Park
6.7 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
337 reviews
5 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyeri
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
10 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
498 reviews
0 mi away
Batian Grand Hotel
Batian Grand Hotel
#4 of 6 in Nyeri
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outspan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outspan Hotel

Address: Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aberdare National Park
Price Range: £124 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outspan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located in the Kenyan highlands 2 hours drive from Nairobi the capital city, Outspan provides a holistic business, leisure and adventure experience. A comfortable hotel set in well tended tropical gardens with rolling manicured lawns and breath taking views of Mt Kenya. Lord Baden Powell the founder of the Scouting movement spent the last three years of his life here in a cottage called Paxtu which is still preserved to date. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outspan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outspan Hotel Aberdare National Park
Outspan Hotel Kenya/Aberdare National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing