We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
108
167
92
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
167
92
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piece of meat every evening tsavo west one night water hole leopard eating rooms are basic corner room watering hole leopard bar no electricity hot water some tlc goat awesome views the main attraction viewing area
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Good points:
- beautiful location on top of a hill
- very nice staff, they try their best
- in the evening they put meat in front of the terrace and there is a big chance to see leopards (very difficult to see them otherwise)

Needs improvement:
- from 6 camps and lodges we stayed at in the national park we rate this the least satisfying
- no internet while we were there despite the fact that it was advertised. It seems they have finished the credits with the internet company
- the room was extremely noisy, we could hear the noise from the lobby until late, people yelling on the phone (locals) or talking very loud. Early in the morning we had all the kitchen noises

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ancaperiet2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

I drive there without booking the staff us two rooms right across water holes which we really enjoyed , we spent two days there , the second day we never left the lodge as the animals came to drink water at lodge watering hole .
I hope the lodge or KWS would fix the other hole ASAP, the staff were very helpful as well as the manger, the food is Kenyan style which is good . i will be coming again to stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
1  Thank _hardevkalsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSLHOTELS, Director of Sales at Ngulia Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear hardevkalsi,
Thanks very much for sharing such a constructive and honest review about us.
We are glad that you enjoyed a friendly service from our staff as well as your stay ,and i am sure the lodge manager as well as staff are happy to hear this from you .
we guarantee you that the water hole has already been fixed hence more games watch while at the lodge.
looking forward to host you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

A bit worn out hotel, but with many very unique things to it! First; amazing location with great view all around The wild leopards coming at night was a sight to remember for life and very unique photo op. All the Hyraxes by the pool was awesome, and so was the big band of Baboons trekking over the pool / mountain range in the morning. Some even came to drink of the pool while we were swimming. The hotel itself is outdated, but the rooms were good, the shower nice, the Internet up to par and the food buffet decent. What more do You need when You sit with a whiskey, Your camera on a tripod and look straight into the eyes of a wild leopard 20 meters away!?

(By coincidence a later taxi driver we met in Mombasa said he had the job hanging up the goat meet for the leopard feeding for four years. We asked him if it was dangerous to work there. ‘We used to live in the employee village some hundred meters out. One morning a staffer missed the morning transport, and decided to walk. All we found was his arm and his uniform later on. Those leopards are no joke...’

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JorgenTharaldsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JARED N, Manager at Ngulia Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018


Thanks so much for allowing us to host you. We look forward to your next visit. We appreciate your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

This is one of the most beautiful locations anywhere in the world ... it si far removed from wifi and phone signal.. which I love. It is such a shame that it has become run down and uncared for. The potential here is HUGE! We don't bother with the food in the dining area as we know from expeience its not worth it .. so use the little kitchenette instead and bring our own food. I do like the idea of still being able to do that on safari but it could be kept clean and really needs some renovating to stay in the game. Sorry for my not very good review.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 88lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We stayed at Ngulia Safari Lodge one night with a group of friends. It had been a long and tiring day, but I forgot everything as soon as we got to the lodge, seeing the breathtaking view and meeting the friendly and welcoming staff. The rooms were very nice, each with a spacious private terrace. It feels like you're in heavens while you're walking around the venue. It was also hands down the best location where I did yoga/pilates (on the terrace looking down at the waterhole nearby and the beautiful valley). I truly felt like a Disney princess with all the lovely colorful birds around me. We didn't eat at the restaurant, as our group of friends preferred cooking, but we had a fully equipped kitchen so everything worked out well. We also had very good cell phone coverage. I'm giving this lodge 4 out of 5 only because there was no electricity between 10pm and 5am. Other than that everything was perfect and we had a great time. Would definitely go back here if we visit Tsavo West again.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews