We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lions Bluff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lions Bluff Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Diani Beach, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lions Bluff is a home away from home for the wildlife enthusiast!

Breathtaking landscape views from the hill top with glimpses of Mt Kilimanjaro, the rooms are very comfortable and have a private balcony for some R&R time, the food is freshly made and you can enjoy a romantic dinner on the terrace when the weather permits. The friendly staff also offer excellent personal attention and make one feel very special indeed.

A night game drive organised by the lodge in an open 4x4 jeep is also a must do when staying here. You will be amazed by the variety of nocturnal wildlife you can see.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazaad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Shazaad,
Thank you for the review, it is always a pleasure hosting you at the Bluff. It is an honor being allowed to do night drives in the sanctuary; I am always amazed that more do not try this unique experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    43
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
79
128
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Myself and three friends stayed here in August 2013 and had just the most amazing experience! The lodge is in a fabulous position over looking the plains and you can just see for miles and spend hours watching via binoculars! Driving down into Tsavo you realise how much wildlife is living just around the lodge and nothing beats the amazing view and the calling of the lions across the plains in the morning! The food was lovely and the staff couldn't be more helpful! We would recommend this place highly and hope to come back one day! Thank you for the amazing experience!

The Kings (Nottinghamshire)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireKing1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Clair, thank you for your positive review. Really appreciated as we face an uncertain future with negative travel advisories. Great to hear that you and your friends had fun at the Bluff and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Lions bluff lodge for an overnight as recommended by our tour operator and had the worst experience. We were the only guests that night (May 28) and our room was full of insects. We were told they couldn't do anything about it as it was the rainy season. We had one of the most uncomfortable night of our lives. Dinner was with no option and again had difficult time protecting our meal from the insects. There was some cereal at the table at night which stayed there till the next morning as our breakfast. We skipped it and lunch was no better. The only reason I'm not ratting it as terrible is because it has the most amazing location and looks like it's been built well. I hope they maintain it to a better level and improve on the service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Negede D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We at the Bluff are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your trip to the Bluff. Regardless of the number of guests staying the service level should be high in all departments. Your comments now included in our staff training and response program so that the apparent slipping of our guest relations should not happen in the future. I thank you for your candid comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here one night, but cant wait to go back. The accommodation is first class, the hospitality very welcoming. The food was very good although no choice. Evening dinner outside was so relaxing next to your own small coal fire and candle light. Breakfast in the bush was a must and the high light of my entire holiday. It does get chilly and damp up on the hill, but well worth it. A big thank you to the English owners and the lovely staff. Back soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Adrian
Bush Breakfast has become a favorite of the activities that we offer along with Night game drives and Bush walks. We hope to host you at the Bluff again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Absolutely stunning location, the staff were extremely attentive, food was excellent too. We stayed in March 2014 and loved it. The main bar / dining room area has a beautiful floor to ceiling glass windows to make use of the view below of the national park, while also having a roaring open fireplace. Meals were served in the main area or on an outdoor patio below which overlooked the park. We saw lots of animals, lions, cheetah, leopard, elephant, giraffe, water buffalo.

The rooms are perched on the side of the cliff with a lovely balcony perfect for enjoying the view with a drink in hand. The bathrooms even had hot water showers.

All is all a fantastic trip and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Adam; wow! thank you for your review. It makes all the effort so worthwhile when the staff and I see reviews such as yours. We hope to see you back at the Bluff soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanyuki Town, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This place is absolutely stunning. The most beautiful views, and due to the lack of other hotels in the area you feel that you are in isolation; a feeling impossible to get at any of the other parks in this part of Kenya. The rooms are simple but comfortable, with nice blaconies with that same view.

Food is average, was very bland British food when we were there, but well cooked.

Unfortunately the game drive was awful. There was plenty of game but the way it was done was shameful. We were perfectly happy to trundle along all morning but the driver heard something on his radio and took off at neck breaking speed for over 20 minutes. Terrible etiquette for a game controlled area. We eventually arrived at a cheetah which was surrounded by other vans and our driver along with the other drivers proceeded to attempt to corral it and harrass it, following it off road and chasing it. Shameful.

I can say that the lodge is excellent, and with a bit of work can easily compete with the best in the country (who charge ten times the price). The drivers need to be taught some manners, he seemed to be under the illusion that he would get a tip for showing us all the animals but instead we lost all respect for him.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
I am appalled about the driver behaviour, it is something both Lions Bluff and our neighbours, Sarova, are working hard at. Please can you email me iain@lionsblufflodge.com with the full details so that appropriate action can be taken.
We have so much fun running the Bluff and being involved with the sanctuary and are trying to add small touches all the time so that the guest experience can be really positive given the Coast tourism budgets etc. I hope the behaviour does not put you of returning to our little piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This lodge is wonderful. The best accommodation we ever had. I felt like in a fairytale as Robinson :-) The tents looks like a cottage, but you feel like you would sleep in the nature. Absolutely astonishing view.
Its a must see in Kenya! Great great great!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the compliments, the staff really enjoyed reading about your reaction to the Bluff. So pleased that the cottages and views ticked the right boxes and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
3.4 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
42.2 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
36.9 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
38.0 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
44.5 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Bluff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Bluff Lodge

Property: Lions Bluff Lodge
Address: Tavaita road, LUMO Community Wildlife Sanctuary | Tsavo West National Park, Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lions Bluff Lodge is a very special eco lodge within Lumo Community Wildlife Sanctuary. The lodge has stunning 360 views across miles and miles of Kenyan parkland including views of Kilimanjaro and the Taita Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Lions Bluff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Bluff Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Lions Bluff Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing