We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Port Dickson
Reviewed 16 July 2014

had a deluxe room for the weekend .. Compliments to Raj who handled my check in smoothly and speedily. He also took the time to explain the services provided at the hotel.
beds were firm and had a spacious clean room - can accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids comfortably.
Love the large pool and beach activities like jet ski and banana boat which are complimentary. Beach is relatively clean by PD standards.

Must stay longer next visit

Bernard

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 401bernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband, 2 boys, my mother, father and sister stayed at Thistle PD between 7 - 9 June 2014. We booked 2 Deluxe rooms which were big enough to accommodate because it has a day bed.

What can I say, I've stayed at this hotel for the forth time over the last 10 years, it has certainly kept up its relaxing wide space aura. When you walk into the reception, you immediately get the feeling you are on a holiday. This is not the same if you walk into some other like-for-like price wise hotels in Port Dickson. Welcome drinks are available so you feel almost at home. The check-in process was rather confusing. There were no labels on the desk, so we did not know what was the process. After observing others, then only were we aware that we could go to any 4 desks. Checkout was also long because only two desks were manned.

The hotel has over the years started hiring foreign workers who could speak English as staff. They were equally helpful. Service was generally good. They have added a sundry shop (with very limited items), a games room, movie room which was comfortable but we felt dirty.

The children loved the pool and the beach. The sand here is much more pristine compared to other beaches. The best part of the package is that the sea sports were free. The pool needed cleaning we felt because it was murky, then again we arrived there on Sunday so perhaps after the weekend. The crowd was there though because it was the school holiday.

Overall the weekend away was good. It is still a good getaway for a KL folk like myself!

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view so that is nice. We got the rooms on the left wing if you are facing the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Shazyean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with two kids for a short family holiday. We had a great time and the service was good overall. Compliments to Manju and Chef Lam at the Chinoise restaurant who were helpful and friendly. It is a real credit to the hotel to have such enthusiastic staff who will go out of the way to make us happy. A few areas for improvement would be:
1) Not enough pool towels
2) Food was cold at buffet breakfast
3) My room bathroom had a rusty bath tub that needs to be changed
Overall we had a wonderful stay and would definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Khaywee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A bit late to review,but thats not stopping me from writing this as the hotel service was tremendous .My wife love it every second we r there.Big room, good choices of breakfast, and wide pool.Love to come again for holidays

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mohd Hafiz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed at Thistle several times.On this occassion we stayed for 3N/4D. We were simply awed by their pleasant and welcoming reception. Nichalraj, the front office manager was amazing. The moment he heard that my wife was recuperating from an illness, he sent a cake on behalf of the hotel. He called us everyday to inquire about my wife's health. A swan deco also adorned our our bedding every day. The front staff made our stay very pleasant with their warm greetings and salutations.Even the other staff like Ajinder made sure that or beach chairs were well maintained and assisted with the towels.At the resturant Asri and especially Ravi were there to assist all guests during meal times. This is what makes Thistle a Five Star Resort.
The room although dated was spacious and very clean. The view of the Straits of Malacca and the sunset was awesome.
The swimming pools were very clean and well maintained by Ajinder and his team.
The meals inculding the pizza, pasta & fish and chips were tasty at the Italian Resurant.
This is my choice of a superb and guestt friendly hotel.
Will definitely re-visit Thistle in the near future.

Room Tip: Always request a deluex room (in the higest floor) facing the sea for beautiful views of the sea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajendran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I spent one night at Thistle with 2 boys aged 3 and 6. They loved it. There was a Lego room, slides at pool, kids play room and a movie room. The pool was large and clean. I stayed in cheapest rooms they were a bit tired but the bed was huge and comfortable. The Buffet breakfast and dinner were ok but the lunch we ordered from the restaurant was awful! Overall a great stay with children. I would not go as a couple though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistleGMPD, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and have taken on board the comment on the tired rooms - we have in our 5-year plan to refurbish them. While we are happy that your overall stay was good, please accept our apologies on the food. The Chef has since been tasked to look into improving this area with better offerings that will meet your palate.

Once again, thank you for reviewing us. In the meantime, if we can be of any service at all, please do contact us.
Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,

S Sivanesan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great holiday atmosphere. This resort has a lot going for it. Had a great time and will come back again!

Good sized resort, with it's own nine hole golf course, a huge free form pool with pool bar, smaller pools off the side for kids. Has it's own stretch of private beach, with and infinity pool and beach cafe. Great for catching sunsets!

Rooms are comfortable with a huge 7 feet wide bed. Lcd tv and fridge.

Tips would be:
1. Although you can charge things to the room, bring some ringgit along as they don't have money changer in the resort. Nearest money changer is in Port dickson town which is about 20 mins drive. 2. Cooler boxes at pool side has chilled bottled water. Help yourself if you need to cool off. 3. If you didn't get the room rate with breakfast included, go to the front desk to buy the discounted breakfast voucher of you want to have the buffet breakfast. It's MYR 25 for the voucher. If you go direct to the restaurant you will pay MYR 40+.

Some minuses will be the bird poo on the balcony chairs that's not cleaned off. And there's a large dead insect on my bathroom floor that has escaped housekeeping's attention for the past two days.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AmRightHereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistleGMPD, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for posting your review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort.

While we are glad that there the majority of elements met your expectation, we would like to apologise for the state of your room. Housekeeping has been reminded to double check rooms diligently, with no excuse.

I wish to say thank you once again for this review and when you return next, it would be our pleasure to see to your booking. We may be contacted at the details above this page.

Yours Sincerely,

S Sivanesan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
9.4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,240 reviews
5.5 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,482 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 37 in Port Dickson
816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
2.2 mi away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#6 of 37 in Port Dickson
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range: £66 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing