We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't wanna go to sleep”
Review of The Ark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ark
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You don't wanna go to sleep”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there overnight but the experience will never be forgotten. The stuff was very friendly, the food was good but but what really stole our attention were the balconies on each deck from where you can watch the animals visiting the waterpoint near the hotel. During night time they use a floodlight on the waterpoint and you can watch the buffaloes and elephants all night! Also we were happy to find a couple of hot water bottles under our bed sheets since it was cold that day. Thank you for your warm welcome!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocktailmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    155
    60
    11
    17
See reviews for
127
166
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel was amazing, the view of the pond and the animals was a incredible sight, during the day or the night. We were woken up at 3:30 am by alarm to see hyenia's circling the water hole, trying to look for a quick meal, but none was found.

Amazing food, small room, but for 2 people it was fine. The staff was great, stayed up late and talked to the fellow who is up all night, watching for animals that come to the water hole during the night, he was very informative about all the animals and what to look for.

The view from the deck, bunker, and upstairs all enclosed in glass was beautiful, so close to the animals.

Great place and saw so many different animals.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailNeilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here one evening during our Kenyan safari... we had to change rooms four or five times to finally find one with a properly-flushing toilet, but that was no big deal. The big deal was the amazing experience here that I don't think you can have anyplace else in the world.... you can look out your bedroom windows and see baboons. You can go to the ark platforms and watch cape buffalo and elephants at the salt lick... and we watched some sneaky hyenas try to take down a baby elephant (unsuccessfully.. yayy!).

There is also a sort of underground dungeon area where you can peer out the windows at the animals and be right on their level! The food at the buffet was good, and after that the genet cats would come to the glass doors near the bar area waiting to be fed. They were amazing creatures and you were practically face-to-face with them!

The rooms are small and modest and could use some updating, but the public areas are warm and inviting with fireplaces and nooks and crannies to read or simply watch the animals. we were also treated to getting to watch them feed the birds and saw hundreds of brilliantly-colored birds flock to the feeding.

It's not the Ritz Carlton... but it offers more than any 5-star hotel ever can.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spend the night on the Ark. sitting area with all glass to view wildlife up close as they come to natural water hole. Bunker below with opening to take pictures and here the sounds of the animals. Decks to sit on outside to also watch and take amazing pictures. Alarms go off in room at night, if want, to notify of activity at the water hole. Excellent food, atmosphere. Just take a back pack for the night.

Room Tip: Does not make any difference the room cause view all the wild life from the viewing areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The staff rings a bells each time an activity occurs, such as seeing an elephant, or a special activity. The nights were a bit cold but the bottle of hot water was a treat . Had an A MA ZING ! time best location to see activities of animals. Food was not so great, yet everything surpasses the experience received. Thick glass panes to observe.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JOANNE99JAYAMAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

ハネムーンで利用しました。ホテルにいながらサファリを味わえると旅行会社の担当プランナーさんからお勧めされ、プランに組み込んでいただきました。大正解でした、ここをプランに組み込んでいただいたプランナーさんには感謝です。
ホテルの前にある池には象やバッファローたちがやってきます。象は私がいたときは15頭ほどの群れが見れました。また珍しい動物がいるとベルで知らせてくれます。サイが夜中に来てベルで知らせてくれたので見ることができました。
2月に訪問した際は観光客が少なく、私たちを合わせて5組ほど。スタッフの皆さんはとても優しくフレンドリー。いつも気にかけていただきました。食事も美味しく、1泊でしたがもっと泊まりたいと思わせてくれるホテルでした。ありがとうございました。また絶対来ます。
We stayed this hotel 1 night as honeymoon, it was a really nice hotel!! Elephants, rhinos, buffalos came to the pond in front of hotel.When some rare animal come(ex:rhino), staff ring the bell.
Staffs were really kind and friendly.We also enjoy meals.I love this hotel, I'll be back soooon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choco_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

One of the few places which you cannot miss...the road to it is a bit rocky (it is in middle of a national park)..but the driver of our cab was always sharing information and giving out helpful tips through out the journey. The approach over to the ark over the foot bridge was amazing. The check in was efficient, bags were placed in out rooms, the rooms were small but very cozy (don't require bigger rooms than they had)...the hot water bottles in the bed was a nice touch. The beds and pillows soft. No problems with the any mosquitoes or bugs. The bathrooms were nice although would have preferred a little more of power in the shower and getting the right temperature was bit of task ( i am just nit picking right now)...the service was really amazing, the staff ever smiling and very very helpful....we didn't spot any exotic animals but the experience alone was worth the stay..the place setting in the dinning room was something out of a jane austen movie....the only thing missing was a col. oakshot and a butler.....i would have to say the food could have been a bit more better at dinner (meat a little more soft, lacked flavour)...oh and you have to buy water in the restaurant (they do give you free bottles in the rooms)...the breakfast was amazing!... if you are going to Kenya you have to visit this place....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wannabetrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdare National Park
8.5 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
6.2 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
10.3 mi away
Outspan Hotel
Outspan Hotel
#4 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 5 in Nyeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
10.7 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Ark Lodge
The Ark Lodge
#2 of 15 in Nyeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark

Property: The Ark
Address: P O Box 499, Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdare National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ark 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ark Hotel Aberdare National Park
Ark Aberdare National Park
Ark Hotel Aberdare National Park
The Ark Kenya/Aberdare National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing