We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views”
Review of Voi Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Voi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We went on a safari to Tsavo East & West booked with JT Safaris & stayed at this lodge while we were in Tsavo East. As is usual for Kenya; the staff & people were extremely friendly & helpful. The food was basic, but adequate & quite edible. The dining area looks out over the vast plains & watering hole. We saw plenty of elephant & baboons playing there. There is a fantastic viewing tunnel going under the ground close to the watering hole where you can see all the animals close up, but be warned there are lots of steps to get down, so not really for people with limited mobility. The rooms very very clean & beds comfortable. We did our safari with JT Safaris & had great service & a mini bus all to ourselves. We noticed a lot of other safari companies had their mini buses with 6 or 7 people in & looking a bit cramped, but Julius prides himself on giving you the personal safari with just you & your driver/guide, so you get personal attention & his drivers are always very knowledgeable & seem to have eyes that spot any animals miles away!! I would highly recommend both Voi Lodge & JT Safaris.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hookedonkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

The welcome you receive at this lodge is outstanding.The views from this place are totally breathtaking. The viewing point by the watering hole left me speechless. Really a special place. Rooms are very nice apart from teeny tiny bugs, but what do you expect in the middle of a safari park?! Food was nice and the wildlife amazing. Would recommend to everyone with out a doubt! Oh and not a single monkey issue...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieMaria28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Hoteli is in park, not outside, so there is short distance to see animals
From the hotel is a great view to a water pit, where you can see diffrent kind of animals, like elephants, buffalos etc. There is also "viewing tunnel" where you can see animals at close range.
Rooms were small, but clean - no aircon. The place was a little bit out dated. Staff was friendly. Food wasn´t bad but not good either. Drinks were overpriced. .Pool is quit small, but the view..., from the restaurant is also view to a water hole.
The hotel is not the best, but ok. Location is good and animals are the reason to visit at east tsavo.

Room Tip: there is better view from the second floor. Be aware of monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This was the first leg of our three day safari with Pollmans - I knew we would have to rough it but there is roughing it and roughing it - this was a step too far !
Rock hard beds , a mozzie net that had seen better days, a fan that was plugged into the wall on two pins with a nail stuck into the third pin to make it work - a fire waiting to happen (Room 17)
I read that it had been re-furbed by the last reviewer - where ??? Please tell me where ??
The linens were old, beds hard , one pillow per person that was also dilapidated and old and smelly - just the worst place I have stayed on my many travels , really, the very worst !
The food was inedible and you couldn't actually identify what it was on the plate . The restaurant was so dark (maybe it was a blessing) it was hard to see what you were eating. Drinks were also very overpriced - £8 for two waters and two Cokes was daylight robbery .


The views may have been magnificent but there was no wildlife there in the rainy season (April) to view apart from the delightfully coloured lizards and a few baboons around the watering hole .

The floors in reception which were highly polished rock were downright dangerous they were so slippery and you had to walk very carefully across them .

The pool was a welcome addition as it had been a long drive to the Voi but it needs a good clean and new sunbeds as they were very old and tatty and some had no padded mattresses on them .

Not a very nice experience overall - I would try and avoid at all costs .

Room Tip: Not sure that there is one - maybe some have been refurbed but can't tell you which ones as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 55something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Was pleasantly surprised at how fresh the place looks since last visit.
Views are spectacular.
Food was fine. Rooms were clean and adequate. Staff were excellent.
Layout is good and bars very relaxing (drinks are expensive but no more than any other Lodges).
Enjoyed a dip in the pool - water was clean and refreshing.
I will go back here later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westwoodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Only stayed briefly but really enjoyed it . Great views, good food, friendly atmosphere, cool pool. Watch out for orangatun coming off the roof to pinch your lunch, whilst unique and amusing , a bit scary

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The place is very nicely located from the Voi Gate. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and all have a view that is excellent overlooking the plains. The last time i was there, we had some car trouble on the way to the lodge. The person in charge called and i explained to him the issue and he informed the wardens at the gate who actually were at the gate until midnight waiting for us. A big thanks to them. The whole restaurant team was also waiting to serve us the 'very late dinner'. Although we got there late but it was worth it. The service was just excellent... I dont mind going there again and again... :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zulfikar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park East
8.2 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
316 reviews
24.6 mi away
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
2.7 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#6 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
645 reviews
57.1 mi away
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
Eco-Lodge Kuwinda Tented Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park East
23 reviews
2.7 mi away
Impala Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voi Safari Lodge

Address: Tsavo Safari Camp East, Tsavo National Park East 30471, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Price Range: £88 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Voi Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Voi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voi Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Voi Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing