We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relax stay in Melina, Tioman”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relax stay in Melina, Tioman”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was so excited when we reached in front of the chalet. From the sea taxi, we saw Patrick (Melina owner) was waiting for us. He lead us to our shack, Nautilus. It facing the sea and very private. The chalet is not like an ordinary chalet because it was quiet and peace. It was a wooden chalet with a glass surrounding it and equipped with wooden furniture. We can see through the sea I front of us and the jungle behind us. The location that is further from the main jetty make our trip feel exclusive. With only a few step, we can reach the beach. Only few couples was there and a group of young kids for biology study. The only thing that bother me is there insect in the room and bite. We need to spray insect repellent everytime. The restaurant food was okay but not many choices. Since we need to use a sea taxi to transport us from Melina to other Jetty, the price was a bit pricy.

Room Tip: May try the tree house or standard by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sashahhien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhtiomanPaya, General Manager at Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Syameela,
Thank you for posting your report on Tripadvisor, you are our first this year!
It was a pleasure to look after you both and we hope you will come back on another occasion.Insects can be irritating but being on the edge of the Rain Forrest they are unavoidable. On your next visit please ask for a mosquito net in your room, this will help.
The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and given the size of the resort I need to be realistic on the amount of dishes offered. The lunch menu has a selection of snacks including local rice dishes, sandwiches, salads and Pizzas. Dinner is the buffet, offering at least 4 main course choices, veterinarian option, salads and fruits.
Once again, thank you for your review and I hope to see you back here again in the future
Patrick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    90
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
103
136
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel Review - Melina Beach Resort
Stays: 5 Nights / 3 Nights
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Price: 280 MYR for Dolphin / Reef Shark Room (110 SGD)
Breakfast included - YES
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Location:
Melina Beach is wonderfully locted at a private and very secluded beach area on Tioman Island. Its far enough away from the crowded and overly dirty main beaches for having a great time on a white clean beach, yet close enough to get there with the public ferry from Mersing (Malaysia mainland). There are no shops etc around, so you will have to eat and consume what the hotel provides. But don't worry, the food is fantastic, fresh, local. You can do hikes to closeby local villages up the mountain behind the hotel or back to the main Tioman port, but for what it is worth, I would recommend to just stay at the resort and enjoy the area.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Rooms:
Rooms are available in multiple setups, when I stayed first, there were only 2 or 3 categories, by now you have the choice of at least 10 different types. However, we still prefer the 2 basic beach front appartments on the edge of the resort, which give you privacy and have enough comfort to make it a nice stay.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
EXTRA GOOD:
+ Location and private beach, with hamocks and other super comfy amenities to just relax
+ Food, the local cooks are creating fantastic meals
+ Friendly staff and ownders, who are always available for a nice chat

BAD:
- The "Robinson Crusoe" feeling from about 3-4 years ago is gone at Melina Beach. As the owners have expanded the area with a lot of new buildings, which means much more guests, less privacy, and more crowded beach areas

Room Tip: Our all-time favourite rooms are the 2 Seafront Chalets Reefshark & Dolphin, best money / value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngryAngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We just came back from Melina a week ago to celebrate our son, 12th birthday. Before I start off to review, our son is encouraged to give his review and appreciation to the Melina team on our trip. So the review will be put into 2 parts.

Part 1.
It was a perfect stay, with excellence staff and great food although it is expensive. As it was my birthday , the owner of the resort, Patrick decided to upgrade my family and I to a better room. We were upgraded from the room Dolphin to the room Neptune which had a balcony at the front of the beach. He also stood at the front of the beach to welcome us to his resort. There are also very kind staff who never failed to provide good service to us, their names are Dee and Guru. We enjoyed our stay and was greeted by a few cats named ET, Tom and a black and white cat which I never got to know its name. We also loved the food Dee cooked for us and Guru telling us about Renggi Island which we snorkeled at. We loved the hospitality provided by Patrick, Guru and Dee. We also wish to go back on my sister’s birthday and enjoy the beautiful beach, the great service and all the animals we got to see.

Part 2.
Booking and communicating with the resort owner, Patrick via email is never an issue to me. I wondered what the fuss is with people complaining that Patrick never replied or delay replying. If you allowed sufficient time for recipient to respond, you will never find the email late or frustrated. Patrick is very patience with all my queries as this is our first time to Tioman.
We set off on a Sunday morning via coach at 6.30am from Singapore and reached Tanjong Gemok at 10.40am. Our ferry is booked at 11am so it didn’t take us long to wait, everything is just on time.
The ferry took 1hr50mins to reach our jetty, Kampong Paya right after Kampong Genting. As Melina is a private resort, we need to take another speed boat provided by Melina to fetch us from Kampong Paya jetty. Again, it didn’t take us more than 10mins and someone shouted from the jetty, Melina Resort. There was a speed boat approaching the jetty and we boarded it. From Kampong Paya to Melina only took us 10-15mins. There won’t be another jetty for you to get off, so wearing rubber shoes/slippers is advisable as you will step right into the beach with sands where the speed boat park.
I have booked Deluxe Beach Front but was thankful that Patrick has upgraded us to Neptune Room with at the left corner of the resort as a birthday present for our son. What more can you complained even with red ants crawling on the balcony, dead moth dying on the floor. This is an Eco resort. Everything is back to nature and it is exactly what we want. In fact, the kids got used to it that they don’t whine when they see insects crawling on them.
Patrick has also highlighted that it would be quieter for us as they are expecting 80 students from Singapore the next day. For the first day, the beach resort is actually to all 4 of us with the crew only.
After lunch, we walked to Kampong Paya that Guru suggested as he mentioned that Kampong Genting pathway has lot of ups and down slope/stairs that can be quite tiring. Walking to Kampong Paya is not difficult with pathway that leads you to it. Along the way, you get to see monitor lizard and if you are lucky, you can find monkeys, many other animals. There isn’t much at Paya, only some provision shops and a Chinese restaurant. I was told by Dee that due to monsoon season in Nov, most of the business is near to closing until next Feb. As the 20 – 30 mins for our 7 years old girl is a little tough for her, we managed to rent 2 motorbikes. My kids enjoyed the return trip with their daddy pillion them. You don’t get to pillion 2 kids without license in SG.
Patrick offered to prepare BBQ dinner for us although they only have it on Sat and also a birthday cake 1 day earlier than I requested. Since we are the only soul in the resort, we have Dee, our personal chef, sound of the sea by the restaurant with a good 2 – 4 hours BBQ dinner without disturbance. The BBQ is fantastic, must try although the price is a little steep. Dee even helped to prepare and sing birthday song to our son. The crew definitely make you feel home with them. This is a quiet family resort, so don’t attempt to stay if you are looking for night party.

There wasn’t much to offer for breakfast on the 2nd day, with only toasted bread with jam, cereals, scramble eggs, hotdogs and some fruits. Maybe it’s because we are the only families and they didn’t want the food to go to waste. I do hope if we come back during peak period, we can have more choices. I believe Dee can cook very nice food if given more varieties. As the tides are very high that morning, we didn’t get to visit the Mukut waterfall nor snorkeling trip. Guru would also suggest the kids to try snorkel at the right side of the resort if the tide is safe for the kids. The kids enjoyed playing by the beach with beach toys from the resort. You can have a good lazy nap under the canopy without worrying of the kids as it is a very safe place for them. Get the kids to wear rubber shoes as the sea has a lot of rocks. It can be very rocky during low tides.

By early noon, the students have checked-in and the place became a war field filled with teens shouting and running around. Avoid staying when the resort has school fieldtrip. Usually Patrick would advise when you make the reservation. Despite the crowd, Patrick will make sure we are comfortable and will serve us personally during lunch. The price for lunch menu is considered steep example a burger with fries cost RYM20 but they taste nice. Do expect the food price here is more expensive compared to other resort. Hope the lunch menu can have more variety. We were lucky that the tides turned calmer and Patrick helped to arrange a snorkel trip to Renggi Island. The snorkeling was fantastic, the kids love it. A MUST visit trip. Dinner is splendid, although with simple tofu, chicken, beef rending, vegetables and rice. It tasted very nice. 3days is definitely not enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joemlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I'd give Melina Beach a 2,5 star if possible. It's actually a quite interesting place, with a large bunch of flaws.

The not so good:
- Accommodation = We are a couple travelling around Malaysia and booked a 2 persons room facing the garden. We got rewarded with a bunkbed upon arrival (plus an extra bed... YES!!). The room wasn't very clean, the sheets smelled of fellow travellers and the bathroom was very basic and poorly kept up. The room simply wasn't really up to scratch, even for jungle standards.
- Funky couches = The couches are full of fungus, need to be replaced big time. My clothes smelled for days after lying on them.
- Cats constantly dumping on the beach = Enough said.
- Friendliness of staff towards couples = Staff is really friendly with families, which is good. But the couples are a sort of second class visitors, I guess because they might not come back? It's quite strange.
- Price of food = because the lack of alternatives they charge too much for what they offer.

The Good:
- Beach = Even though a few cats are doing their business on the beach everywhere, the beach is quite nice. Really secluded and quiet.
- Quality of the food = Bit overpriced, but it's pretty good. The guys in the kitchen worked really hard to get it right, kudos to those guys.
- The atmosphere = They've created a sort of Robinson Crusoe type of place, which is quite nice. You really feel like you're on a deserted island, which we quite liked.

Conclusion: This place could do so much better. They sort of coast on their location and vibe, instead of really wanting to improve the basic accommodation and small repairs etc. We were a bit disappointed, but a lot of people do like it, so don't be completely discouraged by this review. It does have its merits, especially for families with small children.

Room Tip: Don't book the standard rooms, they're terrible.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank frits_bol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent a week at Melina (in reefshark) with our 20 month old daughter and had a fantastic stay.

It was a perfect place to relax and much more private and peaceful then the resorts we saw in Genting and Paya.

It was very family friendly and our daughter loved it. The beach is safe and clean. The food was great (Dee did a great job each evening and we really enjoyed trying a variety of different foods). The staff was really helpful and Guru and Dee both went out of their way to entertain our daughter.
We found it easy to find foods that our daughter would eat.

The facilities are basic but that is what we expected for an on the beach resort which makes the most of being close to nature. There is everything you need and we found it easy to be there with a toddler.

Room Tip: We loved reefshark. Right on the beach, great deck looking out over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma_Linnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed stayed Melina Beach Resort for a week and from the first day until the last we had most amazing time. Both the service and the food were fantastic, the staff made sure to go out of their way to make us feel as welcome as possible and that we had everything we needed. Although all the staff were excellent us as a family felt that Dee and Guru made a special effort to make sure we had a unforgettable trip and by the end of our stay we could safely say that they had done exactly that.
We would highly recommend this resort and we will never forget the wonderful time we had there.
Thank you very much
From the lufkins

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spent 2 night at melina resort.
the resort is located great place, the beach is beautiful and the resort well hidden behind the coconut trees.
Rooms a pretty nice. We had the turtle, which included a queen size bed wich was very comfy
There is also a jacuzzi in the bathroom but it only runs on cold water..
We were really disappointed with the food, which is both not really good and expensive for malaysia. 15 RM for a common fried rice is not worth it. Moreover , the choice is scarce.
Better go to paya or genting by foot and enjoy real malay food for a fair price.
The staff is professionnal and similing, which is a good point.

In conclusion, melina resort is a beautiful place but prices are a bit high and the food could be better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthur-aurelie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
5.1 mi away
No photo provided
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
507 reviews
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
4.9 mi away
No photo provided
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
270 reviews
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
Bagus Place Retreat
#5 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia

Property: Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Address: near Paya, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• We are a quiet family resort and totally unsuitable for those looking for a late night or party venue.• Our intention is to provide comfortable accommodation combined with a personal service. We are not offering luxury and have no aspiration towards 5 star ratings.• We build our rooms to incorporate as much of the natural surroundings as possible. Many of the rooms have large rocks as features and some include trees in bathrooms.• Our back garden is literally the Tropical rain forest, as such we are prone to animals occasionally wandering in. In such circumstances our resident biologists are on hand to remove animals safely. We ask guests to keep any food items to a minimum in bedrooms and to always keep items in a sealed container, food items left uncovered will attract animals, in particular ants.• In support of the local economy we try as much as possible to employ local staff. This can at times create confusion as there are many cultural differences, we ask our guests to please report any shortcomings to the reception staff who will deal with any issues immediately ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing