We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing..beautiful..peacful...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aberdare Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“amazing..beautiful..peacful...”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We did not stay here but did spend 4 hours here enroute to the ark. All i can say is that the property is breathtaking. The manicured lawns, golf course, the wild life that runs freely around, the enitre british raj feelings its just simply amazing. The staff was very helpful and always smiling, we traveled with a group of kids and they allowed us to use their swimming pool and served us tea/ coffee with scones. The view of the area was simply superb. We regret not staying one night here.....as someone mentioned before no trip to kenya can be complete if you do not visit this property. The approach is bit rough but its worth every bump!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabetrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    106
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
109
91
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Aberdares Country club for one night and it was the perfect getaway. It is set amongst the most picturesque landscape. We had fantastic service from Owen for whom no request was too much. The food was good and there was plenty to choose from...only suggestion is that the deserts looked amazing but some cakes were a little dry, so maybe a little improvement on this front.
We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for one night in April, after two nights at Sweetwaters Serena Camp, thinking we would be closer to Nairobi International Airport for our flight out. Not so, actually. Due to the traffic and type of roads we had to travel, the drive time from Aberdare to NBO was almost 4 hours.

This beautiful country club/wildlife sanctuary is set in the hills of Aberdare Highlands, just outside of Aberdare National Park and near the town of Nyeri. Originally built by a British family in the 1930's, it is now a popular destination for locals and for business meetings. It is also a favorite stop for tour buses of noisy tourists who unload for lunch on their way to the Park.

It is easy to be impressed upon entry to the grounds. The elevated views are beautiful. A nine-hole golf course appears to the left, and yes, those are giraffes, warthogs, and gazelles roaming the fairways. The well groomed grounds are lush and green, overflowing with flowering bougainvillea and poinsettia trees. Peacocks are strutting about and fanning their feathers.

Wifi was available in and near the reception area. We enjoyed chill time at the pool, and one of my friends went for a massage in the spa which had fitness equipment, locker rooms, showers, sauna and steam rooms. There were other activities available that we did not have time to do: horseback riding, tennis, nature walks.

Our rooms were in one of the higher cottages, which ensured that we could appreciate the natural beauty of the plains below and Mt. Kenya to the east. Everything was clean and comfortable. Hot water bottles warmed our beds at night. Near our rooms at dusk, we spied a family of baboons moving down the hills to their nighttime habitat.

Afternoon tea was enjoyed at the outdoor tables. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were served buffet-style in the formal dining room with attentive servers and beautiful table settings. Little details such as dish warmers were a nice touch. Unfortunately, we did not think the food was that tasty. The chafing pans offered a mix of western and Indian dishes that seemed typical of overcooked banquet food. The salads were fresh but not imaginative. The desserts tasted dry and the fruit choices lacked sweetness.

Aberdare CC was definitely a lovely place and probably a good choice if you were also visiting nearby Aberdare Park. Though I probably would have preferred to have spent the extra night at Sweetwaters, this was a restive stopover...the beautiful setting and vistas did provide a nice memory of Kenya just before a long ride to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bln_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Aberdare country club was such a good getaway. It was quiet and so relaxing. I really enjoyed chef Deepak's cooking, but most notable were his customer oriented service which was right on point. I highly recommend the place. Good job, Aberdare Country club staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a restful Easter weekend here with excellent rooms and well kept grounds. The Chef however needs to be fired. The food was tasteless, badly cooked and the Chef clearly lacked imagination. The dessert pastry was sometimes half cooked, the salads badly mixed, the fruit was tasteless and sometimes unripe. The juices at breakfast tastes acrid and either mixed with too much water or just plain bitter. Get that Chef out of there, many people may not come back. I for one will come back only when he is gone.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the last upper row, above the reception, they have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldmacharia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A beautiful place. Awesome view. Feels like heaven on Earth. Quite a few animals just roaming around freely. Lovely greenery everywhere.

The rooms were nice and cozy. The best part was the lovely fireplace that was lit every night and the hot water bottle put into your bed at night.

Food was very nice with a lot of variety. We had a bbq night once and that was really good. Hotel was fully booked but the service was to standard. So hats off to the staff.

Kids had plenty to do during the stay.

Highly recommended to anyone looking for a peaceful time away from the hustle bustle of life.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HuseinE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

One of the most amazing resorts we stayed in, till date. Absolutely beautiful and a complete stress buster. Pity that we spent only one day there. The Country club is situated on 1000+ acres of lush green grounds teeming with peacocks, deer, boars, monkeys, giraffes etc. Accomodation is top class and we didn't find anything to complain about. The views from our cottage were amazing since we got one which was located at the highest point. Food was great with Chef Deepak's personal attention, in addition to Mr. Richard (GM of the property) personally overlooking the needs of all guests. The attention really makes you feel special. We had a barbecue lunch on the day we were leaving for the Ark. They provide you with a Guide, when you want to do a nature walk around the reserve and it was quite an experience. The kids were running behind Giraffes and deer. Fantastic experience and we are definately planning a return visit. A big thanks to all the other staff also, who made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeev_Dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdare National Park
8.5 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
434 reviews
3.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
323 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 5 in Nyeri
58 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Ark Lodge
The Ark Lodge
#2 of 15 in Nyeri
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdare Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdare Country Club

Property: Aberdare Country Club
Address: Mweiga Hill | Nyeri, Aberdare National Park 48995 00100 Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberdare National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdare Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdare Country Club, only a three-hour drive northeast from Nairobi, is nestled on a slope of Mweiga Hill in the Aberdare Highlands, part of the Great Rift Valley. This captivating site was selected by an English couple who had decided to settle in the land of their choosing - Kenya. It all happened many years ago; their children grew up there, but then moved on to different places. After almost half a century, their home, "The Steep", was sold and re-named "The Aberdare Country Club". Even though the property was developed beyond the imaginings of the original owners, they would be pleased with how carefully it has been nurtured and the grandeur it has maintained. This is highlighted in Monty Brown's book, "Haven Under the Hill" which says: "Today, despite the fast-changing tempo of the outside world, the old home still retains that comfortable, solid feeling based on traditions from a time when life proceeded at a far more leisurely and gentle pace". The Club's 1,300 acre wildlife sanctuary is teeming with eland, impalas, zebras, giraffes and the more reclusive leopards. It is a haven of unhurried charm set in a garden bursting with a profusion of colour, and with peacocks living within the lush green lawns. Walking through this unspoiled terrain is paradise. Play a round of golf, watched by a family of warthog, or fish for trout, play tennis or just relax by the pool within the beautiful gardens. From here you can see the sunset with the stunning Aberdare Mountains as a backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdare Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdare Country Club Hotel Aberdare National Park
Aberdare Country Club Kenya/Aberdare National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing