We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosy Boraha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Petite Traversee
Ranked #2 of 14 Nosy Boraha B&B and Inns
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We chose this resort as we wanted somewhere relaxed, friendly, small, with excellent food, in a beautiful location and with good snorkelling. La Petite Traversee had it all and more! We also met interesting people from all over the world and enjoyed our evening chats around the dinner table. Apart from the owners, we were the only South Africans there at the time. Ockie and Vince went out of their way to make us feel at home. We enjoyed walking around the island, exploring the beaches and visiting different little restaurants for a drink along the way. Watching the sunset from the beach around the corner was amazing. A pirogue trip around the island was also a highlight, as was the walk to the little old lighthouse in the south. Oliver's food was really great too. We loved the fresh fish option every night. I still miss the tomato salad - tomatoes at home don't taste like that. All in all, this was a dream holiday and excellent value for money too, even when you earn 'Rands'. Thank-you to all the staff at La Petite Traversee.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
56
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Put simply - this is a lovely place to stay and I endorse what all my other fellow guests have posted in their reviews. As a solo traveller, I particularly appreciated the convivial 'family' atmosphere - as guests we ate (the delicious food) together and, if you didn't feel like quiet or private time in your chalet or elsewhere on the island, there was always a fun card game, movie or random dicussion to get stuck into afterwards instead. If you are particularly (un)lucky you might even get the chance to have some of Ockie's famous calamari rum...!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumquat_may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brezice, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I can only say that I will never forget staying at La Petite. I dont know how they do it, but in a second you feel like you live there. I have to talk about the food! It is sooo good! The thing I like the most, beside all the other stuff witch is really good described in the other postes, are the portions! They make big, sweet, portions of food and their taste is AMAZING, so you can eat a lot and not be hungry like in other French restorants in Madagascar! And even if you are still hungry, you can order a pizza and its like a pariadise on earth! Another advise if you can play poker with Ockie, you can take money from him :) But not with Vincent, he is a good player.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepce87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berne Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

this was the last "station" of our 4 weeks trip in Madagascar.we did already expect a lot after all the great places we`ve already been, but we found heaven on earth on this beautiful small spot!!!!it`s not only that the bed is very confy, the shower is perfect and the view stunning-you have the noise of the waves and the wind in your ears while your drifting slowly in your dreams.in the morning it is very easy to get up, because you know you`ll have a great breakfast and already on the way to this meal you gonna get a lot of smiling from the great stuff who tries /and does everything that your stay is perfect.even when you`re hanging around there, it is not borring at this place.you`ll always find somebody to talk.you have books there, games, you have those five lemurs that are coming to eat three times a day (you can feed them),-(you have Ockies dog who will also eat some banana, because she is jealous of the lemurs ..)you can sit in the small natural swimmingpool with some nice fishes or/and a drink, or you just look around and think "is this real or am i in paradise already".A walk around the Island is worth and easy done in 3 hours.If you are lazy, do it in a pirogue.Ockie (the owner) will do a trip with you to watch the whales, if you want.What an unforgetable experience!After a great day you can look forward to the evening:Oliver the cook is such a talent!what we ate wasn`t "only" very very very tasty, it also looked always great!you can choose between two meals.and you have always a starter and a dessert.everybody is sitting at the same table and you immediately feel like sitting with friends together.i loved this atmosphere!!!But you also have enough space/silence to get your privacy if you need it.In the nights we played once poker, once Ockie taught us a very funny card-game, we watched a movie, had discussions and laughed a lot!the combination of those southafrican and malagassy guys makes a perfect crew!the three of us (39,36 and 14) felt from the first moment that this place is special and worth to come back soon!Ockie, Thomas,Vincent,Pepe, Oliver and and and thanks a lot for those great 5 days we could spend with you!switzerland is far away, but we`ll come back for sure!p.s i forgot to write that they make delicious pizzas!!!

Room Tip: we had the family bungalow which has two rooms.one room is with a big bed, the other has 3 small bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at La Petite for 5 nights in June/July.
When we arrived we were greeted by friendly Florio at the Sainte Marie airport. From there he took us across to La Petite on his pirogue. That was the start of a week in paradise...

Okkie and Vince were the most amazing hosts. The evenings were spent socialising - we learnt to play a good few card games and got to watch some great DVDs on Okkie's projector. During the day we were able to do our own thing. We spent a day on Sainte Marie visiting the pirate cemetery and the old church and had a great lunch in town at Idylle Beach. We also took a pirogue ride around the island with Florio and we went up to the lighthouse. Florio took us out for some snorkeling off of Sainte Marie. The quality was stunning; the water is warm, crystal clear, urchin-free and shallow enough to stand.

The food at La Petite was out of this world - kudos to Oliver, he's the best chef in Madagascar! Fresh fish and crab was a given, and the desserts were so creative.

The attitude of the islanders is in stark contrast to those of Tana. Their motto is "mora mora" - meaning "slowly, slowly". It couldn't be more spot on! The villagers are incredibly friendly and they go out of their way to impress tourists. The most amazing swimming beach is just a few meteres down from La Petite.

We were incredibly lucky, as the whales made their way through when we were there. Okkie took us out whale watching on his boat - wow! What an experience; truly exhilarating.

The rooms were serviced while we were at breakfast - they were kept incredibly clean. All basics are accounted for, including a comfy bed, mosquito net, hot water and functioning toilet, a basic safe, etc.

We experienced great weather. Out of the 5 days we spent on the island, it drizzled lightly on and off for 2 and the rest were clear and hot.

All in all, La Petite is great value for money and the perfect mix of entertainment and relaxation. It's a real toes-in-the-sand experience - leave your heels and fancy clothes at home. Bring a fun, friendly, unassuming attitude along and you're sure to enjoy the South African hospitality of La Petite that's second to none. If you're looking for a commercialised resort that requires zero effort, then this isn't the place for you.

On a side note - if you're worried about the highly-publicised "political unrest", don't be. We were in Tana (Madagascar's bustling capital) on Independence Day, with inebriated locals everywhere, and not once did we see any form of violence or feel uncomfortable or unsafe. Everyone was extremely accommodating and so long as you are friendly, it's how you'll be treated in return.

We'll return as soon as we can, especially to La Petite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My mother and I spent 5 very happy days at La Petite Traversee in June 2013. Thank you so much to Ockie, Vincent, Olivier, Pepe, Georgette and Florio for making us feel so welcome. Not being able to speak French - which is something of a problem as a traveller in Madagascar - it was great arriving at a resort where everyone can speak English. We loved the communal meals, evening entertainment and many interesting discussions and felt so at home. I've read many of the other reviews and most of them are accurate - this is a great little resort! Great value for money. All the meals were superb, as were the pizzas made in the pizza oven which we often had for lunch . Definitely the best pizzas on the island! If you are after luxury this is not for you. The chalets could do with a face lift - walls need a lick of paint, toilet didn't flush that well, and basin tap leaked, as did the roof.,,, not to mention that there was no door to our bathroom, but the many positives made up for any discomfort, which given our overall experience we didn't mind that much. Rustic the chalets certainly are. And now to the highlight of our stay - the beautiful black and white ruffed lemurs. They are wild and live in the trees above and around the resort but are used to people as Ockie feeds them loads of bananas every day! Whether this is right or wrong - but bear in mind that these lemurs were brought to Il Aux Nautte and this is not their natural habitat - it made for an incredible up-close experience and definitely the highlight of our entire holiday in Madagascar. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone contemplating a holiday in Madagascar. All in all a great and memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just a short pirogue trip from ile Saint Marie, La Petite Traversee is the perfect place to relax after travelling Madagascar by taxi-brousse. The bungalows are reasonable value and have hot showers and mosquito nets (very necessary). Breakfast is a bit pricey considering the minuscule piece of sausage you get but there's free tea, coffee and fruit included too. There is no beach at the hotel but it's only a few minutes walk to the nearest one and some great snorkeling. The only annoying thing was some over-zealous piroguers who kept hassling us to hire them for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
1.2 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#3 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
275 reviews
18.9 mi away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
171 reviews
16.5 mi away
Natiora Green Lodge
Natiora Green Lodge
#5 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Soanambo Hotel
Soanambo Hotel
#6 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maningory
Hotel Maningory
#12 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
67 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lakana Hotel
Lakana Hotel
#8 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Petite Traversee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Petite Traversee

Property: Hotel La Petite Traversee
Address: Ile Aux Nattes | St Marie Island, Nosy Boraha, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nosy Boraha
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petite Traversee is a small boutique island lodge on Ile aux Nattes,the most beautiful little island off Madagascar. Winner of the prestigious Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence award in 2013 and 2014 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Petite Traversee Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing