We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Fences!”
Review of Ndololo Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park East
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ndololo Camp
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I booked this camp based on the fact it had no fences and animals were free to come and go. When we arrived were greeted with a refreshing cold face cloth and drink. We were shown to our tent which was really very nice, two single beds but we didn’t mind. Well they are slightly wider than a single bed. There is a shower and proper toilet in your tent and plenty of room.

We were in January which is the hottest month, and boy was it hot. Our guide reckoned easily 45 Celsius, maybe hotter. There was no wind and you couldn’t escape the heat, even in the shade it was unbearable. A pool would have come in handy here but my wife had a couple of cold showers to keep her cool. There was tonnes of wildlife around, from comical hornbills to boisterous baboons, crazy insects and lots of other animals and birds. The tents are situated around the watering hole, although there wasn’t much water there when we were there. There were some big beetles that kept trying to fly into our tent and around us but you soon get used to all that.

Lunch was nice, a few choices. We went for an evening game drive and came back when it got dark. Evening meal was again very nice and a few different choices. The camp fire was already roaring away ready for the evening stories. Unfortunately we were that shattered after all the driving that we didn’t last long and soon went to bed. One mistake I made was leaving the light on in the tent when going to dinner. When we came back the tent was full of mozzies, and other insects like crickets followed us, but that all added to the experience. Luckily the mozzie nets are very good and we had an unbitten stay.

The advise we were given was ‘do not leave your tent once the generator has been turned off’, this keeps certain animals away (Lions!) We were woken up by the deep roar of what we believe to be a lion, and other amazing sounds of different animals calling in the night. I would love to go back in an instant. Didn’t sleep much for all the animal noises but I didn’t care, you are in the middle of the bush with no fences, and 2mm of canvas between you and the outside world!

You won’t regret going here and will have an amazing unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Turn your light off when going for evening meal or it will be full of insects and Mozzies when you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WillEmily562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

my husband and I spent the last night of 2011 at ndololo camp. we desired something special to celebrate the new year and we got it! the tent was very simple - weak light, little water in the shower, outworn bed sheet - but comfortable. what we appreciated most was the atmosphere and the kindness of the staff. the food was ok, too.
we really suggest ndololo camp to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed for one night on the first day of a 4 day safari and Ndololo was a great plunge into Safari life. After all, it is just a tent in the bushes. :) The tents however are built on solid grounds and all have ensuite washing facilities. The food was exceptionally good and drinks' prices were also ok. It is a pleasantly small camp that will give you just the right Safari feeling (with most amenities that you can ask for).

Two pleas for future guests: Please keep the tents zipped closed. A lot of people leave them open and the next guest will have fun with any critters that might have come in... Please do NOT feed the baboons. A guy working there told us they are all astounded that so many tourists do not fear the really big baboons that sometimes roam the camp (especially during lunch and dinner, of course). The more you feed them the more demanding they become and this is when they will start to be a real hassle (and dangerous).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is as close to the wild as one gets. the camp is rustic, but very clean, with comfortable beds, and a working shower! the staff are very , very friendly and go out of their way to provide what you need ! on all three days after our game drive, we were visited by lots of elephants coming to the water hole at the camp. they walk right passed us, about 3m away. the second night 2 giraffe walked passed. a huge troop of baboons visit every day after lunch for a few hours, which provided great entertainment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janee149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I chose it because I wanted to be out in the nature as much as possible with three young children.
It was better than expected. Clean tents, with shower/toilet/basin in the tent.
A babboon came to finish the remains of some cookies the children ate at the balcony.

At night, windows 'open' and looking at the silhouettes of animals in the bushes, listening to the sounds of the night. Elephants were at close range, but the sturdy wooden framework around the tent gives security. An experience I'll never forget, and about the best of the safari.
Stayed two nights, wish to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeyFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Firstly I stayed at the public campsite not the tented camp. I understand the tented camp is approx $140 per double which I think represents good value.
The public campsie is next door and for a fee you are able to eat at the tented camp.
Firstly the tented camp.....well its basic but its a good flat ground to pitch a tent. There are loads of babboons but they are scared off if you carry a stcik. Be sensible and dont leave food around.
The washroom facilities are basic and have no lights. They have a special door which is supposed to stop babboons entering..... No hot water but otherwise it was fine for basic camping,
We ate at the tented camp for dinner and breakfast. The staff were amazing, extremely friendly and helpful. they kept cooking and providing more and more food as it was required and there was a great variety.
They have fire pit with logs all around for seating at night - great for a proper camp fire. A maasai selling trinkets but most amazingly it overlooks a waterhole. There are no fences or gates to this so you really are in the middle of Tsavo park. There were elephants feeding in the morning which was lovely to see.
A word of warning...
We decided to walk back to our campe after dinner and luckily were guided by a Maasai. I kik you not he was walking along pointing his torch straight ahead, he swung to the left and there was a lion 4metres away!! The lion then stalked us to the car and the Maasai chased it away. Needless to say we lit a fire and got straight into our tents. It came back in the night as the babboons were making a lot of noise to tell us. Its great to stay here but remember you are in an African game park

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariepuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Ndololo camp is located inside the Tsavo East National Park. This camp does not have any electric fence, hence, it offers the true meaning of camping in the wilderness with a a comfortable bed and toilets. There were 2 wild elephants who dropped by while I was having my lunch. Meals are served in buffet style and it is average in my opinion. Unfortunately, while I was there, there were italians who were very selfish and very LOUD acting as if they had the place to themselves. Other than that, the staff are very helpful and very nice. Since it's out in the wildnerness, there is a maasai man who can walk with you as a guard at night to your camp after dinner. It is not as luxurious as the other tented camps, but it offers hot shower, comfortable beds and flushable toilet and if you like to go to sleep serenaded with the sounds of the wild, then this camp is right for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsavo National Park East hotels
2.6 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
346 reviews
48.8 mi away
Kiboko Camp
Kiboko Camp
#2 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
148 reviews
21.7 mi away
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
#1 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
576 reviews
3.6 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#5 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
409 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndololo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndololo Camp

Address: Tsavo East National Park | 7km from Voi gate, Tsavo National Park East, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Ndololo Camp Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing