We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thomson Falls Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Nyahururu B&B and Inns
Nakuru, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The location of the lodge is right in front of the beautiful Thompson's Falls but the service at the hotel is quite poor. Our tea was brought cold and the choice of food is pretty boring. Vegetarians can only hope for chips and perhaps a cheese sandwich. I would only go there for the view. If you can, take your own picnic and pay the minimum charges for using the grounds.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neelam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
12
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

There are two reasons for staying here - the proximity to the top of the Falls and the wood fire in the bedroom at night. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed ourselves.

The grounds are lovely to walk around and observe the flowers and bird life. We did the walk down to the bottom of the falls in the early morning to see the sun slowly lighting up the spray. It's only a bit tough because of the altitude and because I'm 66 years old and smoke too much. At that time there was no one around to tell you to take a guide [unnecessary] and the hawkers are not in position yet. They should be prevented from entering the paid area and restricted to outside the gate.

I don't think I've ever had a wood fire in my bedroom before and, like many guys, I really enjoyed gradually feeding the wood into it to keep it going through the evening.

The rooms are dated and this is reflected in the price - US$70 for two people with breakfast and dinner. The restaurant and bar are attractive too.

I will advise family and friends to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikecc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We did not stay at the Lodge but had Lunch on our way to Lake Naivasha. It has a beautiful location with an old world feel about it. The food was not good either in quality or quantity.
Can't say anything about the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prabharao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I enjoyed this place and have tried to return - turned up to find it fully booked! This hotel is old and a little ram shackle...the old bars are historic and dark but we enjoyed that. The setting is really nice - we walked to the bottom of the falls and also to the hippo pool. We had a room overlooking the garden and it had a lovely fireplace which they light around 7pm. The food was slightly better than the average Kenyan buffet - we ate it all up but it wasn't delicious. There are two bars/lounges next door to each other and we were annoyed that in both there was a TV blasting out - so loud! The same show was on in both rooms ( we were the only guests in either room) so we turned off one, so we could read, only to have it turned back on and turned up - by a member of staff! I then turned it off again only for it to be switched back on again...we gave up and went to the room! So apart from the staff being a bit unobservant we enjoyed this place. It's popular with expats who like the decent price, relaxing atmosphere and beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xemxija, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

If you find yourself stranded in a thunderstorm or run out of petrol this place is fine. If you plan to stay in luxury and comfort, I wouldn't. The location of this place is it's saving grace despite the hawkers that follow you around every step of the way trying to get you into the curio shops next to the falls. Bar had a welcome fire in it and prices OK although more expensive than other hotels in the area. Food was the local staple diet of fish, chicken, rice and peas, but not bland and tasted good. Mosquito nets in the rooms. Security of rooms dire i.e. we couldn't lock ours. Bathroom dreadful - more like a wet room with the toilet by the drain, so if you had to go in the middle of the night, remember your wellies!

Room Tip: Check the showers are working and the drain is clear. Ask for seperate toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Hutz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, AL
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed at the lodge in late fall of 2011. The rooms are fairly primitive, as the lodge is essentially converted from a huge old house. No Internet access, at least not when I was there, but there is a cafe in Nyahururu with good service and quite inexpensive. We were there on a mission trip, so we only spent the evenings at the lodge. Breakfast each morning was good as was our evening meal (included in the price we paid). Standard menu for the area, not unlike what you find in West Africa. Great view of the falls and located within a few minutes of the equator and the great rift valley. Also toured Lake Nakuru National Park which is about an hour away. Elevation is over 7000 ft, and there is a mountain range overlooking the region that we didn't get to explore. If one is going to stay in this area, Thomson Lodge is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed one night and really enjoyed it. The rooms are large and have a real log fire if you are cold in the evening - you just ask them to come and make for you. Clean and comfortable and part of Kenyan history. Beautiful building and surrounds, and some very friendly and helpful staff.

It's not perfect - don't expect that in rural Kenya - but they do a good job and it's the best place for the falls.

I didn't eat here as i prefer to go to local places, such as the joint just close to the gates. However, i did have a snack and tea in the restaurant, and breakfast the next morning, and it was nice.

I wish i had gone to see the hippos but i was feeling a little lazy. The touts and traders at the falls are annoying, but just suck it in and accept it for what it is; no big deal.

Room Tip: be nice to staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyahururu
0.3 mi away
The Panari Resort Nyahururu
The Panari Resort Nyahururu
#1 of 1 in Nyahururu
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Panari Resort Nyahururu
21.1 mi away
Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
#5 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
80 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Thomson Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomson Falls Lodge

Property: Thomson Falls Lodge
Address: Nyahururu Road, Nyahururu 20300, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Nyahururu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nyahururu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Thomson Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing