We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel is situated conveniently near the Nakumatt Westgate Mall. The staff were very friendly and the hotel very clean. While i was there, there were many other workshops going on and yet they still managed to serve good food. The meat balls are to die for! This hotel seems popular for meetings and slightly cheaper than other hotels in Nakuru town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
9
15
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is an extremely poor service hotel for the price they charged. had to stay there for 2 weeks and unless you are just suing conference rooms, it is not a place to stay or even eat really. Customer service is extremely poor, no mosquito nets, you have to ask.
In short - terrible experience and place

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Nakuru National Park hotels

Mombasa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Shabby, INCREDIBLY NOISY, no secure parking, filthy tiny pool, no lift, etc etc etc. 8000 KES for a Saturday night was about 5000 KES overpriced. Located nowhere near the Lakeside but beside a shopping centre next to the main through-road (how many trucks pass through Nakuru - incredible!). Depending on your preference, you can ask for either a road view or an alley view. This hotel was booked for us by my partner's office.

Rooms are outdated and very basic with an ill-fitting mosquito net which was probably about 20 years old. The television had 3 swahili channels (terrestial tv) and one satelitte channel showing Zuku (general entertainment and kids programmes). The TV in the bar (if you can find the bar - hidden round a corner) was able to show sports but was full of locals and staff watching the latest Election coverage and, with virtually no lighting, it didn't feel safe for my girlfriend and I to hang around. After one drink with the locals staring at us or shouting at the television, we fled to the relative safety of the room for an early night.

When the noise in the corridors died down (doors slamming, people shouting, running up and down the corrider - God knows what was going on out there), I got some sleep but was woken sporadically by motor cycle engines throughout the night and then totally immersed in the appalling traffic noise from 5.30 am onwards (on a Sunday!). It was like being trackside at Le Mans without any ear protection and it was continuous until about 9.30 am by which time the cleaners were out in the corridor having their AGM or something. The bedroom windows would need double or triple glazing to reduce the noise but the street noise and the corridor noise comes in from the bathroom vents and from the gap under the door so there's no chance of getting a quiet night's sleep. A horrible, scruffy, hotel which only gets 2 stars because the showers worked and it's next to a shopping centre which does good coffee (Java).

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jambo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dili
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed in a Deluxe room for 7000 KSH and was very happy. Very clean room with modern furniturea nd good located, next to Nackumat shopping center. The food was very good and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

First of all, this hotel is NOT located in Lake Nakuru National Park, as written in the adress. It is located in the center of Nakuru City.

A great place to stay for one night - remember to chose the rooms from 115 up to 130 as they are newly re-furbished and not worn out as the other rooms. Room rate is fair, even for non-residens in Kenya, as the rates are fixed on 7500 ksh. including breakfast.

The rooms are really nice (we stayed in room 115 the first time and 126 the next time) and clean, as are the bedsheats, floor, sofaes etc. However, as Nakuru City is located right upperside Lake Nakuru there is loads of mosquitos in the air 24/7 and for some reason the hotel have not updated the mosquito nets when re-furbishing the rooms!

Both times we stayed there, in different rooms, the mosquito nets were either broken, or not completly closed at the top - both me and my boyfriend woke up with several mosquito bites both time we stayed there.

For that reason alone, I would not stay there again - I think when running a hotel in a mosquito area, you should be really aware of this fact and when you on top of that, re-furbish the rooms, why not update the mosquito nets too?

The WiFi is good in the dining area outside but it is not working in the rooms, if that is because of the renovation going on I don't know. However it is really annoying when you think you have booked a place with WiFi.

The food is good - the toilets are clean - the rooms are clean and the breakfast is also good with a wide variety of food - but the mosquitonets.....!!

The hotel is located next to a big mall, where they make great pizzaes and where it is possible not to be the only "Mzungu" (white person) in town - for us a great break from rural Nandi County!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms from 115 to 130 as they are the ones in february 2013 that is newly re-furbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneLisToft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Last weekend (19th 01 2013) me and my friends went out to have drinks and swim at the hotel's pool, it also turned out to be my sweetheart's birthday. Imagine after spending a huge bill at the hotel they wouldn't let us to cut our cake, claiming it was from outside!!!!!!! What a bunch of un-understanding staff? We felt so let down!! No wonder it was on a weekend and there were no guests!!! Pull up your socks!! Worst PR ever experienced!!!!!!

ippoh03@gmail.com

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

The reception was fair. The place is lovely. The rooms were full so we got two mini deluxe at a deal and the stay was warm. I won't mind coming back!


The hot shower was awesome. Just like most places, you have to let the water run.

Lovely night!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
5.3 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.8 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#1 of 17 in Nakuru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Suites
Legacy Hotel & Suites
#6 of 17 in Nakuru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cathay Nakuru
Hotel Cathay Nakuru
#10 of 17 in Nakuru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hillcourt Resort & Spa
Hillcourt Resort & Spa
#2 of 17 in Nakuru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lake Nakuru Lodge
Lake Nakuru Lodge
#3 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru

Property: Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Address: West Road, Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing