We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Port Dickson
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Port Dickson is one of the nearest beach resort from Kuala Lumpur. You can reach there in less than 2 hours.
I chose Thistle because it was renovated last year. Previously, it was Guoman. I noticed that the colour scheme was very contemporary. Facility are cleans and staffs are well trained. Suite room is big and comfortable.
Pool is huge and well maintained. Additional slides and kid pool were added. Some part of the pool is very deep like 2.5m. you need to take extra care for your children.
For adult, 9 holes golf course and Serantai Spa were excellent.
Besides, Team building facility like flying fox, spider web are available.
Beach is easy to access. the sea water is nothing impressive but the hotel made the effort to clean the beach and the price for the water activity is reasonable.
I highly recommend this hotel for family.

Room Tip: bring your golf club along for the 9 holes golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Thistle is a beautiful resort with so much potential but it is completely non child friendly and has extremely poor service and management. The staff were unhelpful and seemed to be completely out of the loop. No senior management were present when problems were reported. The staff there were clueless, unwilling to assist in our problems and seemed not to care (one being rather aggressive). They lacked basic management and customer service skills. You'll rarely find anyone attending the lobby bar which closes early (and it's your only option if you have children as the adults bar doesn't allow children under 18). Drinks are expensive and take 45 minutes to arrive. The lobby bar could be improved to create some atmosphere as it is totally dead all the time. However, breakfast was good and the staff working at this hour in this area were more helpful. We stayed with a group of people and we all had the same poor experience. it has the potential but definitely did not offer a 5 star hotel experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aussieabroad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Travel quite a bit and stayed in numerous accommodation types. Safe to say this hotel is worst ever! Really surprising considering it's supposed to be 5-star. From check in to check out, every bit of the experience was nasty.
1) Email from hotel during reservation stage quoted the "Time for Relaxing package" as 550RM++ (Friday-Saturday). Upon check in, was told 550RM was per room per night basis. Total con. Package by definition should be quoted as total number of nights. Per room per night was also nowhere in the terms and conditions
2) Paid for a "deluxe sea view" room. Upon check in, the sea was far far away. Instead it was really pool facing with noisy kids screaming their heads off. Hardly I quote: time for relaxing?!
3) Walls of this hotel are so incredibly thin. You could hear every footstep, every voice and there was not a minute of peace
4) Up till 1am, a group of clearly drunk people next room to us were laughing and shouting. Two calls to the hotel were made, but weak attempts were made by them to stop this. They merely pressed the doorbell and walked away when no one responded?!!

This experience was SOOoooo bad we had to cut our two night stay short and we were away 9am the next morning. Completely lost my trust in the Thistle brand of hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SGinTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

total crap .. well suited for the muslin's not people from the western country's , service rubbish ( take 20mins to find information out for you ) kids frowned upon if still up after 9pm as everything shuts down including the bar as it takes 45mins to get your drink after being served and it is very expensive . and the resort is stuck out in the middle of no ware , hope this helps you to decide so shop around ,

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank getitupyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I won a free stay here and frankly after all the rave reviews i had heard about the hotel, i was expecting a lot more. I mean don't get me wrong...it is a lovely hotel and very well maintained. But i think for the price they charge, it's a little steep

Staff : The staff was really a plus point for this hotel as they were very friendly and welcoming. However they took forever to bring our bags up to the room and we had to call down several times. Even when we asked them to come to the room to help us with something, it took more than an hour and we had to keep calling.

Room : The room was nice and big but sandy!!! And the door was a little faulty....the latch seemed to have a mind of it's own and we actually got locked-out of our room at 2am!!! So we had to call the maintenance guy to come and kick the door in!

Breakfast : Breakfast was another plus point as the spread was pretty good. And the staff there were very accommodating.

So would i go back there? Only if there is a 50% promotion off the rack rate :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My spouse and I booked a seaview room and we brought along my soon-to-be 2 year old boy and were given a room at the sixth floor. We check-in on a Sunday at about 1pm (past the check-out time). The hotel staffs are friendly and helpful, however, like some guests comments, the check-in procedure can be a turn-off. There is a separate check-in and check-out lane. However, spouse was directed to the check-out lane by the manager, but at the counter, he was told by the front desk staff that he was at the wrong counter. Nevertheless, my spouse managed to check-in after sounding the front desk staff that the manager directed him there.
The room is spacious and I especially like the super king sized bed. There were enough pillows and the bed was not as hard as I thought it would be. The toilet is clean and huge.
There were three swimming pools, the kids', the adults and infinity pool at the Cumulus. We ultilised the kids' pool the most. Beach towels are available at the counter near the adult pool. There is a Movie's room and a kids' playroom. We didn't ultilise both as the kids' playroom is chargable (which I think it should be free) and there is no notice in the Movie's room on how to ultilise.
Breakfast was good. Staffs were friendly and there were lots of choices, Asian, Western, Egg Station, cereals and all sorts of breads.
We went on a Sunday, that way, the resort is not so congested and we do not need to pay surcharge. It might be the best resort we have stayed in, but I would say, it's quite a retreat in PD.

Room Tip: Go on weekdays to avoid the corporate holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulyn y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We personally love this hotel. This is our second visit. Great food, The bedrooms are very nicely decorated and spacious. Very clean, Very huge pool, my kids loved it! Very helpful & friendly staff,. Good location. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
9.4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 38 in Port Dickson
1,218 reviews
5.5 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 38 in Port Dickson
1,471 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 38 in Port Dickson
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 38 in Port Dickson
812 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
4.3 mi away
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
#9 of 38 in Port Dickson
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range: £59 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing