We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill
Ranked #2 of 6 Bukit Fraser B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great place, food and people!! I enjoyed every bit of our stay at Smokehouse. The room was put together nicely giving the English style feeling (Halycon 3) though some small details like curtains and bedsheet can be improved. It didn't affect our whole stay here at the Smokehouse. We definitely enjoyed the afternoon tea and dinner at this place. A must try dish, "Bubbly and Squeak" for dinner along with Beef and mushroom pie. The staffs were attentive, friendly and helpful. Definitely will go back to this place for a quick getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room as the floor is made from wood so you can hear people are walking around if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    69
    44
    17
    11
See reviews for
65
79
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Me and my husband awnted to have some time out from our busy schedule working life. So we picked Fraser's Hill as our short weekend gateway and wanted to stay in a good hotel. So from the reviews, we picked the Smokehouse.

Initially, we booked the Halcyon Lodge (can't remember which one). Then we decided to change to the executive suite. Needless to say we were very happy with the suite as it comes with a jacuzzi. The only creepy point is, by the second night we were there, we were the only couple who stayed in that BIG old looking bungalow. Lots of thoughts started creeping to our heads which we ignored.

The garden of the hotel is smokingly beautiful, and the scones.. oh the scones.. I may not have gone to Scotland to taste the scottish made scones, but I am telling ya, the scones that this resort offers is way too good from any of the scones that I have ever had. It may be because of the white english setting ambiance that they created, but the bottom line is, we really loved it.

The restaurant menu wasn't that bad. The menu was the same with what the (old) smokehouse restaurant in KL (not sure whether the one in Bangsar have the same menu though).

Anyway, overall - minus the 'creepy-haunty' incidents that we encountered in the hotel, we truly enjoyed our stay and would recommend our friends and family

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Smokehouse has really got an old charm. We stayed at the Guinevera Suite and it was big and spacious. Staff were excellent with all aspects. Their tea time scones are very delicious. I had to order another one to go with the strawberry jam. Would recommend to anyone who is going to Bukit Fraser for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is such a lovely place, we love the English decor, its charm & having hi-tea at the garden. Scones were really good and so was the jam.. and who won't try to take some pictures here?

We wander around the property and took pictures in different spots, at the same time looking out so we won't be a disturbance of other guests. When we were standing at the main door taking pictures, at the same time looking out for visitors in case we don't stand in their way, the person behind the counter asked us: "Guys, how long have you been taking pictures?" I heard him loud and clear, and was in shock. My friend who was holding the camera didn't hear him clearly so he continued: "Not too many pictures, ok??"

OMG, did that really came out from his mouth? We are the paying customers, hello? This rude person who seemed to be the manager totally ruined this lovely place with his snobbish attitude. We left immediately feeling angry.

If you never been to this place before, I'd recommend checking it out and have a quick 15 mins to try the scone. Any longer your seemingly perfect English hi-tea afternoon will be ruined by the snobbish manager. Remember, do not take "TOO MANY PICTURES" too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank msmeteor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bukit Fraser hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Many friends recommended this place so I gave it a try.

Called the hotel direct to book my room and was attended by someone who lacks costumer service. Not very charming...

On arrival check in was pleasant. Upon entering the room discovered many things are in dire need of fixing and touching up. Wires dangling, paint peeling off, bathroom moldy, stained shower curtain and overall cleanliness was lacking. Nice poster bed and the outside view was superb.

Decided to try the afternoon tea at the terrace which was nice. The scones and home made strawberry jam was delicious.

Dinning room and lounge was quaint and perhaps can do more on the cleanliness as I can see cobwebs on the rusty ceiling, not charming at all.

We decided to dine in after being convinced by the Manager that the Roast is highly recommended. Ordered Beef Wellington Roast and it turned out to be a disappointment, my wife had Fish & Chips which was okay. Before I forget, the table bottled still water is chargeable (discovered this upon check out) so beware unless RM5++ is acceptable to pay for a small locally bottled water.

All food and beverage bill consumptions in this hotel will only be presented to you on check out, so you better have good recollection what you consumed during stay. I think this is not right...

Breakfast was American style with choices of eggs. The egg that I ordered came out differently and the sausage was burned, however the fruit jam was nice.

On check out day, I was attended by the same person who took my room booking and he seems to forget that a guest is checking out and he was busy sorting out the faulty walkie talkie with his staff and ignoring me! Not charming at all...

Overall, this place has the potential but many things are not done properly especially on cleanliness, customer service and quality of food. Perhaps due to its popularity these areas are often neglected.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have been taking advantage of my 3 years assignment in Malaysia to see and experience as many sights and culture as we can. So for the 1st day of Raya we decided to check out Bukit Fraser. Unable to get a reservation, we thought of making a day trip. I read on the net that The Smokehouse has a good restaurant. So when we arrived at about 2pm, we went straight to the hotel. I asked one man who seem to be in charge (a caucasian guy) if we could have lunch. He said that it would be at least an hour wait. I said ok and we will just take a walk and come back. Then he said lunch will be over in an hour and it will be tea time. I said that's still fine. I can come back. But he just brushed us aside never took our reservation and worse, my son asked if he can use the rest room and was told that he can use a public toilet (about a mile down the road). How rude! I have stayed in many hotels in Malaysia much better than this small hotel and always had good things to say. But not on this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JDL639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Went there without booking and got a room that was not bad but from the outside looked like it was going to collapse. It's a cosy room nevertheless. Reasonably clean. The price for a room is steep. And if you think the price for the room is steep, try eating there! It's very expensive but the food is tasty though. English food, English-looking cottage house. Outside is very pretty with beautiful coloured flowers and plants. The weather is perfect...50s at nights and 60s n 70s during the day. Desk staff are friendly and accommodating. Ideal getaway for young and elderly couples.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sadee_raghavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Fraser
23.2 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
20.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
222 reviews
20.7 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
#3 of 6 in Bukit Fraser
154 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Chateau Spa & Organic Wellness Resort
0.5 mi away
Puncak Inn Bungalows
Puncak Inn Bungalows
#5 of 6 in Bukit Fraser
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill

Property: Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill
Address: Jalan Jeriau, Bukit Fraser 49000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Raub District > Bukit Fraser
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bukit Fraser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Smokehouse invites you to experience the charm of English countryside and its architecture that will make your stay at the Hill Resort truly memorable. Stay in one of our well appointed rooms/suites furnished with four poster bed, English furniture and antiques. Enjoy the cool climate and tranquility of Fraser's Hill by indulging in our afternoon cream tea with homemade scones, strawberry jam and a pot of tea. In the evening, head to the bar where a real log wood fireplace awaits you. Have a drink and dine in one of the Hill's finest English restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ye Olde Smokehouse Fraser’s Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smokehouse Hotel And Restaurant
Smokehouse Hotel Bukit Fraser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing