We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 night stay in March 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lions Bluff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lions Bluff Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“3 night stay in March 2014”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Simply stunning location - extremely friendly staff - great food and awesome wildlife....
Thoroughly recommend going and great value for money. Particularly recommend the morning safari breakfast and evening safari sun downers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
The great thing about Lions Bluff being in a community sanctuary is that we can lay on all sorts of bush activities that are much more challenging to organise in the Government parks. The Bush Breakfast and Sundowners on Lions Rock are particular favourites! Hope you come back for more sooner rather than latter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    43
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
80
130
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The lodge location and view are superb. Wake up to see Kilimanjaro above the clouds, or elephants at a water hole below. Wonderful setup, friendly staff, beautiful rooms and good game viewing. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
So pleased that the wow factor of the view did its bit and Kilimanjaro put in an appearance. It is such fun working here and watching the place work its magic on the guests! We look forward to hosting you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent one night at Lions Bluff on our recent trip to Kenya. It was a great experience to stay at such unusual accommodation but in all honesty I was happy that we only had one night there. Maybe it was the time of year (April 2014) but there was no wildlife to be seen despite the amazing panorama, and it is quite a drive to Lions Rock and beyond before we saw any animals. By contrast, when we passed Salt Lick, there were loads of water bucks and gazelle grazing nearby and I think if we came back again we would probably to opt to stay there.

Having said that, it was a lovely place to stay and amazing views that go on for miles. The huts are well laid out (although when we arrived we had not been allocated what we had requested, which was 4 x twins and 1 x single, and they told us they were expecting a party of 7 which they had housed in 3 huts). Eventually managed to get the 5 accommodations we had booked which shouldnt have been a problem as we were the only ones staying there!

Food was excellent, although there was no choice and could have been a problem as some of our group didnt eat red meat but as there were rice and vegetables they just had that without meat.

Maybe our expectation was too great after having read all the amazing reviews, or maybe it was just the wrong time of year to visit. But we were disappointed that the amazing views did not incorporate any wildlife and after several other exciting days on safari, it was a bit of an anticlimax.

No regrets that we visited it, but unlike other places we visited, we were quite happy we only had an overnight stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckirby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We have had a years worth of rain before the usual rainy season starts! This has made game viewing erratic, however the community sanctuary normally holds the full variety of West Tsavo animals in greater densities than the main park. On the plus side the community should have great crops this year and therefore take the pressure off activities that might put pressure on the project.
I apologise for the mix up with the room allocation and we have reviewed the process and hope that as a result we are better positioned to look after our guests.
Diets are part of our daily challenge and we ask all tour operators to inform us about any dietary requirements. We offer a wide variety of vegetarian and other choices and were disappointed that we did not understand fully your requirements. All clients are now asked at the briefing on arrival.
I hope that we see you and your family back at the Bluff one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Being born and brought up in Kenya and spending a lot of time taking overseas guests on safari to show off our beautiful country Lions Bluff is definitely in our top 5 places to stay. Finding good value for money from a safari in Kenya is getting increasingly difficult, Lions Bluff is one of very few places you'll be assured of getting it both as a local, but particularly as an overseas visitor. The rooms are beautifully built, the views are hard to beat anywhere in Africa, the wildlife diversity and density is fantastic and a strong vindication of the community project that it is. But above all the hospitality from a very friendly, enthusiastic and flexible team at Lions Bluff makes the place the memorable place it is to visit.
We took 30 overseas friends here for our honeymoon and couldn't have had a better time, and judging the feedback nor could they. The conservancy looked incredible after some unseasonal rain, the game was amazing (even saw an animal - an Aardwolf - i've never before seen despite years spent on safari), the smiling staff, night game drive and sundowners on Lion Rock were magic!

Room Tip: All make good use of the amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colmdolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Brilliant that you and your guests enjoyed the magic of the Bluff. The community have an outstanding project here and I am sure that the benefits will have a positive long term effect. Best of wishes from all at the Bluff in your marriage and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Wow - what a view when you arrive. The only thing better than the view from the terrace, as we sipped a cold Tusker just after arriving, was the view from the room (number 2), which was even better. If you want to experience the majesty of the plains of Africa spread out before you, as they have been for thousands of years, then I can't imagine a better place than Lion's Bluff Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
I work here and the wow factor of the view still stuns every morning! We have the pleasure of watching folk unwind from their busy lives just looking out over the amazing African expanse. And then there is the amazing wildlife and community involvement .....
We hope to see you back at the BLUFF one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Was treated to a visit here during a visit to Diani Beach. It was a long trek up here but totally worth it. The views are amazing from the huts and the bar and restaurants.
Sitting out on the deck the incredible views are breath taking. We were lucky to have a clear day and saw Mt Killimanjaro in the far distance.
When we arrived we went on an afternoon safari and saw elephants, giraffe, buffalo and came incredibly clues to a majestic lion. Evening meal was under the clearest sky with the stars and a roaring fire.
The hut is Eco friendly and our Maasai guided us back safely in the dark. The four poster bed was exceptional and the sounds of the wild we're clear in the night.
The morning started with a safari and cheater sighting followed by an amazing breakfast in the bush. Truly an experience to remember.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
With the rains so early this year the sanctuary is an incredible green and covered in wild flowers! Those that are lucky enough to se Mt Kilimanjaro in the crystal clear mornings have been in for a treat, though the lack of snow is alarming. I am glad that you enjoyed Lions Bluff and its amazing variety of wildlife. Come back and visit us one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We travelled many times between Nairobi and Mombasa to visit family went to the Tsavo National park but never to Lions Bluff - I recommend it as one of the places to be added the bucket list - not too many places you can wake up to the sound of playful elephants step out onto your veranda and watch them eat - or watch the white blanket of mist that covered the valley below disperse and see buffalo zebra and various sorts of buck start their day of grazing attend a bush breakfast and Kilimanjaro just peeking through the low cloud cover surrounding its top and the added excitement of following a lone lioness to her liar - the service was excellent the staff could not do enough for you. The way the tented Banda's are positioned on the side of the hill allows everybody to experience the rare sighting of Mt Kilimanjaro and the animals in the valley below. We hope to return there again and spend a little more time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinders14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
It is always gratifying when the staff, who work so hard, are mentioned so positively. Thank you. I hope that you will revisit our corner of the Tsavo ecosystem and its incredible variety of flora and fauna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
3.4 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
698 reviews
42.2 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
718 reviews
34.4 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
86 reviews
37.9 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
291 reviews
39.1 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Bluff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Bluff Lodge

Property: Lions Bluff Lodge
Address: Tavaita road, LUMO Community Wildlife Sanctuary | Tsavo West National Park, Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lions Bluff Lodge is a very special eco lodge within Lumo Community Wildlife Sanctuary. The lodge has stunning 360 views across miles and miles of Kenyan parkland including views of Kilimanjaro and the Taita Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lions Bluff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Bluff Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Lions Bluff Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing