We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Masoandro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Masoandro Lodge
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Nosy Boraha
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The food and service was excellent, the staff and managers totally accommodating..... the setting is wonderful, far enough away to not be right in the main stream and close enough to everything being right in the middle of the isle.... I will share a secret..... we went in the "off" season, over Christmas..... no whales, but everything else is there, and we were the only guests in the hotel!! Was wonderful, skinny dipping and cavorting on the private beach in an empty hotel! Felt like teenagers again.. still!!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are worth the pennies extra....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyszardP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H, Responsable relations clients at Masoandro Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear clients,
Thanks so much for your nice comment on Tripadvisor. It was a real pleasure for our team to receive you in an hotel which was ONLY FOR YOU. Offer you good holidays and lot of loving memories is our reward. Best regards :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at the Masoandro Hotel for three nights and were generally pleased. Our reservation included pick-up and drop-off at the airport both of which happened as planned.

Our cottage had a beautiful view overlooking the ocean and was very comfortable as we even got a usable WiFi signal. We took a whale watching trip with the hotel and it was very rewarding. The atmosphere is this hotel is very relaxing with a high level of service.

The meals were excellent which is important as there is really no alternative eating places within walking distance. The meals are expensive so we opted for half-board to make it more affordable.

One thing that you must be aware of is the isolation Masoandro Hotel. This means that the options of going off the property are pricey. For example, we wanted to visit L'île aux Nattes but were told that we'd have to rent a taxi for the whole day since one way taxi rides were not possible. We there no mopeds or motor scooters to rent and if we rented an ATV we'd have to hire a guide to accompany us. Finally we opted to rent bikes to get off the property but the bikes were in a poor state of repair with poor brakes and inoperable gear changers.

In conclusion, the Masoandro Hotel is ideal for those looking for excellent food and who want to stay on a comfortable property as venturing off the property is not trivial.

Room Tip: Ensure that you get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tletter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My wife and i stayed here for 8 nights and we were both pretty sad to leave, the staff could not be any more helpful and the management were so kind to us. Excurtions can be booked at reception so dont worry about booking in advance. Whale watching is a must during june, july, august, and september, the hotel have a small motorboat and will do there best to get you up close to the playful humpbacks, we went out twice and could not have hoped for more as we saw a breach right in front of us! But you can also view the whales from the pool area...we saw one swim by as close as 50 meters away, but most are further out...so take your binoculars.
We also went for a walk in the forest, we were given a guide to hacked a pathway for us to walk through, it was abit of a treck to get there and i was expecting an easier walk to be honest but it was still worth doing...and yes there are snakes in the forest so keep your eyes peeled - nothing poisonous in madagascar though so dont worry.
We also did the 4x4 drive to the east side of the island, the water looked lovely but it had a very strong current so make sure you can swim properly as we had a battle getting back to shore after snorkling and my wife struggled a little! I could have lived without that particular trip and if i went again i wouldnt rush to do that one, but you do get to drive through the markets and see the heartbeat of the island along the way.
Food was lovely and the pizza was the only thing i we did not enjoy, everything else was top notch!!
Playing table tennis after our meals became a routine thing. Mosquito's were not too much of a problem, the mozzys took a blood sample from me on the first night but left me alone from then on...i obviously didnt taste very good. But spray up to be sure!!
There is also a netball court on the beach if you are feeling active.
All in all we LOVED the masoandro lodge and cant thank them enough for the great time that we had...it gets the thumbs up from us!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wiggyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

WOW, what a hotel. I came here on honeymoon with my husband and we were so sad to leave! During June till September, the ocean plays hosts to the Hump Back Whales, this is their breeding ground, so do pack your binoculars, you will need them! We were able to watch the whales play and learn from our bungalow and from the pool. We went out on the hotel boat which was the most memorable trip ever, we saw so much and learned a lot about the whales.

I know there have been a few bad reviews about this hotel, but having been here, I don't know what that guest was thinking! The hotel was badly damaged during a monsoon three years ago, maybe that was the reason. I dislike the way he commented about the staff, the people we met who worked at the hotel certanly did not smell of decay. At one point we were the only guests at the hotel and the staff were so attentative, even when the hotel played host to quite a few guests, the staff were just as attentive to us and our needs.

The food at the hotel is fantastic, there is a normal menu for food in the day that has local dishes, meat and fish dishes and some pizza's. The evening menu changes each night, we had a choice of two options for starter and main, the pudding only had the one option. We ate so well, there wasn't a dish we didn't like.

There are staff there fluent in English and French, I'm not sure what other languages they cater for here.

We do recommend going into the local village and going whale watching on the hotel boat which is 75 Euros each for a whole day and 40 Euros for a half day. There are some other trips available but these are the ones we enjoyed.

I can't encourage people more to come here but this holiday really has been the best holiday I have been on and I would love to come back one day.

There are two types of bungalows with the hotel, one is quite basic, its a large room with a toilet and shower room off it, these don't have ceilings so you do hear everything, they have a small veranda overlooking the beach but it is a restrictive view. The other is a large bungalow, it has one main bedroom, a large bathroom and a sitting room with TV and mini bar which the other room doesn't have, this bungalow has a very large veranda with much better views over the ocean.

If you are bringing children, they do have a ping pong table, push bikes, swimming pool and a few board games in the restaurant. The hotel also rents out quad bikes and motorbikes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank London_Scooter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
14.2 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
269 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
167 reviews
12.6 mi away
Soanambo Hotel
Soanambo Hotel
#7 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Natiora Green Lodge
Natiora Green Lodge
#5 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
66 reviews
9.8 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#6 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
86 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lakana Hotel
Lakana Hotel
#8 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masoandro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masoandro Lodge

Property: Masoandro Lodge
Address: Sainte Marie | Sainte-Marie, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nosy Boraha
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Masoandro Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masoandro Lodge is a 3 stars charming ecolodge for nature lovers. The hotel is located on a hill and looks down on a wonderful private cove, on the West coast of Sainte-Marie island and 45 minutes far from the airport (by car). Masoandro Lodge is nestled among lush greenery, with a breathtaking view on the sea and on Madagascar.The gardens, regularly treated against mosquitoes, are a quiet and serene environment for resting and forgetting the city life.The Ikalalao and Ampatsy forest are just a few steps away and offer opportunities of nice walks. We have the free WIFI connection at the restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Masoandro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masoandro Hotel Ile Sainte-Marie (Nosy Boraha)
Masoandro Lodge Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing