We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice oasis”
Review of Ashnil Aruba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice oasis”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a lovely place to stay. We had previously been to Masai Mara and did a tented camp, so this felt absolutely luxurious by comparison. There was still no a/c, only fans, but otherwise everything was great. We could see wild animals from our back patio area. There were dung beetles all over the property, which was interesting and not really bothersome. The views were great, the staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    193
    59
    6
    5
See reviews for
159
297
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place was a truly fantastic place to stay. Each room is spacious with a double bedroom, balcony and good sized ensuite bathroom. The best thing about the room is the balcony as it gives you a view into the national park only 20m away where animals are free to graze. The lodge is surrounded by watering holes and at night time if you are patient, you can see animals come to drink water. We watched three seperate herds of elephants come to the watering hole outside our room whilst we enjoyed a bottle of wine.

The food is a buffet for all three meals and it was a fairly good standard. The service was great with attentive waiters. Henry was particularly friendly and attentive when we arrived

Room Tip: Room 214 is directly in front of a watering hole and therefore had excellent views of animals at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dona K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I only stayed in the Ashnil Aruba Lodge for one night but that was enough time to have me raving about it! The lodge itself, from the reception desk to the dining room, to the hotel rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. The food was amazing. I was in Kenya for two weeks and the food I had here was, by far, the best! The views of the animals were so exciting. As we were eating lunch, a giraffe walked by. and while i was sitting on my little balcony in the evening, a heard of elephants came to the watering hole just yards away from me. (be sure to book room 214 because it has unobstructed views of the watering hole). Last but not least, the staff are amazing. I really enjoyed a staff member there named Henry! His personality is incredible and he made the visit so much more amazing. Hi Henry!

Room Tip: room 214 to be right near the watering hole which attracts wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

amazing ... I can describe simply everything as amazing. Place, staff, food, location ...

The staff were truly amazing. They had always smile on their faces and were so friendly.

Room ... large, clean, great looking, peaceful and near to waterhole.

Food ... delicious, well done.

This lodge has been recommended to us by JT Safaris and it was perfect choice.

I wish I could visit this place once more ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas-Oboril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice lodge to relax in after a day on safari. Location is in the park which saves some driving. Staff is friendly and attentive. Food was good and served buffet style for all meals. Makes it easy for vegetarians and when you're running short of time. Rooms were OK, clean and well kept. Not quite as well sound insulated as westerners might be used to. Beer was cold and plentiful :-). Watering hole nearby so lots of animals come by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The lodge is situated close to the Aruba dam so you get to see the animals up close. The dam was almost dried up so we only saw one water buck,a hippo and zebras. The rooms were clean,peaceful and you can sit outside your veranda and watch the game. The hotel staff were super helpful, the chef went out his way to prepare ugali for my daughter and it wasn't im the menu and after they had finished serving the kids menu. The rooms do not have a TV which was fine because you won't have the time to watch any. Very quiet environment for recharging.

any

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mghoi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky,USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The staff here is amazing. They made the trip special in so many ways. Times are tough in Kenya now with the recent spate of attacks and the tourism industry is suffering. Each and every member of the staff here thanked us in the most sincere ways possible to tell us what our visit meant to them. It brought tears to our eyes that their gratitude was so heartfelt. To that end, a visit to this wild part of Kenya will leave you changed and renewed. The park is enormous and as far as the eye can see you are surrounded by wilderness. A must.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelmagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park East
9.5 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
284 reviews
38.0 mi away
Kiboko Camp
Kiboko Camp
#2 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
148 reviews
17.4 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#6 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
371 reviews
41.2 mi away
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park East
22 reviews
17.7 mi away
Impala Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashnil Aruba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashnil Aruba Lodge

Property: Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Address: | Voi, Tsavo National Park East 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashnil Aruba Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashnil Aruba Lodge lies in the heart of Tsavo East National Park. The lodge comprises 46 deluxe ensuite guest rooms and 6 luxury tents. The lodge is situated on the shaded northern bank of the Voi River looking across the famous Aruba Dam. The Aruba Dam is one of the most notable landmarks in Tsavo East being a huge reservoir that is a major attraction for many animals and a rich bird life; there are over 200 bird species at Aruba. For those who love bird watching, our resident naturalist will take you on a guided tour through the park to learn the various bird species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ashnil Aruba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashnil Aruba Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Ashnil Aruba Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing