We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Epiya Chapeyu
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park East
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Sentrim Tsavo East(Tsavo National Park East)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kiboko Camp(Tsavo National Park East)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ngulia Safari Lodge(Tsavo National Park West)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
103
28
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
28
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini pizzagalana riverresident elephantbeautiful settingfour nightsgame drivesan amazing experienceout of this worldmariocoasttuskernairobicamphipposbushtentsluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I visited Epiya Chapeyu Tented Lodge (Tsavo East) last weekend with friends to meet Mario..the wild elephant who is a frequent visitor. Been to several game parks but never seen an elephant so close. Loved the camp, amazing food, awesome staff and enjoyed simplicity of this location.

This camp is very simple. You would feel like you have gone camping only to have clean bathrooms with nice hot water in the evening to shower. We went for morning drive but due to the tranquility of this place and els Mario we decided to spend our afternoons at the campsite. They serve the best home cooking italian food. Loved the ravioli and gnocchi. I will visit Epiya Chapeyu very soon again.

Room Tip: stay back at the camp to enjoy Mario
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for choosing Bigi Camp.We are pleased to hear that Mario popped in to say hello! Please come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The pre-dinner mini-pizzas are to die for, and the perfect complement to the place, the river, the wildlife ... just make sure that you stop at six! Depending on your perspective, the nocturnal visits by elephants scratching their backs on the makuti roofs over the tents will either be fascinating or cause enough for you to hide under the bed (for whatever that would be worth).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your review and recommedations. We sincerely hope you will come back to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This family run old world safari camp is located on a magical riverside site frequented by herds of elephant.Simple but clean accommodation, tremendous food with an Italian flavour, marvellous staff and a laid back feel. Great value for money .We stayed there 11-13th March 2014.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumoKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our camp and for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I fell in-love with this camp. Absolutely amazing setting. Everywhere you look is beautiful and peaceful. We were quite lucky to be one of two couples staying there for one night. The tents are spacious, clean and the beds comfortable. The bathrooms are great too. The decor is simple, but really that is just perfect! The luxury is when you step outside of your tent and experience the beauty of the place and the Galana river. The staff were simply great! Everyone very friendly and helpful. Peter was very knowledgeable about the fauna. He helped me look for tracks by the river bed and made my stay very special when he introduced me to Mario one of the resident elephants who likes to hang around camp. (Always of course keeping our distance and respecting the elephant's space). The food was out of this world!. Sitting by the river for lunch was very nice and dinner in the restaurant was unforgettable. We chose to sit together with the other travelers and chat. Lovely service and evening. I cannot wait to come back and stay longer. Magical place; blends in with nature; amazing location.

Iva Goula & Graeme Black

Room Tip: We had tent number 4. Quiet, perfect, great sleep.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borntoexplore333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you thorougly enjoed your stay with us
and we wish to thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were there in October and heading back in 2 weeks. It is a mandatory stop for all people who visit us in Kenya. The setting is divine, the food is amazing and the service is extremely attentive. Tents were simple but immaculate but with good bathrooms. This camp is a jewel and a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, we hope to see again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews