We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“MAGICAL!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ithumba Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park East
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ithumba Camp
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“MAGICAL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is one of the most incredible places I could ever imagine. What the David Sheldrick Trust is doing for Elephants is truly heroic. To see it first hand was life changing. This camp is everything you imagine for an African experience. So beautiful. I can't recommend it enough. And to support the Sheldricks is paramount.
Kristin Bauer van Straten

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KristinBauervS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

I stayed three nights at Ithumba Camp, June 2010. I found the experience unforgettable. The camp is extremely isolated. Tents are on the slightly modest side (not for me, just compared to some of the over-the-top contraptions that seem to be required by people going on safari) but functional and very, very comfortable. Bathrooms are lovely with open-air showers. The staff, Kimwele, Josephat and Njage, are top-notch and go above and beyond in every thinkable way.

The camp is self-catering.

The draw here of course is the elephant experience available to guests of the camp. The other posts here on TA have described it better than I could, but suffice it to say that if you are interested in the reintroduction of orphan elephants back into the wild from the Sheldrick nursery in Nairobi, Ithumba is for you. Quiet, peaceful and far from the madding crowds of other parks, here the focus is on the orphans, their committed keepers and the impressive Tsavo sky.

Traditional game is unpredictable/scarce and skittish, though I was more than satisfied with what we saw. Many dik diks, some kudu, baboons, a cheetah from very far away, lion tracks, leopard sounds at night, bat-eared foxes, terrific! birding, and more. Don't come here expecting the Mara, Nogorongoro Crater, etc. But come, recalibrate your expectations, and enjoy the peace, the quiet and the elephants.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SFLeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

We have supported the Sheldrick Orphanage for some time, mainly by the Adoption of one or two Orphans. A chance Email exchange led to plans for a visit but our Orphan was now out in the remote north of Tsavo East National Park.
We learned that it was possible to visit but the only place to stay was Ithumba Camp on a self catering basis. This sounded ominous but we decided to do it. As the previous reviewer has said Ithumba is at the end of a very long dusty drive some 7 hours from Nairobi. There is an airstrip so "Fly In" is possible but as you will need transport on arrival there seems little point to this unless time is really precious. You then send the car on ahead together with the necessary supplies. You rent the whole Camp so there is an element of exclusivity which is very nice. Payment is direct to the Sheldrick HQ on behalf of the Kenya Wildlife Service. On arrival our minimal concerns totally vanished. What a fantastic place!
The tents are some of the best I have ever seen and the Lapa is superb on two stories served by spiral staircase. We DID get that promised view of Kilimanjaro one evening.
The whole thing is set in nice grounds where there is prevalent wildlife and many species of birds. The Tsavo scenery is simply splendid with rocky hills and deep green bush under a deep blue African sky. Game is hard to find but we found Elephant, Buffalo, Zebra, Kudu, Impala, Jackal and Warthog. We lost count of the Dik Diks. Are there really that many in the whole of Africa??
There are Lions, Leopard and Wild Dog but we never got close to these. We understand that they are often encountered drinking from the Stockade tanks in dry season which must make for an interesting life. Ithumba would be a nice place even without its 'piece de resistance'! The Orphans.
We were told that "The access to the Elephants is unique!" That must be like saying the Sahara has some sandy bits. It was fantastic! As described you can join in the morning feed and also join in the fun at the midday bath and mud wallow. Lock up is at 5.00 pm. If you are really lucky you can spend time in the Bush with the 'herd' as they feed and do their Elephant things. These chaps are not babies any more and stand quite tall so care is required not to get stood on. They are so gentle that they would not mean to harm you but accidents could happen.
We had five nights in Ellie Heaven so by the end of the stay we knew most Orphans by sight and more importantly we had been accepted as part of the team.

  • Liked — Perfect camp built in a perfect location. The Ellies were a bonus.
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

I recently visited the elephants at the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust Ithumba Unit, and stayed at the Ithumba Camp. The camp is situated in the Tsavo East National Park (Northern area), and is remote and wild. We loved the peace and serenity of such a remote place (you are literally the only tourists for hundreds of kms), and the surrounding terrain is stunning.

The camp sleeps up to 6 guests (3x twin bed tents with outdoor ensuite toilet and solar powered hot shower with a view of the surrounding hills- just delightful!). There is a kitchen, and a 2-storey dining/lounge room complex which has many day beds, lounges and bean bags scattered around. The camp is fully booked for each group (ie you pay the same amount for 1 person or 6), and bookings are only taken through the Sheldricks (see the website for contact details www.sheldrickwildlifetrust.org). You must bring all of your own food and water and do your own cooking, and there are 3 staff members who help with boiling water/basic cooking tasks, setting the table, washing up, making the beds and cleaning.

The keepers let you know when you can visit the orphan elephants- for milk feed and the midday mudbath. Meeting these happy healthy baby elephants was a highlight of our trip, they are so beautiful and full of personality. The keeper who looked after us was Abdul, who was very welcoming and very nice, he made sure we had a wonderful experience meeting the elephants.

I would highly recommend visiting the Ithumba Camp if you love nature (due to the dense vegetation and the remote location of this national park, do not expect to see wildlife at the side of the road as you would in a tourist park). The camp is also the only opportunity to visit the elephant orphans at Ithumba as there is no other accommodation around. We thoroughly enjoyed the camp and the visit to the Sheldricks, and would love to visit again.

  • Liked — very comfortably set up, beautiful views from the lounge area, very peaceful location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank catwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park East
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.0 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
#1 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ithumba Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ithumba Camp

Property: Ithumba Camp
Address: Northern area, Tsavo National Park East, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ithumba Camp Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Ithumba Camp Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing