We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet resort, off the beaten track, great food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ifaty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de la Plage - Ifaty
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Brussels
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“quiet resort, off the beaten track, great food”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

ideal for those who have traveled across madagascar (following the RN7), and want to rest at the sea at the end of their trip.
far away from the busy town of Tulear, close to a small fishers' village, this is a great place to stay; small bungalows, perfectly integrated in the dune landscape; great lagoon, walewatching during the months July-Sept, kitesurfing if wind allows etc.
great restaurant, friendly service.

Room Tip: all bungalows face the seaside, so all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    34
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
14
45
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in a nearby hotel, but had lunch and dinner at Hotel de la Plage. The food was really tasty and the personel was very friendly. The location and the lodges look very nice at the seafront. The road from Toliary to Ifaty is very bad, but when you have a 4x4 it's no problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anayim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel was really good. Nice beach-place. They offer many activities and the responsible (Yannic) is very friendly and professional.
Private snorkling, super cheap and many colorfull fishes in the coral reef.
Lodges are very nice, food is good as well. Very friendly service, the best we encountered on our trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I really liked this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights so that we could go snorkelling and have a relaxing day after driving the RN7 route from Tana to Tuleur. The round beachfront bungalows were lovely, clean, a good size and had a nice big bathroom. The restaurant and bar area was great and I really liked the pool table. The snorkelling trip we went on was very good and I enjoyed sailing to and from our snorkelling spot as the area is very beautiful. The loungers outside our bungalow on the veranda were also great to relax on and gaze out at the sea. The food and drinks in the restaurant were nice and I enjoyed our meals there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Simple, clean comfortable rooms with amazing sunset views. Tasty food that changed every day. Friendly, attentive staff and plenty to do. Alternatively you could bury yourself in a good book and the view. I wish I'd never left!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuddyMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We really enjoyed the three nights we stayed at this excellent hotel. The location was beautiful, right by the beach, it was peaceful and there were lots of activities you could do. We went to see the baobab forest, the whales and did scuba diving and snorkeling. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The atmosphere was very relaxed and we wished we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoux, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Lovely hotel in a stunning location with some rooms right on the beach (however, occupants of these have a fairly steep walk up steps to the restaurant/hotel). Our room had lovely views across the Mozambique Channel and was clean and comfortable. Meals were good and the staff friendly and helpful. As with many Madagascar hotels, a torch is essential as electricity goes off fairly early at night and doesn't come back on until about 8.30 am. This hotel was the perfect place to simply relax and unwind after our tour. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ifaty hotels
5.7 mi away
Ifaty Beach Club
Ifaty Beach Club
#7 of 11 in Ifaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Solidaire Mangily
7.6 mi away
Hotel La Mira de Madio Rano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Bamboo Club
Hotel Bamboo Club
#4 of 11 in Ifaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ikotel
Ikotel
#10 of 11 in Ifaty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.4 mi away
Princesse du Lagon
Princesse du Lagon
#1 of 7 in Ifaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage - Ifaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage - Ifaty

Property: Hotel de la Plage - Ifaty
Address: BP 397 | Tuléar, Ifaty 601, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Ifaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Plage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing