We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
678
231
51
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
678
231
51
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on stilts underground tunnel taita hills water hole watering hole ground level sister hotel eye level elephants drinking wild animals day safari drinking water unique experience the reserve room window rooms are small stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at the Sarova Salt Lick on the last night of our week long Mara to Coast safari with Pollman's/Hayes and Jarvis. We were originally scheduled to be at the Taita Hills Lodge a few km away but we were given a complimentary upgrade so after lunch at the Hill lodge we headed down to the salt lick.

It's pretty impressive from the minute you walk into reception, when we did there were several elephants drinking just metres from the check-in desk. Turns out they were pretty much everywhere and any time of the day or night you could look outside and see elephants!

Our room was in the first cluster to the right of the main building and looked right out at the watering hole. Room was average compared to other lodges and fairly small, but the natural entertainment outside the window was top class. There was a great view from the upper balcony of the bar on the top floor of the main building too and we spent a while there before heading out on our evening game drive.

On our two game drives at this lodge we got pretty lucky despite the small size of the reserve. We saw 4 cheetah, several lions and even a leopard. We also saw plenty of elephants and the usual array of less interesting (in my opinion) animals. We also took the opportunity to go on a night game drive (as this is a private reserve) and saw a couple of wild cats, a bat eared fox and a pair of porcupines but no big cats.

Food buffet was probably better than the average for the week.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

My in-laws treated us to a magnificant experience at this venue. Great game, we saw all but the allusive lions! Oh well, next time. Food was very good given that we were in the middle of no where. Coffee could have been better, come on Sarova up your game and use good coffee machines! Rooms were adequate and very unique. See pics.
One gripe, they did not honour our wish of having 3 bore hole view rooms despite having confirmations, we only got one after making an unnecessary scene on Christmas day at the reception! perhaps they were testing our patience or had more 'important' patrons. So call up front and reconfirm! Otherwise a was good and I would certeinly go back.

Date of stay: December 2013
Thank Pino32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Spent just one night at Salt Lick, but what a wonderful experience. The room was excellent and overlooked the water hole. We saw the Elephants and Buffalos arrive in the evening, had the chance to walk underground to the observation area next to the water hole. You can sit on the outside upper balcony after your meal and take in all the sights and sounds, you can sit in the restaurant on the middle floor and see out over the water hole and you can go almost to ground on the lower level and view close up the Elephants as they approach the water hole. Staff, food, free safe in the room, overhead fan, lovely bathroom (room 512) we are struggling to find anything negative to say about Salt Lick. Enjoy the experience, we did and booked via Jawamu Tours Safari based in Mnarani, Kilifi.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water hole, I believe some rooms have better views than others.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinrogue58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Went on safari with Jawamu Tours (James) based across from Mnarani hotel in Kilifi. James and Emmanuel were brilliant and I would definitely travel with them again. The hotel is fantastic with wonderful views. The evening meal was lovely and we had a window seat where we watched the elephants. In the reception area you can get close to the elephants while they drink - amazing. We saw hundreds of water buffalo right outside the hotel in the morning. The breakfast was very good and it was worth paying a little extra to stay in such a great hotel.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siouxLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This lodge captured my heart, the location is magical. I have visited stayed three times now with my family. Africa does something to you that no other continent can, it steals a part of you and draws you back, time and time again. The staff at Salt Lick are wonderful and even remembered us when we returned. The food and service is amazing and to be so close and at one with the wildlife is comparable to luxury tented camps. Nothing too much trouble, but never over the top - you feel so welcome and relaxed.

Room tip: Try to request a rondavel at the end because when you look out it is as if you are totally alone in the bush.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews