We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Libertalia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Libertalia
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Nosy Boraha
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Island Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Lovely hotel for some downtime after lots of travelling around mainland Madagascar. Rooms are little wooden bungalows beautifully done out and right on the beach with a little verandah where you can sit and watch the tide going in/out, sunsets or even sometimes spot a whale out at sea. The staff were lovely and the food good although our lack of good french hampered us a bit. The hotel does whale watching boat trips which are excellent and they work with cetamada - an agency for protection and research of the whales. A student of marine life gave a very good presentation each night in the hotel in both french and english - multi-talented!
The hotel also hires out bikes and scooters and you can book a massage too (highly recommended for aching travel weary muscles). The little town is 25 mins walk or 10 mins bike ride away and has lots more hotels and restaurants as an alternative.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4dchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadi2, Gérant at Hotel Libertalia, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
thank you very much for taking time to wrote some words on your holidays because you are the best way to help other traveller to definite their needs. thank you also for having participate to cetamada association which worked hardly to protect them. this year, whales were very amazing and gave us lots of pleasure with countless jumps. all the staff join me to tell we are waiting for you next time and will do our best to please you again. see you next year maybe?!!! Sophie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    68
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
85
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We got here at the end of our four weeks in Madagascar, and it was the the perfect place to relax and find new energy. A beautiful setting just next to the sea, watching the whales breach even while staying in bed, all that with friendly staff, from the reception, the cooks and the waiters to the security. A great place to enjoy sunsets and life!

Room Tip: Villa is large and next to the sea. But you hear the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadi2, Gérant at Hotel Libertalia, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
thank you both of you to share your experience and your good memories with us. i just can say you are welcomed again to Libertalia even if we are so far from your country! we are happy you had a good time with us and i know that whales did a lot for that but it's really magic and exceptional moment in our island only 3 months per year!! sun, beach, seafood and local artists show are waiting for your coming back!! Sophie and all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The moment I got here, I took a nap after a long journey through Western Madagascar. The bed was AWESOME! The room is very classy, but in a low key way. Everything was very quality. There's a great dock that walks you out to your own personal island. The food was grand. Live music during dinner. The view outstanding. The vantage point faces westward, so it is hard to beat. The staff speaks English. We rented a scooter, too. We stayed an extra night, since we loved it so much. Honestly, this place I will remember forever. It's pricier than the other places we stayed, but you can see why.... you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationSweetHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadi2, Gérant at Hotel Libertalia, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Google Translation
souvent les personnes arrivent sur notre belle île fatiguées de leur aventure sur la grande terre (Madagascar) et viennent finir leur séjour à sainte marie..aussi il est important pour nous que vous ayez pu vous reposer et apprécier pleinement des richesses naturelles de notre belle île. merci pour votre message et ce sera toujours avec autant d'efforts et de plaisir que nous vous recevrons et ferons en sorte de vous guider, de vous conseiller et de vous satisfaire; Sophie et toute l'équipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel/bungalow complex on the beautiful Ile Sainte Marie was a highlight of our trip. The bungalows are all of a good standard and right by the ocean, you can hear the sea lapping against the shore as you fall asleep. The hotel dining is excellent with a large breakfast and half board option. The menu changes daily with excellent local dishes at reasonable prices.

Libertalia organises whale watching trips several times a week, with an excellent chance of seeing these magnificent creatures. They occasionally even approach the shore. The hotel puts on a whale briefing on the evening before the trip which is fun and interactive.

Our hosts could not do enough for us, and we would recommend this to absolutely anybody

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadi2, Gérant at Hotel Libertalia, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Google Translation
toute l'équipe du Libertalia se joint à moi afin de vous remercier d'avoir pris quelques minutes pour faire part de vos ressentis lors de votre séjour au Libertalia et à Sainte-Marie!
nous vous recevrons encore avec autant de plaisir et espérons vous revoir. malgré la difficulté actuelle du pays, nous donnerons toujours le maximum afin de nous assurer que votre séjour se passe bien et que l'on puisse partager des souvenirs a garder en mémoire. les baleines continuent à animer nos journées! le bonjour à toute la joyeuse famille. Sophie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Libertalia (late May, early June 2013) was wonderful. The bungalows are clean, well appointed and safe. The food was quite good and the restaurant has a very cozy atmosphere. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly and we had little trouble bridging the language gap. Can't say enough about how wonderful Sophie was! She provided information and advice when we initially booked our three night stay, kept in contact via email to help us deal with logistics prior to our arrival and made tour arrangements while we were there. There is plenty to see and do on the island and everything is within walking distance or a short tuktuk ride away. Highly recommend visiting the island and staying at the Hotel Libertalia. An excellent value and an all around fun place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanuCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadi2, Gérant at Hotel Libertalia, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay with us. despite the language barrier everything is important to get to understand you and thus satisfy your cravings as well as possible. we will continue to improve our English and enable more meaningful exchanges. pleasure to welcome you again;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

As I'm writing this we are actually sat in front of the most beautiful ocean view waiting for our last meal of our stay at Hotel Libertalia.

When you book half board you expect the typical buffet choice changing every day, however, this is certainly NOT the case here. We have sampled everything from lobster to crab to delicious Zebu steak! The food here is honestly the finest we have ever had and we have travelled and eaten in many different places!
Sainte Marie and Madagascar is a gem of a place to find adventure, relaxation and wonderful weather and this hotel just made the whole trip perfect.
The rooms/bungalows are perfectly sized with a great big hot (or cold if you wish) and powerful shower. The seaview from every bungalow is amazing especially at sunset.
Entertainment is provided on some nights which really captures the traditions and spirit of this wonderful island.
The service is unlike anything else in the world, Even with minimal to no french, the staff were on hand to answer every question we had and helped make our short stay magnifique!

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadi2, Gérant at Hotel Libertalia, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
all libertalia's staff is joinning me to thank you about your message. we will always do our best to satisfy every one coming visiting us. see you soon maybe for the whale's watching season?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

One of the nicest places along the beach. It is the the first hotel south of town (towards airport). Easy 2km walk to town (relaxed 30 min walk). Hotel will arrange taxi pu for 20,000 MGA from airport - about 15 minutes. The road literally runs along the coast/beach which means it is also right behind virtually every hotel & bungalow along the coast. But beware: it is not the road that will keep you awake, it is surf - very calm water but it echos & is amplified night. Wear ear plugs if light sleeper. Libertalia are series of bungalows to serve needs of couples, friends, or families. All are relatively private, smaller units right on the beach. Very clean, plenty of hot water, and nicely sized with nets and fans. We stayed 9 nights. Restaurant offers good service for breakfast, lunch, dinner & snacks. Mains are 18,000 MGA with usually 3 offerings available. Very good value, tasty and well portioned and very good variety offered over our stay. We visited several other properties along the coast, and were very happy with our choice - would stay again. Only drawback is beach is not suitable for swimming, however they have built a long dock out to rock island where swimming & snorkeling is possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisdomExchangeTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadi2, Gérant at Hotel Libertalia, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
thank you from all of us, the staff and the managment; we will continue on this way to make all of our guest happy and to help them in discovering our island;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
5.1 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
12.9 mi away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lakana Hotel
Lakana Hotel
#6 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#7 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.6 mi away
Soanambo Hotel
Soanambo Hotel
#5 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
9.1 mi away
Masoandro Lodge
Masoandro Lodge
#10 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Libertalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Libertalia

Property: Hotel Libertalia
Address: Bellevue | BP 34, Nosy Boraha, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Libertalia 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Sainte Marie Madagascar or Nosy Boraha is traditionally known as “Island of the pirates” .It is separated from mainland Madagascar by a narrow channel and remains a small green paradise preserved from mass tourism. An oasis of tranquility surrounded by luxurious gardens, our hotel has views of the setting sun with 180° panorama.Well sheltered from the brisk South-eastily winds, Libertalia is easily recognisable by its rock, a place to observe whales , and go for a spot of snorkeling and a swim (rare in the south island)Welcoming and friendly , it has had a reputation of being excellent value for money and high quality service for over 10 years.Ideally located, near the town, it is a starting point for many excursions all around Sainte Marie and is population, adept of “mora mora”, like “gently, gently”In season the hotel organizes whale watching in collaboration with CETAMADA. Martine and Didier, the owners who have a passion for whales, are two founding members of this association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Libertalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Libertalia Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing