We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge(Tsavo National Park West)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ngulia Safari Lodge(Tsavo National Park West)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
312
71
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
71
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature walkwalking safarihippos and crocodilesnight safarismall laketented campone nightour waitertsavo westguided walkgame walklocation is fantasticmount kilimanjarobush babyevening drivean oasislate at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

So peaceful and beautiful. The tents are nice, surreal. They're not 5-star luxury, but they are quite nice. It's a small, quiet place, not a tourist trap. It's good place off the literal beaten path to just breath. the walking safari is worth it. No charge, just tip the guides as you would see fit. Staff is so attentive and capable. And the absolute best part is the food! Some of the best food I've eaten in my life. Most larger lodges in Kenya serve meals buffet-style, but here you sit in the open eating area facing the pond where crocodiles & hippos move about, and you order off a select menu. The food is prompt, fresh, well-presented, and absolutely delicious (did I say that twice?)

BTW--we were slightly disturbed one evening by an elephant feeding on the tree next to our tent. we were perfectly safe. It was a thrilling part of the experience, but it did keep me up for a while.

Room Tip: #25 is on the far end where you're most likely to have the most privacy, best view of the pond, and most likely to have visitors such as hippos, elephants, and monkeys visit you.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whowillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

We are elated you enjoyed yourself. Cant wait to host you again soon.
The Voyager Safari Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This place is amazing. The accommodation is in the form of luxury tents with flushing loo and shower. Electricity is not available at all times so a solar light is provided. The 25 or so tents are located within the select Ziwani sanctuary which is within Tsavo West National Park. They are located next to a lake which is populated with hippos and crocodiles. The housekeepers (Peter was fabulous) only look after five tents each so they are able to offer a very select service. A wake up call is provided by a security guard calling you from outside your tent! Early morning tea is provided upon request. Dinner is outside under the stars (which are amazingly clear as there is no light pollution here) and is served from a menu at your table (David who looked after us was very attentive). A fire pit has been set up to sit around with drinks once your evening meal is complete. An on site naturalist, Steven, is on hand for nature walks which he carries out in Masai dress with the help of an armed guard to ward off crocodiles, hippos and elephants if required! It was one of the highlights of our trip; cleaning our teeth with bits of a bush and using tree sap for soap! You are escorted back to your tent by a security guard by torchlight at night as animals roam freely here. A whistle is provided by your bed to raise the alarm if necessary. If the 'African music' of crickets and roaring hippos troubles you then you may wish to bring earplugs! Night safaris are available but it was really dusty which you should be aware of as it can trouble your eyes. We saw hippo, wildebeest, impala, night jars, bush babies and zebra. This place is a gem in the wilderness.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

I promise you even as a member of staff i like this Unit so much. It is such fresh breath in a very virgin part of Kenya.
So glad you liked it too
The Voyager Safari Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Fabulous tents and wonderful food. The staff were among the most friendly and helpful people I have met anywhere. The setting was stunning: you can't beat listening to the sound of all of the animals while tucked up in bed with a hot water bottle.

Steven's bush walks were educational and brilliant fun. It was amazing to experience the park on foot and find out how to identify the animals by their footprints. The excitement of seeing the animals up close was an experience I'll never forget.

The waiters and room stewards were so helpful and thought of everything.

We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: All tents look directly on to the lake.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 447Marita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Guest,
So glad you enjoyed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
The Voyager Safari Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This was the first night if our Safari at the Tsavi Parks and we were all truly blown away by it. It was a long drive from our hotel to the lodge, but the moment we saw our first animals it was well worth the travelling. Arriving at the lodge, we were greeted with cold flannels & a refreshing drink. The staff were so attentive from the moment we arrived to the time we left. The 'tents' were so beautiful and clean - made even more special by being on the edge of the lake where the hippos and crocodiles live! The food was incredible - 3 courses for lunch and dinner with a fantastic buffet for breakfast. We had 2 bush walks with Steven (a Masai warrior). These were fantastic and Steven was so engaging and knowledgeable! Our room was made special as we were on honeymoon - a perfect touch which was a surprise when we returned after dinner. These little touches just added to the magic. We will never forget staying here. Sitting having dinner with Mt Kilimanjaro in the distance with hippos, crocodiles and elephants near by - was truly something that we will remember forever!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,
I am so glad you enjoyed yourself immensely. Cant wait to host you again.
The Voyager Ziwani Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Voyager Ziwani is the place to go for holidays.My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our weekend there.The staff members are so courteous and kind.Big ups to the chef coz the food was extra delicious.The guides are well informed and didn't mind me asking some of my blonde questions.The camp was lovely and in as much as i thought it would be cold at night,it wasn't. Voyager is a distance from the park gate but trust me,it is worth the drive,I will definitely go back in December.

Room Tip: Tent number 25 is the best in the camp
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaqueOyugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Hello,
You have made a good discovery. This is a place one can treasure and it will be enjoyable if you join other who have made it a home away from Home.
The Voyager Safari Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews