We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Voi Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I agree with what the reviewer wrote, the location of this hotel is amazing but the rooms are very small and got extremely hot, you cannot leave your window open because of the baboons,When we arrived at the hotel we had lunch which was very good but the evening meal was cold and very unappetising also the restaurant was very dark.This hotel needs a lot of money spending on to bring it up standard we would not choose to stay there again one night was enough!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happytravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

You cant fault the location which is great perched on top of the mountain overlooking the plains. The chances of seeing leopard at the watering hole at night are very high. Staff are friendly and attentive.The accommodation is akin to 2 star and really needs some tlc. probably their last refurb was 1970's No aircon and basic furnishings with worn out bedding and towels. Food very average in the open air restaurant so expect quite a few visitors of the bug variety to join you which is funny if you don't mind the dive bombing dung beetle landing in the centre of your table as an uninvited guest. Expected much more of this lodge.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Set near one of the gates to the Tsavo East Safari park, this is a beautifully appointed hotel.
The rooms are set in 2-storey terraced buildings spread throughout the beautifully kept grounds. You have a comfortable bed or beds, hot showers, and (I had) a terrace overlooking the park. There is also a swimming pool and sun loungers. All you need to make you relax after a hard day animal spotting on safari. There is Wi-Fi in reception. And a shop for the little things you forgot to bring.

The food is ample and of very good quality and variety at all meals – all are buffet-style. There is a very comfortable and beautifully furnished bar area for after dinner drinks. But the big surprise awaits you just outside the bar area, in the evening, as the animals may come right up to the safety fence. So you can enjoy your after dinner drink or tea or coffee while watching elephants taking an evening stroll.

Hard to believe the quality you are getting, out here in the wild

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrrlstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here one night and that was enough.

Room was like a run down 70s motel. Not clean and very, very tired.

At dinner they virtually ran out of food by the time we ate, admittedly we didn't rush in to the dining room, but sitting down 45 minutes after opening, when there's a 2 hour window, thee should be some choice left. I asked if there was any more chicken as only 3 bits there for 6 of us, and then the chef appeared at our table asking what the problem was...

From speaking with others who stayed at different lodges this seemed to be the poorest one.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. This lace needs serious attention
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huw C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for 1 night during our 2 day Safari. The views are out of the world, truly spectacular! We had lunch, dinner and breakfast, and enjoyed every meal. The room, though basic was clean and comfortable. The shower worked well, and we both had a great nights sleep in these peaceful surroundings.. We didn't use the pool, although we spoke to a couple who did,and found it very refreshing. Sitting sipping a cold beer while watching the many animals at the watering hole, looking out over the Savannah was a special experience, I would stay here again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view, with a great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank softcell46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We slept at Voi Safari lodge for one night during our safari. There are a few pro's, but unfortunaltely more cons. I wouldn't recommend this place.

Pro's:
-Great view! The waterholes are a great attraction to thirsty animals and the view of the landscape is magnificent!
-Beds are fine and the view from the room is just as nice as from the restaurant.
-It has a nice swimming pool if you want to relax in the afternoon.

Cons:
-The food is poor. Very poor. Very limited. If you want to have some sauce to go with your tasteless pasta, you have to burn your fingers, otherwise there is no possibility to remove the hot cover of the saucepan. Just small details, but not a nice experience.
-No view in the morning. The view is the only nice thing about Voi Safari Camp, but in the morning they place a wall so the guests will sit nearer to the breakfast and the staff won't have to walk that far. So instead of having a great view, you can sit and watch a brown wall. Not my idea of a solution.
-Dirty rooms. The rooms should really be looked at. My bed had dirt all over the headboard. It looked like a gentleman had been having a 'several good times'. I asked to clean that up. At first, the were not very willing. Then I showed them the picture and they made up excuses like it could have been milk, someone vomited against the headboard or something. When I returned to my room they told me it was vanisher they forgot to wipe out. Yeah, let's hope that was it.
But also the mirrors were very dirty, there were red splashes in the bathroom (blood? Paint, although I saw no red paint used in the room?), the floor was unpleasent to walk on with bare feet (so dirty) and the mosquito net didn't close. Little flies kept us company during the night, on our pillow. The rooms were very noisy, conversations of the neighbours in the room next door were easy to follow.
-Staff is unfriendly. They look like Voi Safari Camp is the worst place to work and are not very nice to the guests.

There are nicer lodges to stay for the same amount of money. Don't go here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Denise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The lodge has beautiful views across to the plains where we had been viewing lions earlier. It is a little tired, our toilet didn't seem to flush well and the shower was cold. There is a pool but it didn't look very clean and the chairs/beds have seen better days.
There is a viewing area and water hole, which we saw elephants visit, which is excellent. There are hyraxes around the lodge which are like a large cute rat without a tail! The reason we have marked this as a 3 is because the food was quite poor. It is buffet style but tasteless, the worse food we ate whilst in Kenya.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park East
8.2 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
347 reviews
24.6 mi away
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
53.6 mi away
Kiboko Camp
Kiboko Camp
#2 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
682 reviews
2.7 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#4 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
409 reviews
0 mi away
Impala Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voi Safari Lodge

Address: Tsavo Safari Camp East, Tsavo National Park East 30471, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Price Range: £112 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Voi Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Voi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voi Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Voi Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing