We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel on an idyllic island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Nosy Boraha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It’s a beautiful hotel and was the perfect place to spend our honeymoon. The accommodation was faultless and was the probably the best we’ve stayed in. It was spotlessly clean and our room was great, complete with huge walk-in shower, sunken bath and massive bed. It was set right on the beach so we fell asleep to the sound of the waves lapping the shore outside.

The staff were polite, friendly and helpful at all times. They made lots of effort to make our honeymoon memorable, including candlelit meal on the beach.

What I liked about the hotel is that it’s not isolated from ‘real life’ as so many top hotels are, you actually get to see some real life – local people fishing in the sea, children playing on the beach, people just going about their day to day lives.

The island itself is fantastic, and well worth a tour round, either by tuk-tuk taxi or bike.

There’s plenty of opportunity to just chill out, but there are activities to do if you feel like it. We really enjoyed using the hotel’s free bikes to cycle round the island, there’s only one road and little traffic and you get a real feel for island life – would really recommend it. The hotel’s pool is great too as it’s not chlorinated, so is really nice to swim in.

The beach is picture-perfect, stereotypical ‘tropical island’ beach, with crystal clear water and framed with palm trees. It’s lovely but you can’t swim directly from the beach due to rocks and sea urchins. There’s a pier from the beach and there’s a small swimming area in the sea you can access from it. The hotel has snorkels that you can borrow to see the fish on the coral reef off the beach. Snorkelling is good and we saw a live clam, sea snake and lots of fish. Just beware of the tide as it’s pretty strong and can pull you onto the coral if you’re not careful.

If you visit at the right time, you’ll see whales as you sit at the hotel or on the beach. It’s truly amazing to be able to see whales from the land and even better to go out on one of their whale-watching tours to see them up-close. Wear swim-wear on the boat as you will get wet!

The hotel’s chef is incredible and the food is great, the– all very fresh, with lots of fish, salad, tropical fruit and even pizzas cooked in the wood-fired oven. Is worth going for the food alone!

The spa is amazing and I’d definitely recommend booking in for a treatment or two. We had massages to the sound of the rain falling onto the palm roof and it was incredibly relaxing, the best massages we’ve had.

It’s a lovely, relaxing place to stay and I’d highly recommend it – perfect hotel on a beautiful, idyllic island. Thank you Princesse Bora for a wonderful honeymoon.

Room Tip: Ask for one as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday_postcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear guest, thank you for this warm comment on trip advisor. You take time to describe very well all the things to do on Sainte Marie Island and I think this will be very helpful for futur travelers. As you say, we are not isolated from the malagasy life and our employees are all coming from the villages around. It is such a smilling island and easy people... Wr hope you'll come back to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Island of Ste Marie is a very idyllic location and offers a good place of rest after an intensive road trip through Madagascar. Princess Bora offers the best and most luxuruous place to stay on this island. We even saw whales passing by in front of the hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest, the team of Princesse Bora Lodge is glad to know that you enjoy your honeymoon with us. Sainte Marie Island is such a perfect place for a romantic stay. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is probably one of the best places that we've stayed in and in one of the best locations. For a start the island is gorgeous and the location of the lodge is great - sitting eating breakfast watching whales play in the sea no more than 200m away was magical. The staff are friendly, attentive and helpful; the layout and style of the villas is perfect both inside and out; the spa is excellent (the owner told us that they make all their essential oils by hand); the food was exceptional and despite a limited choice on the menu each night we were never disappointed; and finally a temperature controlled wine cellar with wines from France, South Africa and South America was the icing on the cake. The thought, care and consideration that has gone into this place from day one is obvious and we would return there without hesitation. We would like to say a big thank you to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable and hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 5av10ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear guest, we are very please to read your nice comment about Princesse Bora Lodge and Spa. All the team is dedicated to make your stay be special, and I can see we succeed. The whale season is one this incredible moments that you never forget, and that's why Sainte Marie Island is so unique. But each season of the year is different so we hope to welcome you again in Princesse Bora Lodge and Spa for another beautiful experience ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We truely loved our stay from the moment we arrived through to our last day. The restaurant is worthy of a michelin star, we looked forward to our meal every evening, as it was always beautifully presented and full of little surprises, our compliments to the chef!!

It was hard to leave, not only because of the hotel, it's location and the fantastic whale watching, but also because of our new found friends "Coco" and PLEASE DO NOT FEED ME "Jean" & "Yoko", the hotels pets!!

HAPPY MEMORIES
x

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you so much for this nice review. In Sainte Marie Island, we are very lucky with a huge variety of local food like tropical fruits, vegetables and fishes of course. Pleople from outside the Lodge enjoy to come on the Beach Grill Restaurant as well. We do a cuisine with malagasy, french and creole influences.
The pets are doing well and puppy Coco Chanel is growing very fast ... Maybe you'll be able to see her for your next holidays in the Lodge and see the difference ! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel from the moment the zebus arrived to collect us from the airport. We chose the hotel primarily for the whale watching and weren't disappointed. We saw plenty of whales from the organised tour as well as from our beach villa. Our marine biologist student Ranja was so enthusiastic and informative that we actually forgot how drenched through we were on our boat trip ( you will get wet!)
We were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary whilst in Madagascar and the hotel laid on a beautiful candlelit dinner on the beach and a celebratory cake, it was very romantic. Food is excellent and staff very attentive.
The beaches - especially on Ile de Nattes - were on a par with the best we've seen (including the Maldives) but the true gem was being able to mingle with the locals, go out adventuring on bikes and explore such a beautiful island feeling so safe. We had a particularly enjoyable trip to the local zoological park - very small but great fun if you enjoy going in with the animals and feeding locusts to chameleons.
In a nutshell everything was perfect, thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest, it was a pleasure to be part of your wedding anniversary and make it unforgettable !
It seems that you really appreciate the Lodge and Sainte Marie way of life ... all peaceful and far from massive tourism. We hope to see you soon again in Princesse Bora Lodge and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I don't know why Ile St Marie is not better known as a holiday destination but to be honest I'm glad- it's a little gem of an island and I would go back here any time.
We went because it ticked all the boxes- you can be active, ( cycle, walk, swim). Watch great wildlife (humpback whales and stunning birds), relax on the beach, eat beautiful food and drink lovely cocktails! what's not to like?
We had one of the standard bunglows so it wasn't flashy but it was everything we could want- decent sized bedroom with mozzie nets, nice big shower, wardrobe with plenty of space, little veranda with table, chair and a hammock where we could sit and watch the waves. Our bungalow was about 30 feet from the beach so if we couldn't be bothered to walk all the way to the infinity swimming pool (ooh it was several metres away...) or to the salt-water pool (several metres in the other direction), we could just go to the beach. Each bungalow has a little sunbathing area on the beach with a headrest, cushion and thatched shelter.
We went on the whale-watching trips which were amazing and wonderful but that said, some of the whales came so close to the shore that we could sit on the beach and watch them from there. The staff distribute sea-sickness pills before you get on the boat so be prepared to be jiggled around a bit and probably get rather wet.
We borrowed some cycles from the hotel and went for a ride to see other parts of the island and took a taxi to the pirate cemetery which was really interesting (NB: The taxi has to drop you a little way from the cemetery and then a paid guide takes you on a walk- sometimes crossing on wobbly stepping-stones, so maybe not suitable for people with mobility issues. Oh and make sure you have some small denomination notes for a tip).
The food was really delicious and you can order hot and cold snacks from 10am until 6pm which you pay for at the end of your stay. We were on a half-board basis and didn't find out until afterwards that it would have been cheaper for us to upgrade to full-board, rather than paying for lunches on a day-by-day basis. Never mind- the prices were so reasonable anyway that it didn't really matter- I think our bill for lunches, snacks, drinks and cocktails plus 3 whale-watching trips came to about £200 for the week.
It's a wonderful place for snorkelling and diving too- although I couldn't drag myself from my sun-lounger long enough to do any!
Health & safety rules on the island are "relaxed" but we felt safe and happy the whole time and it's also maybe worth noting that smoking is still allowed and personally, I didn't like sitting in a restaurant with people chain-smiking, albeit that the restaurant is quite open so it's not as bad as it could be.
The staff were all really friendly and very helpful. Most speak a little English but my schoolgirl french came in very useful.
The journey (5 mins approx) between the hotel and the airport is usually by zebu cart which was quite an experience (I just worried about whether the zebu were tired... I know I'm daft).
Be aware that at the airport, there is always a scramble from the local chaps who want to earn a tip by carrying your bags. They are really very pushy and persistant- trying at times to grab bags out of our hands and then they demand a tip and even tell you how much they expect you to give.
We visited in August and the weather was comfortably warm with a few heavy but short-lived showers.
Overall, I would recommend this place very highly and would love to go back- but please don't tell too many people or they'll all want to come!

Room Tip: They have different grades of bungalows- we had the basic and it suited us as we weren't inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonCLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear Traveler, thank you so much for taking the time to describe your stay at Princesse Bora Lodge and Spa. This is very useful and encouraging for all the team. We say a big thank you for choosing us and hope to welcome you again in the Lodge. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Princesse Bora, our last destination of a 16 day holiday in Madagascar. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The location, the accomodation and the cooking were all we could have hoped for. Our two main reasons for going to this hotel were for the whale watching and some R and R. We did two whale watching trips and saw about 20 humpbacks in all, including several babies , one only about 2 days old! The highlight of the trips was spotting a Southern Right Whale, which is on the endangered list. Whales were also visible from the restaurant, rooms and beach on several occasions putting on lots of displays of pectoral fin slapping and breaching for our entertainment. The hotel was very relaxing with plenty of opportunities to lie on sun beds or swim in the pool. We also had some Spa treatments which were as good as we have had anywhere in the world. All the staff were very friendly, well trained and accomodating to our needs, particularly in the restaurant where the standard of cooking, especially the desserts, was excellent. We had an executive villa which provided us with lots of room and an excellent terrace.
We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelmsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for this review, we can see you had an amazing time in Princesse Bora Lodge. The whales watching tour is a unique experience, and most of our guests say that they will remember it all their life !
The conditions here are really privileged, and the organisation and explanations from the volunteer of Cetamada ONG make it even better. We hope to see you again very soon on Sainte Marie Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
17.7 mi away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakana Hotel
Lakana Hotel
#8 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
102 reviews
14.2 mi away
Masoandro Lodge
Masoandro Lodge
#11 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Natiora Green Lodge
Natiora Green Lodge
#5 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Soanambo Hotel
Soanambo Hotel
#7 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
141 reviews
4.9 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#6 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa

Address: 13 Bp, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
#1 Spa Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Price Range: £107 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge of charm, allying luxury and wild nature in a typically tropical environment, Princesse Bora Lodge and Spa is a warm and human sized hotel. It takes place on Sainte Marie Island, East of Madagascar, a heaven of peace, far from mass tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesse Bora Hotel Ile Sainte-Marie (Nosy Boraha)
Princesse Bora Lodge And Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing