We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an impressive view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngulia Safari Lodge
Reviewed 14 January 2014

the lodge is located on top of a small hill, from which you can have a nice landscape view, if lucky also with some red elephants.
rooms are large, clean enough. restaurant (buffet) is very good. dinner with leopard, very lovely!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agogi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Ngulia Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spend one night at Ngulia during four days safari. It was very nice and clean hotel with amazing views over Tsavo West. The food was very good and there was plenty of choice. Cheap drinks. It was very nice to sit in the bar and watch animals and birds around the water hole.The staff were polite and helpful. Overall very good lodge in the middle of stunning nature.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Ngulia Safari Lodge. After staying at Voi Wildlife Lodge the night before it lacked some of the wow factor of there but was still a lovely place to stay. It is maybe just a little more dated (being much older) and lacks the impressive waterhole. The rooms were nice and clean, with a teepee style mosquito net. There was a small balcony. In the grounds there was a small swimming pool and an amazing view out over Tsavo. There is a small watering hole where we did see a selection of animals, including some elephants. In the evening the main draw is the local leopards. Fresh meat is tied to a wooden structure each day and the leopards come up to eat, giving an amazing view. It is done in such a way that they can't just run off with it and are there for some time. It felt a little bit like cheating but we weren't lucky enough to see a leopard on any of our drives. The food was lovely and drinks were reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikingvampireparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I liked the welcome ceremony, the food and the location. There were some issues with too much noise coming from the TV in the lobby but as soon as I asked for reducing the volume of the Tv, they Did so. The rooms were ok, in general i would say only poditive things .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaska2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I was dubious about what to expect as this is a budget lodge, but was very pleasantly surprised. Superb views and location with a lookout bar and main bar, drinks were reasonable at 200 ksh for large soft drink and 350 ksh for a large beer. Food was excellent and I am shocked by previous comments about the food, there was plenty of choice with a description card for each one!! Staff were very friendly, rooms were basic with no air con but clean and comfortable, I wasn't over keen on the mosquito net though. Overall great place to get your head down for one night, I would go back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank boyesystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Started out trip with ngulia, reached in the evening, they just put the bait for leopard, rooms were just okay, good thing was tht v got 2 rooms connecting with @other so it was very much convenient for us as v went with kids. Room location was good as well balcony facing directly to the pond where animals come to drink water... Food was okay too.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Tassaikap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed at Ngulia on the first night of our safari. Big mistake! The moment we arrived, I was aware of insect corpses littering the floor and dropping from everywhere. Mealtimes were an absolute nightmare as you weren't sure exactly what you were eating. From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left, I did not see any anyone clearing up.

We were extremely disappointed with the quality of this lodge and relieved to be leaving the next morning. We have stayed at other lodges and all have been extremely clean and comfortable. I feel that Ngulia relies on the leopards bringing the visitors in. Their standards fall short of basic requirements. I would not recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 228JoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
3.6 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
90 reviews
12.7 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
748 reviews
36.9 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
334 reviews
15.6 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
305 reviews
33.7 mi away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngulia Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngulia Safari Lodge

Address: Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range: £80 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngulia Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Ngulia Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Ngulia Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing