We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on a great beach!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosy Boraha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Nosy Boraha
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel on a great beach!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We had a excellent vecation in hotel Ravoraha. Our bungalow was just by the beach. For us it was great that the hotel is in between the village houses where you can see the children play in the see and the men fishing. All the people in the village were very friendly. Food in the restaurant was excellent. The owners helped us so much with every problem we had with our travelling! Sophie, the owner, really made our trip special! Special thanks to our guide Anthony! I would wisit this hotel again any time!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Johanna_Katariina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    61
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
73
140
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Relaxed atmosphere, clean bungalows and wonderfull beach right in front of the hotel. A few minutes walking distance from the airport. Dinner was great each time, fresh seafood served in malagasy way. Breakfast didn't meet the expectations after first night's dinner but was decent anyway. Free wifi in the lobby (at least I wasn't able to make it work in the bungalow). Staff was very helpfull and friendly. Special thanks to Antonio for showing us around the island! Owner Sophie helped us a lot with arrangements such as hiring a car and driver on mainland.
Neighbours seemed to love music and started playing it from the moment they woke up (which
was early). There's also a bunch of children playing on the beach from early morning till sunset. I wasn't bothered at all but if you are looking for complete silence this might be annoying. For all the others I can highly recommend this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elina924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

after three weeks of travel through the inland of madagascar we were looking for some sunny relaxation time. Unfortunately,  we did not find this in this hotel. 
there were some small problems in the room which took 5 times of asking to the responsible before the problems were fixed. everytime, they "forgot".
what is described on the website as "located in the heart of a charming fishing village" means in reality the presence of very loud music just outside of the bungalow from  7 am to 10 pm. of course the wooden bungalows are far from soundproof so we were also  woken several times at 6.30 am by the sound of playing children of other hotel guests in the yard. 
power faillures occurred every day during our stay from about 4 pm to somewhere in the middle of the night.  this resulted in low water pressure in the shower.
free wifi is only near the lobby. you only get a limited credit that needs to be recharched at least twice a day (you have to ask every time) if you are just checking emails and facebook. 
if you are thinking to take the half pension formula (only this was possible for us), then please be aware that this doesn't include drinks (not even water) and drinks are very expensive (more expensive than princess bora for example). they really take advantage of this.
laundry service was also a day later than agreed which was very inconvenient for us since we were counting on wearing those clothes that day.
on the website it is mentioned that "you have the opportunity to meet local and friendly people". in reality this means constant disturbance when you are lying on the beach from locals who are trying to sell sculptures,  massages,  oil, etc. when leaving the hotel, we were staked for 1 km (!) by a local trying to get us into his boat to go to ile aux nattes (he was waiting for us at the entrance of the hotel). personnel of the hotel are also pushing you to make reservations for whale watching, 4x4 car trips and so on. unfortunately, it is much more expensive to book with them than anywhere else.
worst of all, when we politely talked to the hotel manager about some of these problems, all complaints were minimized. moreover, we were told that probably we were the problem and that maybe we needed some time to reflect and adjust to the malagassy culture. they said that "90 % of customers are happy so the other 10 % (we) must have made a wrong choice". no apology nor compensation was offered. after this we decided to move to the lakana hotel, where for a similar price you get a equal but much more relaxing accommodation with a good and friendly service, which was not the case here
in summary,  I would not recommend this rather expensive hotel to anyone seeking relaxation time and good service. we had several complaints but were arrogantly ignored by the hotel management in a way I've never experienced before.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravoraha M, Propriétaire at Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for your stay in our hotel.
We will briefly tell you again what we explained to you during your stay and resume step by step what you reproach us.

Yes indeed you hear background music as our hotel is in the center of village.
We are not isolated from the world and it is sufficiently explained on our website and also by all the positive reviews of our clients on the trip advisor site.
We are sorry that the children of our other clients you have awakened in the morning, it is very difficult to prevent the children of our other customers to play while parents are just quoting.

When power cut (which is extremely common throughout Madagascar) for the convenience of our customers we have implemented in every bathroom and every rooms, blocks light powerful aid for an autonomy of almost 3 hours.
Indeed, at these power cuts water supply to pass suppressor water tower which causes a small loss of pressure in the shower.

Wifi is free and unlimited options, it does not have to be reloaded, but you must log in as you leave the wifi area and you return to this area.

As all drinks are not included in the half board.
At the rates DRINKS, they are clearly displayed on the map, here for example:
gas drinks 2500ar approx € 0.90,
the spring water 1.5 liter or beer ar 4000 ar approx € 1.40,
coocktail 9000 ar approx € 3.30, coocktail alcohol 10000 ar € 3.67
this does not seem very expensive as you say.

At your concern about the laundry you left us in the morning and you have not had the same evening, but the next morning you should know that we do not tumble dry, and we are sorry that not respond to this expectation because the machine was not dry that night.

At sellers and boatmen who offer their services as everywhere on the island, know that this is their only means of survival, livelihood, it allows them to feed their families, do not take it as an attack, because there are respectful and as a rule, not pushy.

For excursions, they are offered by our staff and the prices are clearly displayed on the website and in our facility, you can not "push" not to make them like you say.

You want financial compensation for what you felt uncomfortable, we are sorry, but this is not the policy of the house to meet this kind of blackmail and yes, it is true most of our customers appreciate our hotel and its concept.
We are sorry that it is not up to your expectations.
greetings Sophie & Co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

3 minutes walking distance to the airport. a fantastic beach, very clean bungalows, helpfull friendly staff, great food. a paradise by the white sand beach. ıt is a bit far from the downtown. Eventhough the bungalows just by the sea have wonderful views from the balcony, I can say that it can be very noisy (wind, waves, children of the neighbourhood villagers, high volume music lover villagers early in the morning etc) during the very early hours of the morning. Cause life starts there very early in the morning. Staff is amazing, as much as the lovely and beautiful owner Sophie. for excursions, they recommend you alternatives, as you are away from the main locations you need to trust them.
WATCH-OUT: 1- no credit cards accepted. bring cash. and no USD is accepted bring Euro or RAR with you. 2- in case of power cuts, hotel can provide you electricity and depending on this water only during limited hours in the morning and evening. 3-there is no wifi and they do not let you to use their only computer in the reception.
PS. facilitiy has a night guard all night long.

Room Tip: as there are limited number of bungalows, book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ufuk_A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We are really glad to have chosen this hotel. Everything was fine: location (5 min walk from the airport, but you don't hear any noise!), bungalows and lobby decoration, food in the restaurant, staff attitude...
You feel very welcome there since the first moment, home feeling. Special thanks are for the owner Sophie and her colleague Ezio who confirm their professionnalism by their nice, friendly and helpful approach.
I find the meals quite expensive, but can easily understand it - we are on a small island... Quality and variety of food is great, you eat well here in French way! Just was missing yogurts in the morning....
Only thing is the beach, you can not really swim there. You can do nice walks and enjoy Ile aux Nattes which is really closed! If you need calm and isolated place, maybe this is not the best choice - just beside you have small houses of local people, so can enjoy the friendly local environment.
Cool atmosphere in Saturday evening during the concert...
It was nice to get asleep under waves "music" after having enjoyed African stars! This place makes you dreaming to be back on Sainte Marie island!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

First impressions were very good. It looks pretty cool - the 'lobby/lounge' is like an old pirate ship. All seemed good. We got to the rooms, seemed fine. 24/7 electricity and hot water, which is always a bonus. It's on the beach and looks right out at the sea, as you'd expect from a beach bungalow place, so you cant really give extra points for that.

That evening we were relaxing in the outdoor bar/restaurant area when the waiter came to introduce himself. It became very obvious, very quickly that his main interest in us was what activities he could arrange for us. Naturally we wanted to go whale watching which he scampered off to arrange. We were told, when he got back that we couldn't go because the weather was going to be too dangerous in the morning. We thought, fair enough. Then we suggested we might do a quad bike trek around the island instead. Again he went to arrange it and came back to say that it would be 300,000 Ariary. Odd, we thought, seeing as in our room we had a flyer from the same place he had just arranged it with saying it was 250,000. I corrected him and went to get proof. It was a bare faced and transparent attempt to con me out of 50,000 ariary.

Then in the morning, we were told that despite the sea looking absolutely serene and there being no wind it was far too dangerous to go whale watching but that we could definitely go at 2pm by which time it would be calm. However, we had already decided to go out exploring the island on quad bike - he was insistent upon wanting to come with us to 'show us' where the place was. Seeing as it was next door to the hotel, we obviously didn't need his help and went on our own.

On our way, we stopped in at the Princess Bora next door to verify these 'facts' about the boats. Our suspicions that we were being lied to were confirmed - they told us that the weather couldn't be more perfect. We booked with them to go the following day.

That evening, we were told by the waiter and the lay who owns the place that we could go on a boat the following morning, but that we'd need to do it then as the weather was going to be too dangerous again after that until the following monday. More lies.

The next nasty surprise, which isn't really their fault, comes from that the people in the neighbouring village (which means literally a matter of 10ft from the bungalows) start blasting out truly dreadful music at 6am in the morning at extraordinary volumes. I'm talking Celine Dion remixes.

Then, while we were eating our breakfast, the waitress started trying to sell us wooden carvings. We couldn't believe it.

That evening, I wasn't really sure I wanted what was on the set menu so I asked if I could see the 'a la carte' menu (which would cost me more, rather than the included half board set menu). I was shown the menu, decided I did after all want the set menu, which I confirmed with the waiter. I then saw the waiter getting chastised by his manager. The waiter then came over and chastised me for daring to ask for the menu! I was gobsmacked. He told me, quite annoyed, if I want something from the 'a la carte menu' not the set menu, I have to tell them by 4pm! Crazy!

When you combine this deceit, inflexibility, inappropriate behaviour along with the smiles through gritted teeth from the owner, the noisy neighbours it's very hard to recommend Ravoraha.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jakzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

As Madagasca first timers we booked all hotels on the recommendation of a friend, guidebooks and Tripadvisor - were we found Eco-Lodge Ravoraha.

Despite staying in much more expensive hotels during our stay, Eco-Lodge was by far my favourite and great value for money. Sophie, our host was incredibly accommodating and helpful and the staff seemed genuinely happy and very attentive. It felt good to stay in a hotel which was giving something back to the community in which it was based rather than just making a profit from it.

Location - positioned at SW end of the island the hotel is close enough to walk to from the Airport and located in the village of Ravoraha. There are shops nearby and a few restaurants within a mile or so. (The west side is much more peaceful weather-wise) The garden and hotel are beautifully designed and maintained and our room was always spotless.

Accommodation - Bungalows are beautifully decorated, not luxury, but are well equipped, I didn't want for anything. (FYI it has fridge, fan and a safe, but no AC, TV, or internet access)

Beach - is clean, not that private but it's really easy to get to other more secluded beaches and I preferred seeing a bit of local life and meeting people.

Restaurant & Bar- is great. The food is fresh and delicious, breakfast was perfect; bread, cereal, hardboiled eggs, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and fresh fruit juice. A great plat du jour set menu every night as well as a menu with a good variety. Cocktails were the best I had on my whole trip, made with fresh fruit and lovingly by Orlando the bartender!

Sophie arranged two great trips for us and was always full of wonderful suggestions of where to eat and go. A trip to Ile aux Nates with a guide is well worth it and means you avoid having to choose which boat to take and see a lot more of the island life. We took a pirogue straight from the Hotel beach and ate THE most delicious lobster served in a malagasy style at Les Lemuriens

To sum up - out of all of the lodges I stayed in during my trip I would recommend Eco-Lodge Ravoraha above them all!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rinchen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
0.2 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
269 reviews
17.9 mi away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
167 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lakana Hotel
Lakana Hotel
#8 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Libertalia
Hotel Libertalia
#4 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Soanambo Hotel
Soanambo Hotel
#7 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
127 reviews
15.5 mi away
Natiora Green Lodge
Natiora Green Lodge
#5 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha

Property: Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha
Address: Ile Sainte-Marie | village Ravoraha 515, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nosy Boraha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel Ravoraha est un hotel balneaire de charme situe sur l' ile de Sainte Marie a Madagascar au coeur d'un village de pecheurs en complete harmonie avec son environnement naturel.C'est une petite structure intime et chaleureuse composee d'un bar restaurant et de 8 bungalows charmes qui s'elevent sur une plage de sable blanc bordee de cocotiers face au lagon.L ecolodge le Ravoraha ne fait pas partie de ces hotels fermes a la population locale . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing