We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
104
28
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
28
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverresident elephantgame drivesmariocoastnairobicamphippostentstsavobankwildlifegalanaguidelodgevegetariangate
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I fell in-love with this camp. Absolutely amazing setting. Everywhere you look is beautiful and peaceful. We were quite lucky to be one of two couples staying there for one night. The tents are spacious, clean and the beds comfortable. The bathrooms are great too. The decor is simple, but really that is just perfect! The luxury is when you step outside of your tent and experience the beauty of the place and the Galana river. The staff were simply great! Everyone very friendly and helpful. Peter was very knowledgeable about the fauna. He helped me look for tracks by the river bed and made my stay very special when he introduced me to Mario one of the resident elephants who likes to hang around camp. (Always of course keeping our distance and respecting the elephant's space). The food was out of this world!. Sitting by the river for lunch was very nice and dinner in the restaurant was unforgettable. We chose to sit together with the other travelers and chat. Lovely service and evening. I cannot wait to come back and stay longer. Magical place; blends in with nature; amazing location.

Iva Goula & Graeme Black

Room Tip: We had tent number 4. Quiet, perfect, great sleep.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borntoexplore333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you thorougly enjoed your stay with us
and we wish to thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were there in October and heading back in 2 weeks. It is a mandatory stop for all people who visit us in Kenya. The setting is divine, the food is amazing and the service is extremely attentive. Tents were simple but immaculate but with good bathrooms. This camp is a jewel and a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, we hope to see again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed one night here last year and really enjoyed it. The setting is beautiful, on the banks of the river, with elephants wandering through the camp. The tents are simple, but have everything you could need. Lunch was ok, but at dinner hit a much higher level; extremely tasty, well prepared italian cuisine, served on the terrace. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments, which are very much apprecieted, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Thomas, Peter, Philip; '''mario,tusker&?""- my frequent returns to Epiya Chapeyu just says how much I love this camp, and being welcomed by the above! Arrived for lunch, so while enjoying a cold Tusker watching one of 'our' elie friends take a completely submerged bath in the Galana R. a Leopard wanders over the far bank, and slumps down under the Acacia. Unbeleivable. In May , possibly spotted same cat lying on rocks at Crocodile Point. How cool is that!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Jambo,
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave your feed back on Tripadvisor. It is very
much appreciated , and we are ever so happy that you saw the leopard ! . The leopard is
seen quite often in the middle of the night walking across the dry river bed in front of some
of the tents ; although one has to be an insomniac to see this. So absolutely great that you
saw it in broad daylight ! We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed the night of 29th October. My Husband and I were the only two people in the camp and we were treated like royalty. Lunch served facing the river, dinner and breakfast on the terrace with a fantastic spread served by Peter and his colleagues. Elephants roaming around the camp and staff could not do enough for us. An absolute paradise and highly recomend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvey132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Jambo! Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on tripadvisor. Nothing pleases us more than to know that we made your stay with us such a good one! We will be passing on your comments to Peter and the rest of the team whom we know will be extremely delighted to hear that they made your stay with us such a special one! We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews