We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious”
Review of The Pines Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bukit Fraser
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bukit Fraser
everywhere
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“spacious”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stay here if you need space and not expecting fancy service.

I stayed here on a public holiday weekend without setting any expectation - we (2 adults and 3 kids) needed a place to rest after a tiring day driving up the hill. We got a 2 room apartment and it was very spacious for the price. The large balcony overlooking forest and the kids love it - i guess the balcony is its best feature where kids can play and enjoy the lovely view of the sky at night. Refrigerator, tv, toilet, and water heater functioning fine so thats all that matters for a short stay . Okay lah :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keyboardhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    19
    13
    17
See reviews for
22
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Was on a impromptu trip to Frasers following a group of treasure hunters and their spot of choice was Pines Resort. As it was a tiring journey after a whole day being out, I didnt really was looking into minute details..

As I was aware, the rooms were furnished enough (but they should really throw away the fake fireplace centerpiece), the hot water was good, and the bed was well. Three things that is important for a tired guest like me.

Woke up abt 8 after a short nap, and had a dinner party in one of their halls there, and at that time managed to do some observation

#1. The view of the valley is gorgeous.. And the air is cool, but not chilly to the bone..
#2: The resorts is kind of deserted.. Except for our group, we didnt see anyone else
#3: The resort gets deserted early. After 10, all the staffs were gone (except for the guard) and we couldnt find any personnel to ask for forks and spoon, drink refreshment that we get as we catered our food from them.

But i guess, there's always hiccups in pretty much all trips, and it being a cheap hotel, we dont really mind it.

Room Tip: like everyone says, negotiate for nearer rooms as the ones that are deep in are scarier to walk to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suthan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selangor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My recent visit on june 3rd week weekend . We were given Room C19 . Which was a little suprise for my expectation .The whole room floor is lay in tiles and the furniture was quite new and bit clean except for some cat's fur found on the sofa . There were also extra garden chairs available . Overall I could see some improvement on the hard service concept .

Room Tip: Opt for C blocks or non carpet floor room as its always in damp condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Nice location.

Had my annual business retreat held there.

Rooms are spartan. But clean to the best ability of the staff.

One apartment can fit 6 adults.

Food wise. Breakfast is simple. Dinner is simple with limited choices.

One point.. Wifi or Internet connectivity is tough. 3G unstable.

No kettle or coffee making facility. No food after 8 available unless prebook

Room Tip: Take the ground floor unit. Nearest to the lobby.Climbing up is a night mare. Newer apts on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The road to reach Fraser Hill is very windy. If you suffer from motion sickness, do take some pills along. The location of this hotel if a bit far from the town center, especially when you are not familiar with winding roads. The receptionist was lovely and allowed us to view quite a number of rooms we could chose from. We chose one not too far from the reception since we were the only guests staying at the hotel that night. However, there are a number of people who have apartments there, so we were not the only people in the complex. The hotel is in dire need of renovation. But most of the hotels are in the same state, apart from the Smoke House that looked very nice...albeit expensive! Breakfast was a typical English breakfast and it was good and plentiful. There were 5 of us and we rented a 3 bedroom apartment. We had a lovely view over the valley. Pity the TV only had the 3 national channels when near the reception they had Astro....I wonder why!!! Maybe due to weekly boredom...since not many people come during the week....we went there on a Friday. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice to stay there for a week-end.

Room Tip: Chose a room near the reception if you are traveling alone...especially during the week. We chose r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Well, the hotel was actually an apartment with 3 bedroom. With own kicthen, living room & own balcony. I must say the resort was quite run down & must agree on other comments. It can be a good place to stay if it was maintain accordingly.

The apartment is spacious & great for big groups. The management dont mind if the apartment was overcrowded as long as you dont show it. Its a great place for family or group vacations. You can do you own barbeque outside the verandah.

I went they with a small family. We have the apartment on our own. The lighting at the bathroom was broken but the technician repaired it after i highlighted the condition. The drain system at the kitchen was overflowing which create uneasy smell. Not all the apartments are fully own by the resort.

Some of it are own by private owners which make it empty during my visit. Which is scary during the night since you know you're the only occupant at the far part apartment. So you might be the only one occupy the apartment within the block which answer some of the reviews. So if you tend to stay they ask for block nearer to the reception.

TV reception was terrible. No carpet on the floor makes it very cold walking around the apartment. The breakfast was just ok. Nothing to be impress off. Overall the apartment is good for big groups which have strain on budget or for a get together session with family members.

One thing for sure the apartment has a great view..

Pro's :
Big apartment & can do barbeque in cold weather.
Great view. For those who like macro this is the place (check out picture taken)

Con's;
Run down apartment. Not maintain well.
Not recommended for fussy travelers.(dont even try)

Room Tip: Ask room near to the reception. If not you'll end up alone. (unless you want to throw a party)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selangor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We were in a group of 17 made a trip up there on for 3 days 2 night stays on 8th oct 11. Firstly our lunch was spoiled by baby cockroachs in mutton gravy where when complaints made they dumbly said that the other corporate group has book in and they would check with their feedback on this ??? secondly the condition of the room is more like a good spot for horror movie where the sofa was wet due to water drip from ceiling top ,the kitchen fridge greet you with trembling smells once open .Also as mention by other one limited socket in kitchen with limited cup and cutlery that put you in doubt of cleanliness. The best part the water heater and the presure ,if the kitchen tap is on then you got wait for your turn .and the best time to bath is when nobody utilizing the bathroom and kitchen, The pillow ....oh smells terrible they were some food stains too on the carpet .
The staff at the restaurant is friendly and try hard to be 'friendly' but the only barrier is communication .I have no idea where are they from but it leads one of our collegue to enter the kitchen area to explain and describe the orders.., Location wise its a superb view point which is higher than shazan but lacks in facilities and maintainance .....

Room Tip: if you concern on cost yes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bukit Fraser hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Fraser
22.9 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
19.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
220 reviews
20.5 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
0.5 mi away
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
#3 of 6 in Bukit Fraser
154 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Chateau Spa & Organic Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Property: The Pines Resort
Address: Jalan Pecah Batu | Pahang Darul Makmur, Bukit Fraser 49000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Raub District > Bukit Fraser
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bukit Fraser
Number of rooms: 159

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing