We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement on rooms condition”
Review of The Pines Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bukit Fraser
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bukit Fraser
selangor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Improvement on rooms condition”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My recent visit on june 3rd week weekend . We were given Room C19 . Which was a little suprise for my expectation .The whole room floor is lay in tiles and the furniture was quite new and bit clean except for some cat's fur found on the sofa . There were also extra garden chairs available . Overall I could see some improvement on the hard service concept .

Room Tip: Opt for C blocks or non carpet floor room as its always in damp condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    19
    13
    17
See reviews for
22
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Nice location.

Had my annual business retreat held there.

Rooms are spartan. But clean to the best ability of the staff.

One apartment can fit 6 adults.

Food wise. Breakfast is simple. Dinner is simple with limited choices.

One point.. Wifi or Internet connectivity is tough. 3G unstable.

No kettle or coffee making facility. No food after 8 available unless prebook

Room Tip: Take the ground floor unit. Nearest to the lobby.Climbing up is a night mare. Newer apts on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The road to reach Fraser Hill is very windy. If you suffer from motion sickness, do take some pills along. The location of this hotel if a bit far from the town center, especially when you are not familiar with winding roads. The receptionist was lovely and allowed us to view quite a number of rooms we could chose from. We chose one not too far from the reception since we were the only guests staying at the hotel that night. However, there are a number of people who have apartments there, so we were not the only people in the complex. The hotel is in dire need of renovation. But most of the hotels are in the same state, apart from the Smoke House that looked very nice...albeit expensive! Breakfast was a typical English breakfast and it was good and plentiful. There were 5 of us and we rented a 3 bedroom apartment. We had a lovely view over the valley. Pity the TV only had the 3 national channels when near the reception they had Astro....I wonder why!!! Maybe due to weekly boredom...since not many people come during the week....we went there on a Friday. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice to stay there for a week-end.

Room Tip: Chose a room near the reception if you are traveling alone...especially during the week. We chose r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Well, the hotel was actually an apartment with 3 bedroom. With own kicthen, living room & own balcony. I must say the resort was quite run down & must agree on other comments. It can be a good place to stay if it was maintain accordingly.

The apartment is spacious & great for big groups. The management dont mind if the apartment was overcrowded as long as you dont show it. Its a great place for family or group vacations. You can do you own barbeque outside the verandah.

I went they with a small family. We have the apartment on our own. The lighting at the bathroom was broken but the technician repaired it after i highlighted the condition. The drain system at the kitchen was overflowing which create uneasy smell. Not all the apartments are fully own by the resort.

Some of it are own by private owners which make it empty during my visit. Which is scary during the night since you know you're the only occupant at the far part apartment. So you might be the only one occupy the apartment within the block which answer some of the reviews. So if you tend to stay they ask for block nearer to the reception.

TV reception was terrible. No carpet on the floor makes it very cold walking around the apartment. The breakfast was just ok. Nothing to be impress off. Overall the apartment is good for big groups which have strain on budget or for a get together session with family members.

One thing for sure the apartment has a great view..

Pro's :
Big apartment & can do barbeque in cold weather.
Great view. For those who like macro this is the place (check out picture taken)

Con's;
Run down apartment. Not maintain well.
Not recommended for fussy travelers.(dont even try)

Room Tip: Ask room near to the reception. If not you'll end up alone. (unless you want to throw a party)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selangor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We were in a group of 17 made a trip up there on for 3 days 2 night stays on 8th oct 11. Firstly our lunch was spoiled by baby cockroachs in mutton gravy where when complaints made they dumbly said that the other corporate group has book in and they would check with their feedback on this ??? secondly the condition of the room is more like a good spot for horror movie where the sofa was wet due to water drip from ceiling top ,the kitchen fridge greet you with trembling smells once open .Also as mention by other one limited socket in kitchen with limited cup and cutlery that put you in doubt of cleanliness. The best part the water heater and the presure ,if the kitchen tap is on then you got wait for your turn .and the best time to bath is when nobody utilizing the bathroom and kitchen, The pillow ....oh smells terrible they were some food stains too on the carpet .
The staff at the restaurant is friendly and try hard to be 'friendly' but the only barrier is communication .I have no idea where are they from but it leads one of our collegue to enter the kitchen area to explain and describe the orders.., Location wise its a superb view point which is higher than shazan but lacks in facilities and maintainance .....

Room Tip: if you concern on cost yes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bukit Fraser hotels

Muar
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Recently spent a weekend with family there. This resort offers only apartment units, all with 3 bedrooms. The price is reasonable, especially for low season. The unit is fairly large, with 3 bedrooms, a living area, a dining area and a small kitchen (not for cooking) plus a huge balcony. Most reviews here did mentioned on its poor maintainance and facilities. However, I think it is quite reasonable considering its price (less than RM 400 at peak season for a unit with a capacity for max 10 people, plus 6 buffet breakfast). Furthermore, to me the ultimate reason to holiday in Fraser's hill is to enjoy its fresh air, feel its coolness, be close to the nature and to get away from city life. Do not compare it to other 5 star hotels.
Plus points : 1) Large balcony with great view
2) Able to accommodate a large family and yet not too crampy
Minus points : 1) Refurbish or upgrading its facilities will definitely give it a new life !

Room Tip: Check the level of your unit before hand. Depending on the blocks, those units at top floor may requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang Bah Kut Teh
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Been there during my recent Hari Raya holiday with my family and was so excited as this is our first time to Fraser Hill. This hotel location was good as it was on top of the hill and the view from the resort is great! Big and spacious living room with a big balcony and the 3 rooms that we stayed are big as well! However, the resort need some maintenance as the room carpets and kitchen floor are dirty as if nobody come and clean the room before hand over the keys to us, spider webs everywhere, water leaking inside the bathroom and can see the water leaking marks inside the bedroom as well. The balcony sliding window at the living room and bedroom need to push very hard in order to open it to get some fresh air. No fans are provided so sleeping during night time might get a little warmer as we need to close down all the windows and doors because insects are flying everywhere. Not sure why some of the unit provided with fan as what others mention here. It would be best if you can bring your own steamboat set like what we did as there is limited choices in Fraser Hill town area and it would be dangerous to drive out during night time as the roads are quite dark. I'm not sure when is the last time they change the bedsheet and the sofa in both living room and master room are quite dusty. Some of the units are provided with Astro but our unit only a few local channel provided and we have to adjust the tv antenna manually. Conclusion, I would say this resort is a good place for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Bring own towel, shampoo, floor carpet / towel to put outside of the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Fraser
22.9 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
19.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
209 reviews
20.5 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
0.5 mi away
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
#3 of 6 in Bukit Fraser
152 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Chateau Spa & Organic Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Property: The Pines Resort
Address: Jalan Pecah Batu | Pahang Darul Makmur, Bukit Fraser 49000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Raub District > Bukit Fraser
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bukit Fraser
Number of rooms: 159

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing