We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
300
43
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
43
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolone nighttsavo westgame driveslunch and dinnersafari campmzima springsfriendly and professional staffexcellent vegetarianan unforgettable experiencemasai guideafter darkgin and tonicgood nights sleepwatch the wildlifenatural environmentdream come true
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here with my wife and children (aged 6 and 8) and had a great three night stay. We have lived in Tanzania for 5 years and decided to spend some time in Tsavo as the cost of a Kenyan safari is considerably cheaper than in Tanzania. We were not disappointed - our children loved the swimming pool and a short walking safari with a Masai guide. Other highlights included a bush lunch, massage by the pool and sundowners at Poachers lookout watching the sun set next to Mt Kilimanjaro! The rooms are excellent and each has a water hole out in front. The best time of the year to visit is in the dry season as the animals are scattered during the wet season as there is water available everywhere.
I rated the sleep quality as very good because the birds will give you an early morning wake up cal!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view towards Mt Kilimanjaro - best to see in the earl AM or late PM
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarrodd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We had such a marvellous stay at Severin, that we decided to incorporate a second visit into our trip to Kenya. It is a truly memorable place with fantastic food. On our first trip we were lucky to be eating breakfast and out of the early morning mist appeared a giraffe and a zebra, feeding off the foliage - a really great image, forever in my mind. We also experienced an amazing overnight storm with lightening like nothing I have ever seen before all enhanced by the fact that there is no light pollution.
Whilst in the tents in the evening we were watching zebra feeding by moonlight quite close to our tent. Would highly recommend and they have wi-fi!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsw4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

After being spoiled in the Tortilis Camp we were wondering what the Severin Camp would bring us. It was excellent. After a safe fist night in tents we were relaxed about the fact that there is are no fences around the camp and that you get an escort to bring you to your tent at night.
We stayed 2 nights and almost every time we went to the lobby/restaurant we saw different animals at the pools (there are 3 at about 30m from the tents/restaurant/lobby) -> Giraffes, Oryx, Zebra, Hyena, etc... In the pool at 20-30m of our tent there even is a crocodile and it caught an Impala the night before, so great to see the crocodile 'taking care' of it (and that's what probably brought the hyena's in the camp)
This is the real experience !
Also the food (except the bread which tasted like being a bit old) was very good -> You get a 'à la carte' choice between different startes, 2 kinds of soup, different main courses and deserts + the african menu. We tried the Kenian wine which was not bad at all.
Small but nice & very clean swimming pool.
Certainly worth stopping here if you want the experience between the animals.
As is the case in every tent camp at this period of the year, the warm nights are part of the experience.

Room Tip: I think every tent has a + and a - We were close to the 'crocodile' pool and saw the giraff walking by to get to the pool close to the restaurant -> On the other side, being close to the restaurant means you have some noise early morning when they prepare breakfast.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelopvakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed at Severin in November 2010 - just over two years on and the memories are still good. The location of the lodge is superb. We were very lucky, or it's ideally placed, as we saw a pride of lion early on each morning's game drive. Leopard too and of course, elephants, zebra, Vervet monkeys, baboon and so on.
The food was very good, particularly the sweet potato soup...perfect starter! The team there are very attentive and the surroundings are lovely. What was particularly lovely as you walk through reception to the bar area are the Spectacled Weavers who have taken up residence. Could you get any closer to wildlife? Their constant chatter, dancing and general showing off whilst you sip a cool beer, or gin and tonic made perfect entertainment.
Unfortunately, there was a mix up on our stay with the accommodation and we were moved to their overspill camp - there the accommodation was a little basic and not what we'd hoped for. (Hence the average score on sleep quality/rooms) But we were well catered for, our own private camp fire lit for us outside, and a bottle of bubbles too. This didn't stop us from enjoying the pool - perfect after a long hot game drive.
Would we go back - yes. We've stayed in a few lodges around Tsavo East and West, this was our favourite in West.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heaths99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We went on a four day, three night safari. This was our only camp. Brilliant experience. However, I preferred the safari lodges we stayed in afterwards. The wildlife is brilliant. The atmosphere great. The food however - was, quite simply, BAD! The worst food we had during our 2 week trip to Kenya. If you're a vegetarian - do not stay here! However, if you're not worried about the food - and want the 'glamping' then it's great - for one night. Oh and if you or any member of your group have a cpap machine - tell them immediately on check in as they turn the electric off from 11pm until 5am! They can arrange for the power to stay on for you. Overall - great experience and, I'm really happy we did it - but possibly, not the best camp.

Room Tip: Do not expect air conditioning in any of the camps or lodges on safari! Accept the beautiful glamorous tent but I don't recommend more than one night here. There's nicer places to stay whilst out on safari with far far far better food.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews