We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good just needs...”
Review of Les Dunes d'Ifaty

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ifaty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Dunes d'Ifaty
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Birmingham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good just needs...”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The road to the hotel is hard work 1-2 hours on a very rutted dusty road, suddenly makes you realise how good the RN7 is! Good bits of the hotel

The rooms and the main area are built like beach huts, so stone walls and then palm/wooden roofs, but the two do not meet, and the windows are wooden slats! Very beech like, though it is always hot so not an issue
The beech is very pretty with few hawkers, tried swimming but ehre were jellf fish in the sea which is a shame as would be nice to swim in
Nice pool
Beech bar which served good pizzas with a view at lunch time

The bad bits
Dinner in particular was poor, this is meant to be the best hotel in Ifaty but I have to say the food was some of the worst we had, some of the cold things were warm and some of the hot things were warm, and it was often over cooked.
You had a TV in your room, not sure if this was needed especially with the beech hut approach but made worse as the walls due to the construction were not very sound proof so if you neighbour had their TV on you could hear it especially latter on in the night
Mosquitos- after 5pm around the rooms in particular it was mozzie heaven make sure you light your coil around 5-6pm and keep the lights off where possible, though in the bar restaurant it was significantly better
Mozzie nets again were not briallint and unfrotunatley one of our group woke up to have a cockroach on his face not great!
Bar staff need to leran how to look after customers not serve one person at a time not do 4 jobs at once

We noticed wandering the hotel complex that one half ( the left hand side as you walk into reception form the cars was much more lush and verdant pretty plants and more animals etc the other side was more barren with fewer plants – though maybe fewer Mozzies

This review may sound quite negative but it was a very nice quiet tranquil place to be and I would go back it is just a shame about the number of mozzies, the nets need to be improved on the bed and for me the standard of cooking and serving food needs to be radically improved

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    47
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
24
72
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beringen, Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The bungalows with terrace are nice and should be standard. Rooms are OK. Service in restaurant can be improved. Great barman. Food not always perfect. Hard to reach(two hours by bus, one hour by a quick 4x4. No water in the room as promised and even after asking had to repeat the question. Olivia is a nice person serving people well.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed in Les Dunes for 2 nights. There was initally a mix up with our booking through the tour operator who thought we were booked into Paradiser which we initally went to see and looking back, despite it being cheaper than Les Dunes I think the views, the pool and the bungalows in Paradiser had a nicer setting. Les Dunes is still a lovely place to stay and the owner was very friendly however I felt some of the other staff were not quite as friendly and the food note quite as good as some of the other places we stayed in while in madagascar.

Room Tip: I think we were in room 5 which was set closer to the ocean than some bungalows but the bungalow was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayray0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Les Dunes is situated on the each at Ifaty. The rooms are clean, but a little cramped. I believe the hotel had new staff while we were there, and there were a few problems with food not being cooked thoroughly. The manager (owner?) did seem to be trying to sort things out and if she manages to do this, the hotel has the potential to receive higher ratings.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strolling_Goldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The trip into this resort was over sand dunes and rocks but we were in a 4WD and all was good. The hotel is possibly our second best after Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge in Rwanda. We have our own bungalow on the Mozambique Channel. Food is great. Wi-fi is poor. Our bungalow is excellent and scenery is beautiful. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rh0nnie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Dunes edges within walking distance onto the small coastal village of Ifaty, located on the South Western coast of Madagascar (The Dunes: 23° 7'53.85"S; 43°36'22.05"E). This beautiful beach resort lies about 35Km (45-60 min) north of the closest big town Toliara, which has an “international airport” and a harbour that connects this remote region to the outer world. The alternative is +/-24h by road...

This is a fairly sophisticated island of luxury and comfort in a relatively harsh environment where the tourism scene is dominated by small (2 to 10 rooms) and rather uncomplicated resorts/lodges/hotels where, with the majority of these the term “cheap (relatively) and dirty” springs to mind.

A large lounge, comfortably and colourfully furnished joins with reception, a bar and restaurant to form an impressive thatched open-air center-point above a very attractive swimming pool. A number of steps take you comfortably down onto a stunning stretch of beach with a rocky outcrop to the Southern-side where a beach-bar and small outdoor restaurant is to be found. Tanning chairs, outdoor showers and easy access to the swimming pool and a speed boat in the shallows give The Dunes a very comfortable resort “feel”.

A number of very stylish bungalow-type rooms wings out from the central structure. Most of these have sea-views allowing for some great sunsets. The rooms are all well maintained stone structures with thatched roofs blending perfectly with the use of wood in paneling, louver windows and floors.

Two rooms (one double and 2 single beds) to a bungalow share a central bathroom. The bathroom is airy and big. With a massive shower, good lighting and piping hot water. Packing space is limited but effective. A modern in-room safe is a welcome add-on. Big roof-mounted fans ensure a maintained breeze in the room even if the big mosquito nets are down.

The restaurant is relatively pricy but with excellent fare and good service. Stephanie and Riaan Frobus the management couple who really makes you feel at home, also coordinate an array of activities is, varying from scuba diving to whale watching, Baobab Forest visits etc.

The Dunes is highly recommended. I will be going back there.

Room Tip: The beach is semi obscured by flora in front of some of the beach facing rooms - take a stroll and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybievds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A friend and I stayed 4 nights at the Dunes and had a fantastic time. Wait staff is great (front desk less so); woman who owns is great. Not quite the personal touch we had in other places but good enough. Beautifully designed lobby. Wifi worked! We had a "beach villa" and I think that is the way to go. Quiet, private, really clean with all the amenities you could want. Heard people in rooms complain of noise fro rooms next door. We totally enjoyed it. Kicked back, easy going.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ifaty
0.7 mi away
Hotel Solidaire Mangily
7.4 mi away
Ifaty Beach Club
Ifaty Beach Club
#8 of 11 in Ifaty
130 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Mira de Madio Rano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bamboo Club
Hotel Bamboo Club
#4 of 11 in Ifaty
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ikotel
Ikotel
#10 of 11 in Ifaty
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victory Toliara
Hotel Victory Toliara
#2 of 3 in Toliara
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Dunes d'Ifaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Dunes d'Ifaty

Property: Les Dunes d'Ifaty
Address: Village de Mangily - Baie d'Ifaty, Ifaty 601, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Ifaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Dunes d'Ifaty 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Dunes d'Ifaty is boutique hotel, build from local materials, located 27 kilometres north of the city of Tulear, next to the "Mangily" fishing village and is built over an area of 6 hectares amidst a flora of tropical and other typical indigenous plants from this dry region of the south of Madagascar. The main building is designed following a wide-open-style structure, the roofing being supported by large pillars, with a seven metre high tree in the centre. In the main building are located the reception, the lounge, the main bar, the main restaurant and the kitchen. All the rooms are on both sides of the main building. The villa rooms are facing the sea, while the superior and standard rooms are in a tropical garden. They are not far from the swimming pool which is next to the beach. There is a beach bar where one can find drinks and food which is directly on the beach. The hotel is not far from the spiny forest(UNESCO registered), which is worth a visit and where one can see baobab(Reniala)trees and all the endemic plants of the south of Madagascar. Bird watchers will be able to find quite a few rare birds endemic to this southern part. Many different type of reptiles and animals can also be seen and the guides who speek many foreign languages will be delited to tell you more about them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Dunes d`Ifaty Hotel Ifaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing