We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of our safari and we were not disappointed with the round room which had windows that looked out into the water hole and onto the lush green plains where we could see animals such as water bucks and antelopes in the distance and lots of water birds drinking from the water hole.

The round room did not feel cramped and had all the complimentary water, tea/coffee that even some 5 star hotels don't offer for free. This hotel thought of everything including umbrellas in the room in case of rain but we didn't have to use it while we were there. Bed was big and had mosquito netting while bed linen were very clean. The shower wasn't cramped and had hot water. The toilet was American style were all the water is stored in the bowl and not the tank. All the necessary toiletries that one would expect from a five star hotel were present. They also provided turn down service where the mosquito net was arranged over the bed, curtains drawn and electronic mosquito repellent turned on.

Dinner and breakfast was delicious with a great variety of fresh fruit, hot and cold dishes. The restaurant had a great view of the water hole so it was nice to watch the animals and birds from here particularly during breakfast. The staff were very attentive and our night safari was good. We got to see so many nocturnal animals that can't be seen during the day. Ask for a room that has a view of the waterhole as you can look at the animals in the comfort of your room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank aitenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Where do I start, our driver from game watchers Paul was amazing from start to finish, couldn't do enough for us. Our room(I called them my little huts on stilts) was big and so clean - the view of the waterin hole was just amazing, the animals just came to you. The underground bunker they have there gives you the chance to get safely within touching distance of all the animals esp tge elphants which was just like a dream cum true!great staff, always happy and helpful and the food was consistantly great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

One of the most lovely , fantastic places ever made, had a fantastic 3 day safari, with JT SAFARI'S, highly recommend them brilliant drovers Joseph was brilliant, great cars off road 4x4...really greatprices, we had our 1st night here and were so spoilt, food great, staff great, animals also brilliant so close and the hide next to the water hole.. shear brilliance. Rooms comfortable, had evening meal and breakfast both great with a view to die for. Saw amazing sites eould love toreturn again and stay at this lodge longer, a week wouldnotbe hard.. as fantastic highly recommended x

Room Tip: Front facing to the waterhole any of them have brilliant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Beautifully situated in the middle of Salt Lick game parc, this is a must for anyone going on a safari to Tsavo. Upon arrival there were dozens of buffalo and some elephants drinking at the waterhole and in the drinking ' pond' just in front f the hotel. They were so close you could almost touch them!
The restaurant offers great food and service and the rooms are perfect. The only tiny negative was the huge amount of moths and flies in the room, but I suppose it comes with the territory and with the mosquito net that problem was quickly solved :)
In any case, plase do stay here as it's beautiful. We had lunch at Voi Safari Lodge which was also pretty, but boy were we happy we chose this gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the waterholes. You can see the animals from you room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeePee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We visited here as part of our honeymoon,and love it ! Accommodation a little basic, but has everything you need. You really only use this place to eat and sleep, as you are in and out on game drives. We arranged a night drive through this hotel and was not disappointed ! The food was great and the service fantastic. We had drinks on the top deck overlooking the waterholes, and had amazing views. It also has an underground tunnel so you can view the animals at the waterhole. I see others have given negative views regarding the views of the animals, they need to understand that this is real nature and not a British zoo or safari park !! We would defiantly return here, loved it !

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Janie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We did a 3 night safaris with EKEA safaris and stayed here . We had a great time here , The salt lick attraction to the wild life is like a magnet , a herd of buffalo over 100 strong walked pasted taking about 3 hours from first in heard till the last one . aprrox 60 elephants arrive as the sun sets and use the water hole all night . Out on the plains we viewed lions eating a buffalo and best of all cheetah we viewed , lots of wild life bat eared fox , with cubs , black crested eagles , zebra , the list is large, all can be viewed from a balcony or a room low down next to the water hole or a tunnel which go to spy hole at ground level .
we could have stayed here longer , lots of wildlife , rooms ok , do what is needed sleep and shower but is all about viewing wildlife .
excellent

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here with several friends and we had an incredible time. The location couldn't be better as there are several watering holes just underneath the restaurant and behind the lobby and you get greeted by all sorts of wildlife in an up close and personal manner.

The service was more or less good, though we had to wait close to an hour for our bags to get dropped to our room. The food was also pretty good and the rooms clean, but again, the real draw is the location and the set up of the watering holes and the underground viewing area (They have constructed an underground walkway that leads to a room just in front of the main watering hole so you can see the animals extremely closely).

We went on a long weekend so there was a big - and noisy - crowd, which was a little annoying, particularly since they kept using flash photography during dawn/dusk, which although explicitly prohibited, is not enforced so the animals probably didn't stay as long as they would have otherwise.

All in all, highly recommend a stay here, but make sure it's at least 2 nights if you're driving from Nairobi as it is quite a long journey so it's not worth it to squeeze in a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
3.4 mi away
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
45.6 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
765 reviews
36.9 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.3 mi away
Ngulia Safari Lodge
Ngulia Safari Lodge
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
92 reviews
41.3 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
316 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge

Address: | Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary, Tsavo National Park West, Kenya (Formerly Salt Lick Safari Lodge)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range: £177 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the private Taita Hills Sanctuary, bordering Tsavo West National Park in south-eastern Kenya, Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is a truly unique concept consisting of 96 rooms elevated on stilts, each overlooking a waterhole and linked by suspended walkways. At night, the waterholes are floodlit ensuring that you enjoy an uninterrupted view of the numerous animals arriving to quench their thirst. The elevated restaurant, and the bar a level higher, also offer stunning views of the sanctuary and are the ideal vantage points to view game. The lodge has its own fleet of well-equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. The climate is very moderate with temperatures averaging between 18 and 30 degrees Celsius all year round. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November and December. Due to the unique layout of the lodge, it is not suitable for children below 8 years. Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is 400 km from Nairobi and 200 km from Mombasa. The lodge is a one-hour flight from Nairobi or 30 minutes from Mombasa by private charter which lands at the Lodge's own airstrip. The Sanctuary is a 3-hour drive from Mombasa and a 6-hour drive from Nairobi on tarmac roads. So, if you intend to make the most out of your African safari holidays, Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is the right place to be. No matter if you plan to head-over to Nairobi or Mombasa, the Lodge turns out to be a perfect check-in option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Salt Lick Game Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing