We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a quiet place away from town”

Hyrax Hill Prehistoric Site
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With the discovery of Iron Age and Neolithic artifacts on this spot, paleontologists Louis and Mary Leakey unlocked thrilling mysteries to Kenya’s ancient prehistory.
Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a quiet place away from town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

i loved the reception and the guide..what i didnt like was the entrance to the place..the entrance was very deserted and without a good guide its easy to loose you track..all in all the place is full of history

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful view, worth the price of admission”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

It doesn't seem like they get many visitors and there isn't much to see inside the museum, but the site is very nice. Being that there are few places in and around Nakuru that you can walk around and explore without an over priced game park fee this was a very welcome exception.
There is a spectacular view of the city of Nakuru and the lake as well as the burial grounds and the digs. In and of itself it is quiet interesting to see another site in the chain of the rift valley discoveries/Leakey family discoveries- if that is your interest.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ehmjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting but don't expect to see much. Use your imagination.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Hyrax Hill is easy to reach from Lake Nakuru and worth a short visit. You won't see much of the archeological remains, but a well-meaning guide will show you where the digs were conducted and give you a general impression of the context and surroundings.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Underwhealming, but a nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

A student-guide on on his last day before graduating insisted on explaining every exhibit in the museum in the most token manner before taking us around to the various archaeological sites. Although he was a nice guy, he really didn't know much, and made the visit a drawn-out and somewhat boring experience. We didn't even find a hyrax!

It was cool to play on a very old bao (mancala) board, and the excavation of the old graves was theoretically interesting though there wasn't much of anything to see. The butterflies were great, the tortoises in the tortoise pit were very cute, and the view of Lake Nakuru was nice.

Overall, I would skip it unless you have time to kill. Would have much rather spent a few more hours in Nakuru National Park, or eating choma ;)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ariel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Had Never Heard Of A Rock Hyrax In My Life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

During our last game drive at Lake Nakuru we visited Hyrax Hill. This was the first time I had ever heard of an animal such as the Rock Hyrax and got to see a few of them. We went to the top of the hill which had fantastic views over the lake. Did you know that that Lake Nakuru National Park is 180sq km of which the lake alone is 50sq km? Lots of baboons on the hill at the viewpoint which also has a 100m trail (which I did not go down). Clean toilets also were there for use on the hill. Great photo opportunity as well. Was very impressed with the Rock Hyrax that looks like a large rodent....sure footed and delightful to see them run around the steep edges of the cliff. Worth a visit when at the national park.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gerardlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hyrax Hill Prehistoric Site also viewed

Lake Nakuru National Park, Rift Valley Province
Nakuru, Rift Valley Province
 
Lake Nakuru National Park, Rift Valley Province
Nakuru, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Hyrax Hill Prehistoric Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing