We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a poor hotel - simple as that.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Shabby, INCREDIBLY NOISY, no secure parking, filthy tiny pool, no lift, etc etc etc. 8000 KES for a Saturday night was about 5000 KES overpriced. Located nowhere near the Lakeside but beside a shopping centre next to the main through-road (how many trucks pass through Nakuru - incredible!). Depending on your preference, you can ask for either a road view or an alley view. This hotel was booked for us by my partner's office.

Rooms are outdated and very basic with an ill-fitting mosquito net which was probably about 20 years old. The television had 3 swahili channels (terrestial tv) and one satelitte channel showing Zuku (general entertainment and kids programmes). The TV in the bar (if you can find the bar - hidden round a corner) was able to show sports but was full of locals and staff watching the latest Election coverage and, with virtually no lighting, it didn't feel safe for my girlfriend and I to hang around. After one drink with the locals staring at us or shouting at the television, we fled to the relative safety of the room for an early night.

When the noise in the corridors died down (doors slamming, people shouting, running up and down the corrider - God knows what was going on out there), I got some sleep but was woken sporadically by motor cycle engines throughout the night and then totally immersed in the appalling traffic noise from 5.30 am onwards (on a Sunday!). It was like being trackside at Le Mans without any ear protection and it was continuous until about 9.30 am by which time the cleaners were out in the corridor having their AGM or something. The bedroom windows would need double or triple glazing to reduce the noise but the street noise and the corridor noise comes in from the bathroom vents and from the gap under the door so there's no chance of getting a quiet night's sleep. A horrible, scruffy, hotel which only gets 2 stars because the showers worked and it's next to a shopping centre which does good coffee (Java).

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jambo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed in a Deluxe room for 7000 KSH and was very happy. Very clean room with modern furniturea nd good located, next to Nackumat shopping center. The food was very good and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank vollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

First of all, this hotel is NOT located in Lake Nakuru National Park, as written in the adress. It is located in the center of Nakuru City.

A great place to stay for one night - remember to chose the rooms from 115 up to 130 as they are newly re-furbished and not worn out as the other rooms. Room rate is fair, even for non-residens in Kenya, as the rates are fixed on 7500 ksh. including breakfast.

The rooms are really nice (we stayed in room 115 the first time and 126 the next time) and clean, as are the bedsheats, floor, sofaes etc. However, as Nakuru City is located right upperside Lake Nakuru there is loads of mosquitos in the air 24/7 and for some reason the hotel have not updated the mosquito nets when re-furbishing the rooms!

Both times we stayed there, in different rooms, the mosquito nets were either broken, or not completly closed at the top - both me and my boyfriend woke up with several mosquito bites both time we stayed there.

For that reason alone, I would not stay there again - I think when running a hotel in a mosquito area, you should be really aware of this fact and when you on top of that, re-furbish the rooms, why not update the mosquito nets too?

The WiFi is good in the dining area outside but it is not working in the rooms, if that is because of the renovation going on I don't know. However it is really annoying when you think you have booked a place with WiFi.

The food is good - the toilets are clean - the rooms are clean and the breakfast is also good with a wide variety of food - but the mosquitonets.....!!

The hotel is located next to a big mall, where they make great pizzaes and where it is possible not to be the only "Mzungu" (white person) in town - for us a great break from rural Nandi County!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms from 115 to 130 as they are the ones in february 2013 that is newly re-furbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneLisToft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Last weekend (19th 01 2013) me and my friends went out to have drinks and swim at the hotel's pool, it also turned out to be my sweetheart's birthday. Imagine after spending a huge bill at the hotel they wouldn't let us to cut our cake, claiming it was from outside!!!!!!! What a bunch of un-understanding staff? We felt so let down!! No wonder it was on a weekend and there were no guests!!! Pull up your socks!! Worst PR ever experienced!!!!!!

ippoh03@gmail.com

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

The reception was fair. The place is lovely. The rooms were full so we got two mini deluxe at a deal and the stay was warm. I won't mind coming back!


The hot shower was awesome. Just like most places, you have to let the water run.

Lovely night!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

great hotel. currently has renovations ongoing. good value for money, actually best. hate the security searching all of my luggage. and my shirt took ages to get pressed, however very good room no. 130. clean and comfortable. no ashtrays

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

the lobby is modern and stylish. the staff is always ready with a smile and very helpful. the rooms are the best in town with all the modern amenities. the bar is well stocked and with mood music to boot . the food is excellent!! this is a place to go to always.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wangari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
1.8 mi away
Sarova Woodlands
Sarova Woodlands
#1 of 19 in Nakuru
45 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
917 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Suites
Legacy Hotel & Suites
#10 of 19 in Nakuru
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#2 of 19 in Nakuru
71 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Luna ltd
Hotel Luna ltd
#3 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru

Address: West Road, Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range: £34 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing