We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our lovely Honeymoon after 12,5 years marriage..... :D”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We suposed to stay for four nights, but we were so happy that we booked one night longer. And even that was not enough :( It was the best holiday ever! A relaxing atmosphere, lovely, helpfull and friendly people. There are nice trips to make. We loved the 4 hours during snorkling trip. We stayed in the Nautilus, great sea view, big room for a family of four. The food was good and fresh. The kids loved the little kitten and Maggie the dog haha. It was our paradise for those 6 days. Patrick and the rest of the crew thanks for the lovely time on Tioman. We'll come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhtiomanPaya, Manager at Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Monica,
Thank you for posting your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Maggie and the kitten were particularly upset that you left as they were loving all the attention!
It was a pleasure to meet you and to look after you during your visit, we really hope to see you back here in the near future.
Best regards,
Patrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed for 3 very relaxing nights.The quiet laid back atmosphere of the resort was exactly what we needed on our escape from Singapore. All the staff are very welcoming and extremely friendly. We enjoyed the snorkelling at the resort and on the trips the staff organised for us. The 2hr Rengis(?) Island trip was great. The food was basic but plentiful. The cocktails were yum. The staff even let our kids and other teenagers staying there have a fire on the beach one night which was great fun. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. We stayed in a beach front room Reefshark.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina B, Manager at Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Donna,
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed you visit and hope you will return in the near future. Glad the bonfire went down well and good to hear that the cocktails were up to par!
Best wishes from all here,
Patrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A very relaxing for 3 Days 2 Night trip with my lovely cousins. We took ferry from Mersing to Paya Jetty and resort arranged for their own speedboat transferred to the resort.We were so excited when we reached in front of the chalet. From the sea taxi, we saw Sophie,Guru and Dee were waiting for us, we were led to our wooden shack room (Dragonfly) placed between huge trees and rocks. The room was well furnished, with enough lighting and fans and air-conditioning. The bathroom was clean and had both a shower.

First day they arrange BBQ for us and my sister in law was vegetarian, they took extra care for vegetarian food. Its really shock for us. The bar has a wide selection of cheap cocktails and beers.

We really wont forget their staff GURU, DEE, SOPHIE, AIMEE and also Maggie (Dog). They really friendly, a thoroughly cheerful, nice and helpful team.

Last day we really enjoyed our fresh juice in the bar. The juice specially made by GURU for us. Thank you so much GURU. You really care 8 of us as your sisters.

Overall, I would very much recommend this resort to anyone who wants to enjoy peace, nature, serenity, amazing hospitality and pure relaxation. You will be surrounded by pure nature and that is the beauty of the the resort. We look forward to staying with you again and once again THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8Roses2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhtiomanPaya, General Manager at Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Roses2014,
Thank you for your very comprehensive review I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us. Aimee,Guru and Dee found you all very charming, Guru in particular enjoyed your appreciation of his juice bar. I am very pleased your vegetarian cousin enjoyed the food, my own daughter is a strict vegetarian and I know how distressing it can be if proper choices are not offered.
As for Maggie the dog, I think the less said about her the better, she is supposed to be our guard dog but I think choosing a daft poodle (who is afraid of cats) was possibly a mistake for that requirement!!
I hope you will return in the near future,
Best wishes from all at Melina,
Patrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My boyfriend and I love our stay at Melina which sadly enough was only for two night. We relaxed at the beach, enjoyed the good food (which is a la carte if the resort is not fully booked) and the second night they even organised a BBQ which was great. The cocktails are all worth a try.
We stayed at a deluxe beachfront room with A/C and the room was very clean and spacious.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mup24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhtiomanPaya, Manager at Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear MUP 24,
Thank you for posting your report on Tripadvisor. we are delighted your boyfriend and you enjoyed your visit, very glad the coctails went down well.
I hope you will be able to return in the future and hopefully stay a little longer next time.
Best regards from all here,
Parick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this resort in May 2014 and had a great time. Unfortunately, we were there for only one night because the resort was fully booked the whole week.

We had the Deluxe Beach Front Chalet (Reefshark). The room was clean and comfortable. Food is good. People are very friendly.This is a great place if you want to chill and relax and do nothing, exactly what i was looking for. What i love the most is fall asleep to the sound of waves. :)

We had a wonderful time and I would recommend Melina to all. I'll be back soon Melina! Thank you Patrick and Dee. See you soon!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank shuhadanrdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhtiomanPaya, Manager at Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Shuhadanrdn,
Thank you for posting your report on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed you stay here, sorry we couldnt offer you extra nights, the resort is small and it does fill up quickly.
I hope we will see you back here in the near future,
Best regards,
Patrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My friends had done their research on Melina but I didn't read too much before going. I wanted this to be a mystery and believe me; I loved what Melina turned out to be. Patrick (the gracious owner) sent a boat at the Paya terminal where we reached through a ferry from Mersing. After we reached the resort, and got welcomed by the staff and Patrick himself, we were led to our wooden shack room placed between huge trees and rocks. This place really has an amazing concept. There are beach facing rooms, an interesting tree-house and other garden facing rooms as well. The rooms have bunk beds and also a queen sized one. I won't say they are loaded with 5-star amenities but why would you even want that in the midst of a rain forest?
The restaurant area is pretty and well-maintained. The manager Dee San-e is a very friendly person and he would sit with us with lots of stories of Melina and Tioman whenever he got the time.
The first night, a Saturday, was barbecue night and we were presented with the most delicious stuff we had eaten in a long long time. Dee prepared all of it himself and we couldn't just stop eating. I liked the breakfast too, both healthy and well-prepared. Patrick arranged for us to do a Snorkeling day trip on Sunday and we went to different parts of the island to snorkel and it turned out to be an unforgettable experience.
Melina Beach Resort isn't one of those 'ordinary' resorts, its more of a family and what's best is that it is secluded from the overcrowded or unclean beaches. A private beach, good food, great friends, a different world and an altogether exciting experience is what Melina offers you. Remember that its not a party place. It's quiet. There are cats, there is an adorable dog, sometimes small insects but they all come along with packages of love.
I really didn't want to leave. I wish I could have stayed longer. Another thing that really impressed me was their Library! Yes, a library with more than 200 books: A relief for every booklover's soul. If you really want to make your trip to Tioman one filled with togetherness, serenity and beauty (and bits of education): Melina is where you should stay, without questions! And when you're back, you should thank me! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhtiomanPaya, Manager at Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Nikita,
Thank you for your lovely report ,we are all delighted that you and your friends enjoyed you stay here. It was our pleasure to meet and look after you all and we hope you will come again in the future. My dog is most put out that you refer to her as adorable, she has asked me to point out that she is in fact the resort GUARD DOG and as such is very important!
Hope to see you soon,
Patrick and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

i went there for a school camp. it was awesome we learned a lot about the rainforest and i got straight As. the place is nice but we always tracked sand into the cabin. luckily i might be going back again and i will have alto of fun again

Room Tip: big places!!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dauntless_Divergent4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjhtiomanPaya, Manager at Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Dauntless,
Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit and that the Biology course was beneficial. Our education programme is now a major part of our business here at Melina and it is very encouraging to get such positive feedback.
I hope we will see you return in the future with your family.
Best regards,
Patrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
5.1 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
2.1 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
519 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
4.7 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
334 reviews
4.9 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia

Address: near Paya, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: £78 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• We are a quiet family resort and totally unsuitable for those looking for a late night or party venue.• Our intention is to provide comfortable accommodation combined with a personal service. We are not offering luxury and have no aspiration towards 5 star ratings.• We build our rooms to incorporate as much of the natural surroundings as possible. Many of the rooms have large rocks as features and some include trees in bathrooms.• Our back garden is literally the Tropical rain forest, as such we are prone to animals occasionally wandering in. In such circumstances our resident biologists are on hand to remove animals safely. We ask guests to keep any food items to a minimum in bedrooms and to always keep items in a sealed container, food items left uncovered will attract animals, in particular ants.• In support of the local economy we try as much as possible to employ local staff. This can at times create confusion as there are many cultural differences, we ask our guests to please report any shortcomings to the reception staff who will deal with any issues immediately ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing