We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riake Resort & Villa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nosy Boraha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This resort is not a bed and breakfast in the traditional sense! 8 bungalows and one larger "villa" located on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. You have a choice of meal plans, with each of the units having kitchen facilities - but you will need to plan your food purchases before you arrive at the resort as it is about an hour from town. Developed and operated by Italian Maurice and French Helene, you will be pampered if you choose, or left to your own devices if that is your wish. We had all of our meals prepared at the restaurant. Maurice is very proud of his Italian Pasta dishes (for good reason), and Helene makes great deserts. We stayed in the family "Villa: with three bedrooms and right above the beach. We were brought a wonderful picnic on the beach, and hiked to a local village. You will come as guests, but leave as friends. Maurice and Helene can arrange excursions for you, horseback on the beach, whale watching, etc. You will be met at the airport, you can stop in the town for ATM access and there is a duty free store for those of you interested in great french wines. All and all a wonderful place to relax. Bring your snackfoods with you. The photo is from our "villa"

Room Tip: All of the bungalows overlook the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sailmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiakeDirection, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riake Resort & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Thank you very much for your beautiful commentary, We are very happy that you loved so much this place. We hope to see you again someday.

Maurizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

I came across Riake Resort and Villa when looking up hotels in Ile Sainte Marie, and was immediately drawn by its beautiful photos and location. My expectations were exceeded by far- it is a beautiful, natural, and peaceful place, run by lovely people who take care of your every need. Each bungalow looks out on a peaceful white sand beach, and at night you are lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean. I have never seen so many stars at night as I did there, it was honestly breathtaking.

Meals are served either at your own private table on the beach, or in the resort's restaurant. The food is delicious- fresh local fruit, homemade bread and crepes, pasta, local seafood, and much more. Very high quality and lovely service.

The resort offers a number of activities- horsebackriding, snorkeling, trips to other nearby islands, hikes, tours through the mongroves in a typical "pirogue" boat, quad (ATV), and more. I traveled there solo and was not bored for one second. Also for families it is perfect, and also couples as it is very romantic and serene. I originally planned to stay for 6 days and ended up extending my stay for 3 more days because I had such a nice time. I won't forget my stay there, and hope to be able to return one day.

Please see my photos because they speak a thousand words...

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
5  Thank Joannevdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiakeDirection, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riake Resort & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Thank you very much for your beautiful commentary, We are very happy that you loved so much this place. We hope to see you again someday.

Maurizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I made a half day trip to Riake Resort for Horse riding. The owner picked me up from hotel Libertalia near center (the place is quite far away from the center, maybe an half hour ride). The place is really beautiful and I was so impressed that the owner had built and designed everything by himself. The beach is huge and peaceful, it's an only hotel in the area! Owner's partner Helene is a wonderful person and kept me company as I was traveling alone. We made a horse riding trip to the beach. It was my first time riding the horse, and everything went well and I felt secured. The lunch (home made gnocchis) was so good and tasteful, I think a best meal I had in Madagascar, although the price was a bit high for a student.
I recommend this place with all my heart and I hope I can return there some day.

Room Tip: All rooms looked amazing and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiakeDirection, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riake Resort & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Thank you very much for your beautiful commentary, We are very happy that you loved so much this place. We hope to see you again someday.

Maurizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Zinaha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiakeDirection, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Riake Resort & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank minagu54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiakeDirection, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Riake Resort & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bungalow luxe
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank patriciaverselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiakeDirection, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Riake Resort & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank najo974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiakeDirection, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Riake Resort & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
17.7 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
295 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lakana Hotel
Lakana Hotel
#8 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
102 reviews
5.1 mi away
Masoandro Lodge
Masoandro Lodge
#11 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Natiora Green Lodge
Natiora Green Lodge
#5 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
76 reviews
12.9 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#6 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
105 reviews
16.1 mi away
Soanambo Hotel
Soanambo Hotel
#7 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riake Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riake Resort & Villa

Address: Sahasifotra, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Price Range: £40 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riake Resort & Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North-East of Sainte-Marie (Madagascar), you will receive a warm welcome at the Riake Resort & Villa. You can find at the heart of an overwhelming natural beauty, overlooking a magnificent, white-sandy beach. The Riake Resort and Villa combines nature, comfort and luxury and was built in harmony with the local environment. At the Riake Resort & Villa, you will be able to enjoy the most pleasant climate on the island. A constant slight breeze maintains pleasant temperature all year long, and keeps the mosquitoes at bay.The Riake Resort & Villa opened in August 2011 and is the perfect place to relax, enjoy open air activities and immerse you in local traditions and customs. Welcome to the Riake Resort & Villa, a taste of paradise for you to discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riake Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riake Resort & Villa Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing