We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-try food at Port Dickson!”
Review of Lucky King Bun

Lucky King Bun
Ranked #1 of 79 Restaurants in Port Dickson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In Malaysia's rich food culture, many love eating buns and rich curry. But while it is common to take buns with chicken curry, not many have tried baking the curry inside the bun. Now with Chicken Curry Bun, food lovers can savour a unique taste sensation like no other! Fall in love with a one-of-a-kind culinary creation - the original Curry Chicken Bun.The-Prestigious-Product-Quality-Award Sometimes also referred to as Port Dickson Curry Chicken Bun or Lukut Curry Chicken Bun or Seremban Curry Chicken Bun, it is a unique dish consisting of chicken curry with potatoes and thick gravy wrapped inside a gigantic bun. Best of all, it is not too spicy so that diners of all ages and tastes can savour it. Tuck into this must-try delicacy today! HISTORY The story of Lucky King Bun began in the quiet town of Lukut, Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan over three decades ago, when the husband-and-wife team of Mr. Chaw and Madam Lew brainstormed over new creating new food dishes. Being avid fans of cooking and baking with over 30 years' experience in the culinary industry, the pair decided to merge their expertise with a dish that required both skills. After much hard work and experimentation, the fruit of their labour was extraordinary - a sumptuous combination of chicken curry with potatoes and thick gravy wrapped inside a gigantic bun. Termed the Curry Chicken Bun, this wildly popular dish became an instant classic made famous through word of mouth. Today, the dish has become a massive homegrown success story with buns being churned out by the hundreds daily. However, it is still made with the same meticulous passion and quality as day one, with Madam Lew herself keeping a close eye on the entire process from preparation of ingredients to baking and cooking. The result - a mouth-watering delicacy that customers travel from near and far daily to savour! THE PROCESS Enjoying Curry in a Loaf is a simple and convenient affair, but a tedious amount of preparation goes into it as each bun is made fresh daily. Spanning about 6 to 8 hours in total, the process begins with cooking the curries as early as 6am. Over 20 different ingredients and spices are used to extract the rich distinctive flavour that customers love. Next, the curries are carefully transferred into bowls where they are first wrapped in grease proof paper before another additional wrapping of aluminium foil. The outer layer is light spread with butter to ensure that the bun will not stick to the foil after baking. Once this is complete, the freshly made dough is kneaded and cut by hand into evenly sized pieces to form loaves covering the individual aluminium foil packets. After being left to rise for several rounds, the buns are ready to be baked. Upon completion, the final touch is applied with egg yolk glazing to attain the buns' signature shiny golden brown finish.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must-try food at Port Dickson!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

the curry chicken bun is really tasty!!! It is a unique bun where curry chicken is wrap inside the gigantic bun. The curry is rich, smells good and taste good as well! while the bun is soft, and it is perfect when dip into the curry!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MaroShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChaw_MdmLew, Owner at Lucky King Bun, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Shan, Thank you so must for your visit to our restaurant. Your support are much appreciated and we looking forward for your visit again and would like to serve you better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    101
    56
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
selangor
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“4 hours effort, tastes so good!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I went to the branch located at Taman Aman, Lukut, about 20 minutes from PD town. Restaurant was easy to find, with a big red sign, corner shop.

I went as early as 12.30pm, the restaurant was only serving the king bun at the time, other seafood dishes were not ready yet. The bun was awesome, worth the visit to drop by. Curry was flavourful and thick, aromatic and very filling. The bun costs RM30 during the day. I heard it cost RM28 in the evening.

The next day, I went at 12pm to buy one back to KL, and the restaurant was ready to serve other dishes other than the lucky king bun. I wished I could stay to try out the other food, but had to rush back already.
Wished they would open the shop much earlier and serve other dishes by lunch time, as the time was inconsistent for the two consecutive days I went. If I had known what time they'd be ready, I could stop by for lunch on my way back.

The bun was perfect, service was not so good, could barely understand what the server was saying. almost didnt went back the second time because of him and because of the way he served me, he was rude and a little ignorant. :(

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sabahrefugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAMIENMMIDDLETON, Owner at Lucky King Bun, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi Sir, Thank you so must for your visit to our restaurant. Your support are much appreciated. In regards on the poor service by the restaurant staff, we would like to apologize. Your feedback to us is important. We will improve our service and would like to serve you better. Sorry and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for the first try”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It's about 20 minutes drive from the PD town. It is an unique food where the curry chicken being wrap in the bun. The curry gravy is strong and the chicken texture is soft. A bit spicy but is just perfect to dip with the bread. Besides of the Lucky King Bun we did order other dishes like clay-pot curry seafood with Rice vermicelli, salted egg mantis, fried kangkung belacan and marmite pork slice. The service are good too, the waitress will recommend what to eat and the amount of dishes ordered whether enough for the total pax.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HOLIDAYKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAMIENMMIDDLETON, Owner at Lucky King Bun, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Sir, Thank you so must for your visit to our restuarant. Your support are much appreciated and we looking forward for your visit again and would like to serve you better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really good buns!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

About 20 minutes drive from PD town.
The curry chicken bun is to die for. Brought it back to KL from PD and the curry chicken was still warm. Good stuff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thekoocheykoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAMIENMMIDDLETON, Owner at Lucky King Bun, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Sir, Thank you so must for your visit to our restuarant. Your support are much appreciated and we looking forward for your visit again and would like to serve you better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Visit with No Regrets”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have personally tried bun wrapping curry dish in Malacca. I have a certain expectation to this dish. This restaurant however successfully amused me with this dish. It tasted really good and like what everybody is raving about, this is really one of the best. The price is reasonable and the customer service is good. No regrets and I definitely would like to visit them again in my next visit to Port Dickson.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAMIENMMIDDLETON, Owner at Lucky King Bun, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
thank you for your support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky King Bun also viewed

Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
 
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
 
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
 

Been to Lucky King Bun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing