We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ifaty Beach Club
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay here but I did have a problem with the lodge. I left my key on the table in the room. They claimed I had taken the key. I had not. This went on for two day after I had left. They kept calling my guide and I kept telling them that the key was left on the table in the room. We left early in the morning and that was the only place to leave the key. The person I shared a room with also had a key. He returned it to the desk the day before. They claimed we took that key too. We took neither.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muncie_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were there from 30 Oct to 4 November. The owner, Patrick, had my last review pulled by apparently claiming to Trip Advisor that we never stayed there. Unfortunately he just didn't like what we had to say and couldn't take the criticism, much the way he is in person. Our own, first-hand experience with Patrick is consistent with the experiences of some of his other less than favourable reviewers. Still, I'm giving the place a 3, since it did have some good points.

Our room was descent and clean. Our only quibble was that the water pressure was very low and the hot water took forever to get there. The food was quite good in the restaurant and the service average. The owner,Patrick, wasn't quite born for the hospitality industry, however. A descent enough guy most of the time, but he gives guests the impression that he is watching their every move, and guarding the freebies like peanuts, making you feel like you are imposing by eating them. When the waitress or bar tender would serve us peanuts, they were always 1 layer thick, on a small dish the size of a small coaster! Patrick also does not take criticism very well. They started serving us yesterday's toast in the morning. We complained that it was old, dried out and as hard as melba toast.... well, in their wisdom, they simply decided not to serve us toast anymore. Really, the bread or the toast that they served us those few mornings was just old and dried out. At a hotel, if it's old, well, throw it out..... Another criticism of Patrick is that we observed him being verbally abusive to his staff and some of his Sr. staff were verbally abusive to their subordinates, making the atmosphere in the restaurant tense and uncomfortable at times. .... Generally though, our stay was enjoyable, although once there, we quickly learned that there are other places along the beach that are nicer in some ways and the rooms are as little as half the rate. Still, if you need a place, you can't go to wrong with Ifaty Beach Club. If you want a better view and more privacy and want to get away from the droves of beach vendors, then check out Ikotel. Lovely and more secluded. 20% or so less on the rate, much larger rooms, almost no beach vendors, and great food!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank balabanovj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

After a horrible drive we where very surprised about this nice place.
The bungalows are lighted, clean, good situated.
The beach is nice, the stuff and the owner are helpfull and obliging.
A nice place to stay for one ore two nights for relaxing during a Madagaskar Trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

What a bad experience this one! Pros: the beach (nothing special but at least OK). Cons: far from the town, lower than average structures, not always clean, French owner mistreating (local) personnel and very very very unpleasant with clients. Service is so slow you would not believe it. Overall, not a good place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sampiero c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, Propriétaire at Ifaty Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,
En fait ce qu'il faudrait réellement est un TRIP ADVISOR pour hôtelier pour faire état de tous les clients cocasses que l'on rencontrent.
En fait ce Monsieur penses que tout peut lui être permis (on ne citera pas l'acteur Been) et beaucoup sur place s'en souviennent (club de plongée et autres ) :
Étonnement complet, nous n'avons jamais vu une personne douée d' un toupet aussi phénoménal :
Ce Monsieur quinquagénaire paraît sortir des colonies de vacances pour adolescent et l'on se demande s'il est normal ou accompagné d'une psychiatre en vue de thérapie reconstructive
Prendre sa douche dans celle du voisin si si véritable, ça on avait pas vu encore (vrai et incroyable)
Interpeller le personnel grossièrement tel un garnement pour se gaver de pain au petit déjeuner ((un appétit colossal !!!).
Mais conclusion nous avons trouvé cette personne agaçante mais comique.
Cependant piquer les tarifs dans les chambres affichés dans les bungalows ne nous amuse moins.
Mais en hôtellerie on pense en voir encore
Merci pour le passage, la prochaine fois on essayera de tourner un film on convoquera l'équipe DISNEY.
Ce n'était pas réellement pour nous " une good expérience "
Patrick GARCIA
Manager Ifaty Beah Club Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

After reading all the bad critics I was a bit sceptic. Fortunately, we had a very positive surprise.
The service in the restaurant was maybe somewhat slower than at other places we have eaten
in Madagascar. However, the quality of the dishes is really outstanding and worth the extra waiting. There are no lemurs in cages anymore. They have been given to the Reniala private reserve and are prepared for being set free to the wild.
The rooms and the swimming pool area are kept very clean. The location is excellent: on a nice beach and yet close to the village and the Baobab forest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoiry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Really really a pity. Place is OK. No frills, no luxus, things fixed as good as they can. But overall nice for the beach and location. Yet, the management of the hotel is a nightmare. Personnel is so slow you just can't believe it (even for African standards). The owner then is quite rude : any small demand is troubling him. One immediately realizes that he will try to cheat you anytime he can.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel is OK, on a nice beach. Clearly do not expect luxus, nor any special comfort. But Ifaty is a nice place and this hotel is on an OK beach. However, maintenance should be improved. Moreover, service is super super super slow (breakfast, other meals, drinks). And the owner is a very unpleasant person. Definitely someone that should not be trusted. He even tried to cheat us once.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kai s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ifaty
0.6 mi away
Hotel Solidaire Mangily
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bamboo Club
Hotel Bamboo Club
#5 of 11 in Ifaty
116 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Mira de Madio Rano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Victory Toliara
Hotel Victory Toliara
#2 of 3 in Toliara
81 reviews
30.6 mi away
Ankasy Lodge
Ankasy Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ambatomilo
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesse du Lagon
Princesse du Lagon
#1 of 8 in Ifaty
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ifaty Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ifaty Beach Club

Address: 285 Bp | 601 Tulear, Ifaty, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Ifaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Price Range: £37 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ifaty Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ifaty Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing