We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!”
Review of Tioman Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tioman Dive Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

My family of four spent five nights here and loved it. The dive center is very busy, helpful, friendly, organized, knowledgeable. The room was spacious, modern, clean and had all the amenities you could want. The beds are comfy and bathroom clean. The water sometimes stopped but the staff had that fixed in minutes when they were notified (pump issue). It was a refreshing change to the other Malaysian places we stayed in that are bare-bones, outdated and don't really care about service. Unfortunately the beach isn't that great but it's full of sand flies so you don't really want to be there. There is a real warm atmosphere at this place and they make everyone feel welcome. And Yogi the dog is very cute! I would definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyMe068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Ritter, Owner at Tioman Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed review. It's great that you loved our place and for your information, we have in the meantime installed back-up pumps and since then there was not a single water interruption.

Yogi the Dog and all the rest of the team send you their tropical regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great facilities, friendly staff, impeccably clean. This resort is faultless and easily one of the most high-class resorts on the island. It is also adjacent to the dive centre, which is very handy. I loved every minute of my stay here and would definitely return again! Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 685JaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We love this place! We just got back from a week there. The entire family (me, my wife, and our 11 & 13 year old daughters) got the PADi Open Water Certification. The room was great and the convenience to the dive center cannot be beat. Our instructor Megan Humphreys at B&J was fantastic! She was always supportive and helpful but cut no corners!!! My girls especially had a GREAT experience. They have gone from no experience to dive enthusiasts over the course of a week. The whole staff both at the resort and the dive masters etc. were very helpful.
The niche for this place is people who at any level of experience want to dive and would have been fine staying in a hostel at 21. However in our 40s we really prefer to have decent sheets and a clean bathroom.
Note if you are not interested in diving or at the very least snorkeling, you should stay somewhere else. This is really the hub of quality diving activity for Tioman & ABC. At certain times of the day the activity organizing dive boats etc. is overwhelming.
I think a few folks find this place on the internet and see it as reasonably priced place to stay and see Tioman. It is really pretty far from any other activity. There is a great international flavor in this place but the folks here eat, sleep and live scuba diving. If you have no interest you will be bored. Don’t get me wrong were absolute novices coming in the door and folks could not have been more helpful and friendly. If you want to “give diving a shot” I cannot imagine a better place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 986BillN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and love this hotel. First of all, air conditioning and hot showers were a must for me as Tioman is rather hot and humid. The island is very simple and beautiful and a wonderful place to relax. Tioman Dive Resort is basically a very nice new motel with outstanding well appointed clean rooms. I would recommend staying here even if you don't dive but if you do, it's even better. B & J dive is just steps away and they offer awesome guided trips with highly trained dive masters and great equipment. After time in the water, you can hang your stuff to dry on racks outside of each room. The folks at the hotel and dive center are the best and can help you with almost anything. This area of Tioman (ABC) is chill with nice restaurants and places to gather for drinks in the evening. I will definitely stay here on my next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Ritter, Owner at Tioman Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Dear Carl,
It was an absolute pleasure to having you stay with us at Tioman Dive Resort and we're all looking forward to your next visit. We always strive to provide the best service possible and to ensure that our rooms are well maintained. Rest assured that by the next time you come to Tioman Island our guest rooms will look (and feel) the same or even better.

Your Tioman Dive Resort / B&J Diving Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights and had a great time. The rooms are vey new and very, very clean! Also staff is extremely friendly and we felt very welcomed. I would definitely recommend going there to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_federle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Took open water diving course 4 days 3 nights. Got package including lodging. Came with two other friends so we stayed in triple room. Corresponded with Martin via email. Martin was very kind & helpful. For room pricing, it's almost RM300 per night for a standard room. Our triple room was RM300 plus. All rooms are non-smoking. Could be quite costly but we don't mind as room was very comfortable with great amenities; safe box, hairdryer, toiletries & spacious bathroom. Drinking water is not provided in the room but kettle is provided with tea & coffee. As for the diving course, James was very helpful as well & patience with us throughout the course. Bravo to James! Staffs were friendly & Yogi the dog was adorable! Bar was nice, music was fun with fantastic sunset backdrop. It is indeed the best lodging in northern island! Only an incident where my friend's boxers got stolen while drying it on the rack outside the room. Other than that, we enjoyed & had a great time on the island!

Room Tip: Best to book in advance as rooms are limited (6 rooms in total). And can get fully book pretty fast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kina28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

If you like diving or snorkeling we can warmly recommend this accomodation on Tioman island. We could feel the European management style: our room was nice and clean, warm shower and great quiet A/C. The diving facilities offered at their 5 star PADI center has got modern gear and the friendly -international- staff is very professional! Thanks again to Sammi (our marvelous dive instructor) for her patience and help. If you want to read more about our diving experience on Tioman follow us on our blog (updates coming soooon) - breakawaytravellers

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breakaway T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
7.3 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
535 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
5.5 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
4.8 mi away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#10 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
580 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tioman Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tioman Dive Resort

Address: Kampung Air Batang | Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia (Formerly B&J Dive Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: £46 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tioman Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman Dive Resort (TDR) is right behind B&J Diving Centre located in Air Batang Bay (ABC Bay) on Tioman Island. The resort offers some of the best rooms in northern Tioman. All rooms are non-smoking and equipped with Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, LED/LCD TV, DVD Player, Satellite TV channels, Fridge, Personal Safe, Hair Dryer, Wardrobe, Balcony. TDR is owned and operated by B&J Diving Centre, a leading PADI 5 Star IDC Centre which is offering all PADI scuba diving courses as well as daily dive excursions for already certified divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tioman Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing