We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
303
45
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
45
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool one night tsavo west game drives lunch and dinner safari camp mzima springs friendly and professional staff excellent vegetarian an unforgettable experience masai guide after dark gin and tonic good nights sleep watch the wildlife natural environment dream come true
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We had 2 nights at Severin as part of a flying safari. The camp is quite beautiful and we were treated to an upgrade for our anniversary which made our stay even more memorable but I'm sure all the accommodation is equally luxurious. It's a little larger than most of the camps we stayed in but lodges are all private and beautifully positioned to look over one of the many waterholes. There are many and varied animals visiting day and night so you certainly get that back to nature experience plus each of the game drives provided something new and exciting. Food and service are both excellent. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Jambo, dear Deborah R.

We are sending you many greetings from Kenya to Australia.
Thank you for your feedback. I’m happy you enjoyed a wonderful and exiting anniversary here with us on safari at Severin Safari Camp. You are most welcome for the upgrade given, glad you enjoyed the private atmosphere.

Deborah, yesterday at Dinner time we had 3 lions hunting within the camp, as well later on a group of 17 elephants were seen at the water hole. It is always amazing to watch this, being so close to nature. Thank you, too, for your compliments about food & service, which I certainly will share with our team.

It was our pleasure to welcoming and hosting you.

Best & Warm Regards,

Manja Seifert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

We were received with friendliness and professionalisme. The staff and manager did all to make us feel welcome and ensure we had a good stay. I celebrated my birthday at the camp and was surprised by a delicious cake presented with song and dance.
The tents and setting are truly out of this world and we could just sit on our veranda and watch the wildlife all around. Security is excellent as (when dark) guards escort one from tent to central area and back as wildlife is free to roam. The nature walk was very good with our Masai guide. He explained about the animals and the clues they leave behind. Also he knew a lot about the medicinal properties of the plants and trees. Kenbali spa and pool area are very good and enjoyable to spend some hours there. The meals and bar service are 5 star and there is a lot to choose from as well as an excellent vegetarian menu.
Game drives in and around the area are excellent. Mzima Springs, Chaimu crater, Shetani lava flow and Poachers Lookout added points of interest.
We stayed for 3 nights but that was far too short! So this means that we will have to go back soon....

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MalaikaSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear MalaikaSafaris,

Thanks a lot for your great review here on Tripadvisor.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It's indeed great to listen to the sound of nature and just watch the wildlife surrounding the camp.
Next time you should stay a couple of days longer, we will be happy to welcome you again soon!

Best regards

Manja Seifert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

After a long search I chose Severin Camp. Everything was well organized, a good driver and guide. Accommodation was over expectations and very friendly and professional staff. I have seen many animals and everything was so amazing. If I could change something would be 5 days in safari (I stayed only 3 days).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PuscasM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Jambo!
Dear Puscas M.

I’m hoping my reply finds you well. It was a great pleasure hosting you here with us.
I’m happy to read, that you enjoyed your 3 days on safari with us so much that you would have loved to extend. Maybe next time, who knows..?

Thank you for the compliments of our friendly and professional staff.
The camp is not fenced and betted in between the famous Mzima Springs and the rough Tsavo River, which gives our guests a perfect safari feeling, watching the animals grazing close by and listening to the sound of the wilderness at night.

Thank you Puscas M. see you next time.

Best & Warm Regards,

Manja Seifert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

A special place, I had all the facilities of a 5 star hotel. The three days of safari have been an unforgettable experience. Meeting with so many animals was great .To see them so close and in their natural environment is a unique sensation .

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Jambo!
Dear Adina P.

Our whole Camp Team is sending you sunny greetings from the wilderness of Tsavo West to Langen in Germany. It was a pleasure to welcoming and hosting you here with us for 3 days.

Indeed it is so special and a sensation, coming that close with our mother nature and the wild animals. This is the concept of Severin, to be out here and to get this unique, authentic, amazing feeling of Africa. Just to be one with nature. Using and being aware of your senses again. True Africa! So wonderful.

Thank you for staying with us and experiencing this fantastic Safari feeling with us.

Best & Warm Regards,

Manja Seifert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

A Safari Camp with very high standard in all aspects. The tents are spacious and very clean. The surrounding area is nature pure with fantastic views on Waterholes, Chyulu Hills and Kilimanjaro. Service is fantastic, well trained and extremely friendly staff assist you with all your need. Food is fantastic and comes in a very good variety. Bar is well stocked, with a good selection of wines and spirits. Wish they would have a better choice of Gin, to enjoy the sun downer drink with a good Gin and Tonic.
The Lodge is easy to reach in about 2 hours from Mitito Andei even during wet season.

Room Tip: All tents have fantastic views and facing a waterhole.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BRUNO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Jambo.
Dear Bruno.

It was our pleasure to welcoming and hosting you here with us again.
Thank you for your feedback, a good bottle of Gin at our Bar Stock is well noted!

I appreciate, that you enjoyed our clean tents, fantastic views, wild area, great food and service at Severin Safari Camp.

Take care, Bruno, see you again.
With many greetings from all of us.

Best & Warm Regards,

Manja Seifert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews